Confessions logo

The Pumpkin Patch

Story

By Dennis FangPublished 6 months ago 5 min read
2
The Pumpkin Patch
Photo by Blair Fraser on Unsplash

The town I grew up in was pretty country to put it lightly nothing but Farms crops abandoned churches and ugly worn down houses everyone around us was pretty broke property taxes were like $1,000 a year if that with that came a lot of sketchball characters hell even our neighbor was a weirdo nice but weird we weren't well off ourselves but things at least got a little better for my family when my siblings and I were old enough to work too when this app hot or not was still a thing many years back I matched this girl Kelly who I started seeing for a while we matched in late summertime and we were seeing each other through September already this was early October Kelly and I were looking for a nice cheap date to go on really there wasn't much to do around there we've gone on Hikes explored and gotten food not much else going on so we took a new route in the car this day some somewhere neither of us had been just to find something we found this little restaurant sitting in a random parking lot on the side of the road it had outdoor seating so we went there it was a warm cloudy day when we arrived and got seated at a table outside the restaurant we were there for 45 minutes to an hour and after leaving it grew noticeably foggy out we continued to drive down this route we'd never been down before a really desolate road with just Open Fields and farmland on either side with occasional patches of trees and Woods then we passed something different it was a sign for a pumpkin patch only it was a very cheaply made sign it wasn't some big billboard or anything like that it was a wooden picket sign that said pumpkin picking this way and an arrow pointing to the right right behind the sign was a dirt driveway cutting through the field through the fog we saw a house that the driveway led to so a spur of the- moment decision we both agreed we wanted to check it out because why not and drove off the road down the on the driveway and we passed the house into this back area which was covered by trees in two directions the left side and the far back side touch between the house and woods was this big pumpkin patch it was a genuine pumpkin farm and we saw at least 200 pumpkins scattered all over the place and that was just what the fog allowed us to see we parked next to this old jalopy of the pickup truck the only other vehicle visible on the property we noticed an older couple sitting on the back deck of the house as we got out the two of them got up and greeted us I said we're here for the pumpkin picking and the old woman said with a smile welcome pick anything you'd like I asked her how much it would be for a pumpkin and the old woman said it's free we were surprised the fog was acting as a sort of barrier so we couldn't clearly see the two it was a little creepy but I could still tell that it looked like the old man was smiling at Kelly his smile was very gummy it was kind of gross we both said Thank you and started walking into the pumpkin patch a lot of the pump pumpkins were on the smaller side were mushy and just not very attractive the ground was also kind of wet from the fog I guess and some of the pumpkins felt wet and muddy too it was hard to find a really nice one but eventually we did find one I picked up this big healthy looking pumpkin it was Heavy I brought it over to the back deck where the old couple just was they weren't there anymore I asked Kell if we should just leave she said probably it really felt like we were clear to leave since we already thanked the C and they made it clear they were free so we got back in the car and I started doing a three-point turn on the dirt driveway to leave when we heard someone yelling outside we both got startled and turned to face the house where we saw a middle-aged man in a cap yelling hey stop I lowered the window and he put his face through the window and yelled what the hell are y'all doing I'm calling 911 I said what did we do and he said put that pumpkin back right now Kelly and I talking over each other both tried to explain to the man that the older couple told us to take whatever we wanted I assumed they were his parents the man said what older couple what are you talking about I replied are your parents also here he said I ain't got no parents Kelly and I both equally confused looked at each other I said sir there was an older couple sitting on your back deck 10 minutes ago and they told us to take whatever we wanted the man said there ain't no older couples here he asked where the pumpkin is I told him in the back I unlocked the door and he grabbed the pumpkin he said if we ever came back here he'd shoot us and then he spit at the ground and walked back to his house I drove us out of there we were as confused as could be we considered the idea that maybe it was a joke but that would be a real sick joke I made a joke saying what if they were ghosts and Kelly said stop clearly freaked out but then I got the chills myself as I thought about what I just said there was silence in the car for a few seconds and I know we both pondered that idea out of curiosity one day my two siblings went to that pumpkin farm to go pumpkin picking they bought a pumpkin from the guy we saw and they probed him a bit asking about the farm and if the man lives there with anyone the man said he lives there alone this was unsettling to hear it truly to this day doesn't make a lick of sense could the man have been lying about the older couple being there I don't know possibly but why the The scarier question is what if he wasn't lying and he truly does live alone then

who were those people?

CONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

Dennis Fang

thank you for reading, happy reading

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Catherine Wanjiru Ndai6 months ago

    Nice one, you can still join my team and subscribe for free

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.