Confessions logo

The Perks of Being a Know-It-All

No prophet is welcome in her own space.

By Rebecca HansenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Perks of Being a Know-It-All
Photo by Danielle MacInnes on Unsplash

Recently someone asked the question, "What do you know that you are pretending not to know?"

Well, where to begin!

I have always known things. I knew what my Christmas presents were going to be, and I knew when something was wrong (even if my parents insisted things were fine), and I knew how to calm down each of my 13 siblings.

I also knew that there were things I wasn't supposed to know, and I accepted that.

But I knew.

I can tell when strangers have been fighting, and what the topic of conflict is. I know you are lying to me, and I know why.

I walk into a room and I grasp the big picture - what is happening, who is driving it, how the parts work and don't work together.

Call it a blessing or a curse, or just a knowing.

It wouldn't be so bad if I were wrong more often. But I am usually proven right, and so the knowing comes with a constant question: should I open my mouth?

It is usually not my place to speak up about the things I know.

I cannot tell my loved ones everything I think they are doing wrong. I cannot go around telling perfect strangers that their husband is abusive, or that they should be promoting a different employee, or that the path they are taking will probably end in ruin.

Nobody wants to live with a know-it-all. Nobody wants to be corrected all the time. Nobody wants an unknown nobody telling them what to do.

I don't know why I'm like this. In my evangelical upbringing, we would have said I had the gift of prophesy. In more witchy circles, perhaps I would have the sight. The field of psychology definitely suggests that I suffer from a hypervigilant trauma response. Or simply oldest-child syndrome. Delusions of grandeur, for good measure.

In a perfect world, I would know when to share my knowing because people would ask me to share. I would know when to share my knowing because people would pay me for it.

Or maybe in a perfect world I wouldn't know the things I know, because they are rarely any of my business.

But since we are talking about getting paid for our passion, let's assume that in a perfect world people pay me to tell them what I know.

I could get paid to observe the day-to-day operations of a business and point out all the places where ego is the enemy of efficiency.

I could get paid to listen to the complaints of multiple disputants and lay out the issue from an unbiased perspective.

I could get paid to tell women to leave their abusive partners, to tell parents to listen to their children, to tell dude-bros that they need therapy and not another truck.

I could, theoretically, get paid by world leaders to advise on issues ranging from climate change to violent crime.

Let's be clear. I am not qualified to do any of those things. I am not a therapist, or a mediator, or a business adviser. I am certainly not a political analyst or a social worker or a parenting coach.

I am a know-it-all with a history of poor boundaries (working on it!) and a definitely-inflated sense of my own importance.

Who cares what I have to say?

The people who know me care. Family, friends, bosses - they seek my advice. Which is sometimes awkward because, boundaries.

And also I'm not charging my family and friends for my thoughts. And I have never charged my bosses nearly enough.

I should probably just finish learning how to pretend I don't know things and go get a job answering the phone behind some desk somewhere.

The older sister in me, however, dreams of a career where I just tell people what they are doing wrong.

Secrets
1

About the Creator

Rebecca Hansen

Putting words down in writing makes me feel alive. What do I write about? Yes. Also that. I like to think that my randomness is charming.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.