Confessions logo

The Ooze

The Takeover

By J.S. DaniellePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

It was completely dark.

The moon in the night sky did nothing in the way of lighting my path. I’d lost track of time while going for daily walk. The thoughts that ran through my mind were tormenting me and I didn’t even mind where I was walking to. My wife would surely wonder where I’d gotten off to, my kids sitting up anxiously in their beds waiting to be tucked in.

I could just see my hands in front of me. The lines in my palms I barely made out as cracks in my skin, but the back sides matched the darkness that surrounded me. It prompted me to walk faster. I was breathless but still forging on when I came to a complete halt. The light that appeared before me hovered just at eye level and swirled a mesmerizing flurry of colors – mixtures of light hues (greens, purples, yellows and oranges). I wasn’t afraid, but I also couldn’t explain the hesitancy to reach out and touch it. I wanted to feel it. Its presence felt warm in my chest and encompassing as I moved toward it.

The light backed away with each step. So now, I am even more intrigued. Why back away? You appeared before me, right? All thoughts of hurrying home, gone. All feelings of breathlessness, dissipated. It was if the light baited me and I fell for it hook, line and sinker.

Time stood still as I followed the bright, now dimming light. It’s allure, still strong, but brightness now dull. As I followed, I contemplated touching it again. So, I did. The light didn’t have the time to react like when I tentatively reached out my hand. Too late to back away, my hand oozed through the semi-circular shaped light – it felt similarly to Katie’s silly putty or Eric’s slime. Having known the feeling of both, this didn’t bother me. I could feel its warmth and serenity within me, the calming essence and a slight hint of excitement.

The light was excited by my touch. I smiled, it glowed. I laughed, it sparked. I felt this overwhelming sense of strength and ability to overcome whatever was placed in front of me. I stuck the other hand inside and immediately felt the shift. No longer did I feel the joy and excitement, I felt the greed and envy, the lust for power and I loved it! Ideas swirled quickly through my mind about what I could do with this feeling, the immense power that the light emitted and seemingly transferred over to me…it was mine! I felt moved to bask in its intensity – the tingles coursed through me, moving through my body all at once. It took over my senses and my thoughts, all of the jealousy I felt for my coworker faded into the darkness I found myself not afraid to stand in.

Bill. He and I grew up together in Oklahoma, friends (or something like it) since we were kids. He was my best friend, so I was excited when he moved to Tennessee and began a job at the firm where I was in line to be partner. I’d given him a character reference, after all. I had searched for a place that would be in his financial well-being and even permitted him to stay in my home – without my wife’s permission or consultation! The wrath I subjected myself to, just so my friend felt accommodated! Then, in one fail swoop, this man – my friend, my childhood buddy, lined up each of my bosses, sucking up to them one-by-one and made himself appear to be much more qualified than I for partner! MY friend!

The light glowed a hotter amber and red, the more I thought about how Bill betrayed me. The intensity in which I felt the burn, it solidified my feelings, comforted me in the hatred I found myself feeling…did I really hate Bill? Yes. Yes, I hated him. From the way my parents always entertained his corny jokes, never laughing at mine. The way he always had an answer to the teacher’s questions, after looking at my paper for said answer! The way girls left me for him. Not Heather, though. Heather was all mine. I could talk to her about anything, laugh and joke, cook for and cater to as well. The more I spoke of my wife, the softer the colors and ambient in noise. My kids, not my kids, but my kids nonetheless – Katie and Eric, children of Heather’s prior to our engagement and marriage.

The bright light, turned silly puddy crawled up my arms, oozing it’s way over the tiny hairs of my arms. It clung to my skin as it seemed to meld and adhere. It was cooling to the touch and maintained the feelings I’d been cycling through. My thoughts stayed on Heather, volleying back and forth between my family and him. The ooze disappeared into my skin. I didn’t panic. I welcomed the power it made me feel. I relished in the manic laughter echoing through my head. The laughter sounded like me, only it wasn’t me. I mean, yes, I was laughing to myself, admiring the psychotic mood but it only made me feel at ease with being a host for this alien feeling inside of me.

My heart beat faster and my mind raced. All of the things I thought to do with my newfound strength flashing like a movie in my mind’s eye. I hurried home now, anxious to see Heather. There was no doubt that the kids were asleep by now. I bursted through the doors and there sat Heather…with him. What the hell was he doing here? Bill sat too close for comfort next to my wife.

The ooze permeated through my veins and begin bubbling to boiling over. Just as I locked the doors behind me, they both turned to me - my wife seemingly happy to see me and Bill, questioning where I had been. The nerve of him.

The ooze bubbled over.

Taboo
Like

About the Creator

J.S. Danielle

Author. Poetess. Entrepreneur. Podcaster.

Telling the stories only imagined and said in private. Invitation into the minds of many experiences (men and women) who did not believe it too taboo to share.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.