Confessions logo

The Night I Will Remember Years Later

Thanks For Being There When I Stumbled

By Amanda J MollettPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was 17 years old out with a few friends and a potential new boyfriend. This guy at first, I had no intention of dating because he had gone out with a few of my girlfriends and one of them was still interested in him and asked me to ask him if there was any chance for them. There was not, and if there had been I was a complication to that happening.

We had met each other years ago. We had once lived next door to each other when we were younger and after moving away did not see each other. Until one day we crossed paths again. He was close friends you could say with a guy that I was close friends with. Someone that I practically grew up with as a brother so, we were close. Our births were even 2 days apart. So when he asked me to hang out with him that night, I did not even ask who was coming with us.

After talking to the potential boyfriend, Terry, again and telling my friend he was not interested, our friendship became renewed again. We did not even realize at first that we had been small kids playing together and being friends. We bonded over that and got to know each other better again. Our close friend David, ( the one who was like a brother growing up) Terry's brother Nathan, Terry, and I mainly hung out. Sometimes with David's girlfriend and her friend.

This particular night we all went to Belt Bowling center to bowl and hang out. There was this girl there that apparently had the hots for Terry and she was not liking that he was not paying her attention. Instead, he was paying that attention to me. I think her name was Kacey. He knew her from somewhere in the past so he was nice and said hi, caught up with her like old friends do. However, she wanted more. She tried sitting on his lap, that did not work. She tried flirting, that did not work. Finally, he told her to give up and she started asking about us. Well, at that time there was no US yet so she thought she still had a chance. She followed us around like a puppy dog. I got mean mugged all night and when he bought me a rose I thought she would lose it.

We were all talking about doing karaoke. She apparently thought this was her chance to make me look bad. David told me I needed to go sing because I was a good singer he always tried to get me up there. I told him no I was nervous and had not done that in so long and I really did not want to sing in front of Terry or all these other people something I could not be comfortable with.

David really pushed me to get up there and Kacey offered to go with me. If I forgot something she could fill in the parts. The song that they had that I knew well I had not sung or even heard for so long. I said no to David many times and to Kacey as well, I did not trust this girl, but I was trying because she was an old friend of Terry's.

David and Kacey had went up and signed my name up and song to sing. Good thing I knew it, but I said IF I was going to do it, I never agreed and did not think that was cool. So, I recently went up there to sing. Apparently, Kacey had signed up with me even though I told her no.

There were so many things that went wrong. The monitor that was supposed to showing the lyrics kept messing up, the song stalled when played and the music could barely be heard . Kacey was barely singing so I tried to get her to sing and I was trying to remember the song. When the song was over the announcer said , "Please give these ladies a hand, they badly need it." A smart ass insulting tone. It was embarrassing and I was mad and now I had to go back and face all my friends and Terry. I put down the mic and turned to go back to my seat and there was Terry. My heart sank because it was time to face the music .

As embarrassed as I was it was actually a great night for us. I really saw what kind of guy I was ending up with, and I did end up with him. We never saw Kacey again.

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.