Confessions logo

The Limbo In Between

Waiting for confirmation about a job opportunity

By Nicole CPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
The Limbo In Between
Photo by vadim kaipov on Unsplash

I am in employment limbo this weekend. I am holding my breath, waiting patiently to see if I progress to the next round of interviews for a job that I actually want.

I've been picky this time. I've sifted through many job ads and there's certainly been enough red flags for me to not incessantly send through my resume to every possible job out there.

Do I even have the luxury to keep going like this for much longer?

It's been a bit of a squeeze, not gonna lie.

So, a new contract of employment would indeed be a big, sigh of relief.

I've written about the Millennial Urge to get off the grid, but the Truth is I'm on the grid almost 24/7. Constantly on my phone, iPad or laptop. Constantly lurking on Twitter, Instagram, Reddit, Tik Tok...

Content creation has been a fun hobby. But it's not an immediate transformation of "3 weeks to overnight success" - in fact, extremely far from the contrary. It's been 3 years that I've been on Tik Tok and only recently amassed 10,000 followers. I grew my following at a snail's pace with enough viral Tik Toks from time to time that they're now at this number, still following.

I'm not even sure why or how I suddenly have the "playlists" feature available, and as I am creating them, I realised, I have a lot of niches. There's a lot of playlists here. I'm not sure how I'm going to clean this up and niche down in order to go more viral!

Having fun on Tik Tok, is just that - a bit of fun.

Working because you just have to go to work is also that - a necessary staple in life.

Being able to go to a workplace that you're looking forward to going to - now that is a new Millennial Dream. In fact, if the workplace is from home, even better! Because then, I'm still surrounded by my creature comforts, and plus it takes way less petrol.

Don't get me wrong, even if I had a full time work-from-home arrangement, I could also see myself occasionally getting out of the house and perhaps renting a nearby coworking space.

It would be enough variety, and on my own terms - something that my new manager wouldn't even need to bat an eyelid about. "Work from wherever you want!" That's the dream right there.

I'm still waiting but I don't want to be neurotic about it.

I'm still waiting and I don't want to send out "desperate" energy to the Universe...

Getting through to the next round still doesn't mean that I have a contract. I need to visualise the contract in front of me. I need to visualise the logo of the company, the exact digits of the annual salary $

I can visualise my own signature - there, on the dotted line. Or, perhaps a digital signature. Digital onboarding.

Let this manifest.

Am I tired of the job hunt? Partly yes, but also partly - You know how like in dating and relationships, when they say,

"You'll know when you know,"

like there's an intuitive feeling about it. This is your destiny. This is your next chapter.

That's how I'm currently feeling about this company, this potential next new employer of mine. Everything I've learned about it so far (just like in dating, oh yes, initial stages, nice and light and fluffy!) - no major red flags. Nothing that will send me running for hills like "Absolutely no work from home ever. Unless you have Covid!"

In this day and age? I'm just not going to be that kind of worker. I've made that promise to myself since my last gig. I've got the skills, I've got the smarts, my skillset doesn't require in-person meetings. It's doable, but it's not a necessity to get the job done.

So I find myself writing here in these hopes. Oh, please, dear Universe!

The fact that I even care enough to pray - because it is a 100% fully remote, work-from-home job.

Workplace
1

About the Creator

Nicole C

Writing sporadically... I tried some challenges but never won anything. Sometimes my poetry helps me process whatever has been going on... sometimes it is pure fiction. Sometimes I like to write about pop culture and astrology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Nicole C (Author)about a year ago

    Update... I didn't get that job! HAHAHA!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.