Confessions logo

The Graveyard's Eyes

By: Kevin B. Jones

By Kevin B. JonesPublished about a year ago 8 min read
Top Story - October 2022
43
The Graveyard's Eyes
Photo by Call Me Fred on Unsplash

I couldn’t tell you how many times I’ve been there --- to the graveyard. How many times I’ve felt the bone-chilling stares of the headstones as I walked through the raven-black gates. Every time, I gripped my flowers, my eyes roaming the silence, my heart pumping like a maniac because I felt something. At first, it was just the headstones. They surrounded me like a hungry murder of crows, each one different in its own way. Everything within me screamed to go back to the entrance, but the memories of my mother called to me. When I reached her headstone, the previous flowers I had laid stolen from the desperate fingers of the dead, the memories came stabbing back.

By Kat J on Unsplash

The midnight cries of pain.

Mother rolling out of bed, too weak to stand on her stick-thin legs, her curly brown hair matted down with sweat. She would puke before I could get there, and her eyes would push back so deep in her skull that I couldn’t see the color anymore. Just the pain.

“Kill me,” she would whisper, laying on the bedroom floor, the only light in the room coming from the hallway.

“Mother, I--”

“Please,” she interrupted, weakly swatting away my hands.

Please.

My lips trembled. Every inch of my body shivered as I stood before her, my fists balled. Tears fell from my face, staining the carpet along with the puke. I knew her. I knew my mother. But this wasn’t the woman I recognized.

Silence swallowed the room. Heat sizzled the tips of my fingers and Death, because I knew it was there, stood in the corner, masked in the shadows. I took a step, wordless, and I knew Mother could see it. The look in my eyes. What I was about to do. And she smiled. She smiled and closed her eyes before I grabbed a pillow from the bed and shoved it over her face. Her lungs, already weak from sickness, fought for air like the madness that clawed for my sanity. But I didn’t stop. I stayed quiet, my body shaking violently while her boney hands clawed at the carpet. Death whispered to me. It told me to keep going. It reminded me of the constant suffering Mother was in. So, I kept pushing, kept going.

Until it stopped.

By Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

I laid the red flowers on a dirty patch in front of her headstone, shaking away the memories. I knew that’s why I came. To see, by some shred of luck, if visiting her would show me something that I could never see before about why I killed her. When she died, I knew the pain would no longer grasp her bones. That steadied me and made it seem okay.

I stood, wiping the dirt from my jeans, noticing the rope in the grass, and felt the feeling return.

Being watched.

I bit my lip, scrutinizing the dead trees. The ancient monuments of greying stone with cracks that looked like wrinkled skin. The death-black crows with jagged bleaks and empty eyes that walked on the iron-picketed fences and made my skin crawl. The sorrow and misery evenly draped on every inch of the graveyard. All of it.

“You alright?”

I turned at the voice, nearly losing my footing as I quickly stood. I looked. Everywhere. Just crows, just trees, and just headstones. Thunder rumbled even louder above. The smell of rain coated the air. I looked at Mother’s headstone, wondering if the voice was in my head.

“Hello?”

I swiveled again, my eyes opened wide. A crow cried from the limb of a tree and the thunder rumbled again. Louder. No, no, this wasn’t right. I had to go. Mother wanted to be dead. She asked me --- begged me to end all the suffering.

“Don’t go.”

I screamed without thinking, my hand flying to cover my mouth.

“What’s wrong, darling? Cat got your tongue?”

I took a step back. A man, a dead man, stood from the hole of a grave, only half of his body showing. Dirt covered nearly every inch of his dead-grey skin. No eyes filled his sockets, nor did teeth hang from his gums.

This wasn’t real.

By Robert Zunikoff on Unsplash

“Oh, but it is,” he growled, his voice deep and deranged like a brainless beast. “It is real.”

I shook my head, wincing from the pain clogging my head.

“Take a breath, my dear.” He waved a decaying arm. “Have a seat with me, hmm?”

“Who...” I cleared my throat, every part of me frozen with fear. “Who--”

“That’s Tom,” said another voice behind me. “Don’t mind him. He just one of the graveyard’s eyes.”

I sharply turned around. A woman, dead and in the midst of decay like the other, with a wide smile that sent spiders crawling down my back, stood in an open grave.

“God, Betty, what is it? I’m trying to talk to the lady.”

“Are you?” she snarled. “Or are you trying to get something from her?”

“Nonsense,” declared Tom, now pointing his skinless fingers to my mother’s headstone. “Sit with me.”

“No,” I whimpered.

“She doesn’t believe it, does she, Tom. Oh, the poor girl. You startled her to death!”

“No, I did not.” He paused before adding, “Did I?”

By Henrieke Fischer on Unsplash

I rubbed the side of my face, feeling their cold stares dig into me like a crow’s beak. “This isn’t real.” I pushed away the grueling fear and began to walk, each stride shaky.

“He’ll get you before you leave,” taunted Tom.

“Who?” I asked, slowing my pace. I eyed the rope again.

“That feeling, my dear … the one that haunts you every time you come here … is him.”

Betty nodded. “Yes, yes. He’s been watching you, dear. Sad to say but the devil rides his coffin. He wants you.”

“Why?” I looked between the both of them, another burst of thunder shaking the air.

Tom’s eye sockets became tighter. A thin line suddenly formed his lips, the grey skin stretching in unnatural ways like a contortionist. I took a steadying breath.

Was this real?

“Confess.”

I blinked. “Confess to what?”

Thunder rumbled again. The dead trees swayed from the quickening wind.

“You better hurry,” Betty whispered. “Before he comes.”

“Who!” I screamed, feeling the tears gather behind my eyes.

Tom pointed a finger behind me and mumbled, “Him.”

By Ahmed Adly on Unsplash

I followed his finger, followed it to the malevolent figure that stood beside a tree, one with the shadows. My heart dropped to my stomach, and I shook my head, remembering it from the night Mother died.

Death. It was here.

“Tell us what really happened to your mother.”

I took a breath. “I killed her. She asked me to do it.”

“Hmm.” Tom clicked his tongue and the woman chuckled. I blinked, no longer seeing Death by the tree.

“Lie again, my dear, and we won’t stop him.” Tom’s voice became angry like a demon. “We know what happened. She wasn’t sick.”

“Yes she was,” I shot back. In response, lightning blasted, covering the world in blue. Shadows danced around me, too fast for me to follow. Tom and the woman watched, their grins stretching from ear to ear like a sick clown. Whispers danced around me, taunting, making Tom and the woman laugh.

This wasn’t right. I … I helped Mother. She was sick and old! It was time for her to die.

Another strike of lightning shattered the graveyard and Death was before me. But it wasn’t Death. Mother’s face, grey and withered to the bone with black eyes, stared back at me, only inches from my face. I couldn’t move.

By shahin khalaji on Unsplash

“Say it,” Tom and Betty yelled together.

Mother was silent as Death. A cry stormed my body and my knees buckled. I fought to look away from the eyes, her swallowing black eyes, but they held me like the dead’s hands. No, it wasn’t okay. Nothing I did was. Seeing her … seeing what I did ...

“Say it,” they told me again.

Something inside of me broke as the memory overtook me. I closed my eyes, suddenly back inside of her house, a headache thudding my skull from the smell of urine on the floor, my arms burning from the constant scrubbing, hearing about my friends while I stayed trapped in the house caring for Mother. It wasn’t fair. She was already old. She was ruining my life. I was becoming an adult! So, I poisoned her food. Every day, I crumbled rat poisoning into whatever she ate. I did it until she begged me to kill her from the swallowing pain, and I did.

I wanted to.

By Pelly Benassi on Unsplash

When I opened my eyes, they were gone. All of them. And now I knew what the feeling was that haunted me every time I went to the graveyard. I grabbed the old rope from the dead grass and walked towards the dead splintered trees. It was only fair.

The End

Secrets
43

About the Creator

Kevin B. Jones

I love fiction. Writing is my passion, without a doubt

Currently, I strive to create short stories mainly in the horror genre

I'm also pursuing my BA in creative writing and one day hope to share my stories with the world

Life's too short ...

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Nice work!

  • Arun kumar barikabout a year ago

    I read this article at 10.12 P.M at night, Now I feel very horror, Nice writing and I really appreciate your writing style.

  • Daniya Aliabout a year ago

    Absolutely loved it ! You have a new fan now. Just subscribed ^_^

  • Shadow Jamesabout a year ago

    Great story

  • Joan Gershmanabout a year ago

    I have been searching for a good fiction story for a long time. I found a GREAT one! Excellent work. Kept me riveted. I am going to share this in one of the Vocal Facebook Groups I frequent.

  • VANEEZYabout a year ago

    Lovely ...your are a good writer..

  • Autumn Fryeabout a year ago

    Loved it! I love a good horror story. I look forward to reading more of your work.

  • Efulabout a year ago

    Nice article, love it

  • Annie Edwards about a year ago

    This had me on edge the entire time I was reading. You have the ability to use words in a way that really grabs the reader. Amazing job!

  • Ben Shepherdabout a year ago

    Unexpected twist. Great job!

  • Angelina F. Thomasabout a year ago

    Excellent work. Keep it up. Thanks.

  • sophie martinabout a year ago

    Nice piece of information. Kindly check out my new blog <a href="https://cracksofthax.com/wincatalog-crack-full-activation-code/">Wincatalog Crack 2023 </a>

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Well, I'm about to get a good night's sleep... :(

  • Moonlit Sky.about a year ago

    👏

  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    This is brilliantly chilling. It is a fantastic story!

  • Nova Binxabout a year ago

    amazing read!

  • Govardhan Pinniabout a year ago

    Hahah. Totally fair. 😂

  • Nathan Amos about a year ago

    Awesome content

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.