Confessions logo

The Girl Who Caught My Eye

My ill-fated love, my broken heart, hoping that one day, I will find my happy ending.

By Younus BhatPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
2
The Girl Who Caught My Eye
Photo by Bart LaRue on Unsplash

I was a research student at the University, researching statistics and living a somewhat routine life. But my joy came from riding my Royal Enfield motorcycle, enjoying the city rush, admiring the beauty, feeling the wind on my face, and listening to the Hindi songs with earbuds plugged in. It was my escape, my freedom, and it helped me feel alive in a way that nothing else could.

It was on one of those rides to the department that I first saw her. As a newbie to the research, she was walking towards the statistics department, her long hair flowing in the wind, her smile as warm as the summer sun. She was not just beautiful; she had an air of confidence and grace that made her stand out in a crowd. I noticed her subtle glances, the faintest hint of interest in her eyes. But I hesitated, unsure if I should approach her. What would a girl like her want with a guy like me?

Weeks passed, and I could not get her out of my mind. Finally, I mustered the courage to speak to her. Our first conversations were casual, filled with small talk and laughter. We shared stories of our childhood, our dreams, and our aspirations. As we talked more, our connection grew deeper. It was not long before we went on our first date - a simple coffee at a riverside café. It felt like magic.

From that point on, we were inseparable. We spent our days exploring the city, and our evenings dining by candlelight. I met her friends, her family, and even her beloved pet dog. It felt like we were building something beautiful, something that would last a lifetime. We talked about the future, about marriage, and about all the things we wanted to do together. I was ready to take the next step, to make her my wife.

But life has a way of throwing unexpected twists. Her ex-boyfriend, a navy officer, suddenly reentered the picture. He was everything I was not - tall, confident, and with a sense of adventure that matched hers. They had history, a past that could not be ignored. I saw the change in her, the way her eyes lit up when he was around. It did not take long before she reconnected with him. And just like that, my dreams were shattered.

I tried to move on with my life, focusing on my studies and my motorcycle rides. But it was not the same without her. I saw her occasionally, now married to the navy officer, with children in tow. We remained friends, and I even became an "uncle" to her kids. I masked my pain with laughter, pretending that I was happy for her. But deep down, it hurt. It felt like I had lost a part of myself that I could never get back.

As I sat on my Royal Enfield, watching the sunset over the mountains, I reflected on the course of events that led me here. My ill-fated love, my broken heart, and my role as the "uncle" to her children now. It is a sombre, melancholic feeling, but there is also a tinge of hope. It's been eight years now & I know that life goes on and that somewhere out there, there is someone who will appreciate me for who I am. Until then, I will keep riding, feeling the wind on my face, and hoping that one day, I will find my happy ending.

Disclaimer: It is a true story but partly written using AI, so readers are advised to enjoy this story that is based on the true story of my friend who lives a happy life now.

Dating
2

About the Creator

Younus Bhat

I am a writer, author, and PhD scholar with a passion for sharing my knowledge and expertise with others.

Visit: https://www.theviralpost.online/

Thank you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    Interesting comment at the end about AI helping with this partially true story. It would be hard to still be in love with someone that is married, and playing the uncle. 🙃

  • I will revise this when I find the girl who will catch my eyes.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.