Confessions logo

The Foxy and the Grounded

Our night out did not go as planned

By Kassondra O'HaraPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
The Foxy and the Grounded
Photo by Omar Lopez on Unsplash

"What time are we supposed to be there?", I asked Shan as we tucked the pillows strategically under the covers.

"Midnight," she said. Cade's mom will be asleep by then."

I did not like this. I was the good girl. Shan was the wild child. She didn't care if we got caught, but the thought of my parents finding out made me nauseous. I was 14 and she was 13, so naturally, we did dumb things.

I was a straight-A student, with a few close friends, and a stellar reputation. I was the responsible one. I talked Shan out of almost as many high-risk situations as she talked me into. Shan was the rebel. She had no fear and everyone just wanted to be around her, especially boys. She could have any guy that she wanted. I was always expected to hang out with her flavor of the week's ugly friend, little brother, or by myself. But I maintained that third wheel position like a boss.

This night's adventure had been planned earlier that afternoon while talking to two of our guy friends/potential romantic interests. That was the mission anyway. Cade was my other best friend at the time and completely in love with Shan. His best friend Will was staying the night, so we thought we would sneak over and "visit" for a while.

Of course I was crushing on Will, along with every other middle school girl, because he was super hot and played football. I knew there was no chance that he would be into me, but I had to take the chance, right?

We had planned to sneak out of Shan's bedroom window, walk the 1/8 mile to Cade's and knock on his bedroom window. We'd crawl through and spend the majority of the night "hanging out" before returning to Shan's before morning.

We said goodnight to Shan's family and "went to bed". We actually used a small light to touch up our make-up, change into our "hot" clothes, and did our hair. It was the 90s, so I'm sure there was glitter involved at some point.

We stuffed pillows under the blankets to appear that we were in bed and asleep in the event Shan's step-mom peeked in the room. Since her bedroom window was high off the ground, that afternoon we had placed an old exercise bike (who has a random exercise bike outside??) outside underneath the window for us to step on to.

We grabbed our backpack, which we had filled with Boone's Farm and a half bottle of Vodka that we had taken from Shan's dad's liquor cabinet, quietly opened the window, and shimmied down the exercise bike to the ground. When I say shimmy, I actually mean stepping onto a wobbly piece of metal and praying that it didn't turn over, crash into the side of the house, having Shan's parents think there was a burglary in progress, in which case they would come running around the side of the house to find one or both of us lying on the ground with a broken appendage and lying in a pool of Vodka. There was a lot at stake.

Anyway, once we made it outside, we walked along the tree-line toward Cade's, ducking into the creepy, dark woods anytime a car would pass. It's a good thing the show "Are You Afraid of the Dark?" wasn't a thing back then. Oh wait, it was. We weren't scared shitless at all.

So we made it to Cade's house, but naturally we couldn't just walk up through the front yard. We had to make it to the back where his room was. In order to do this, we had to yet again, walk through the woods as to not be seen in case his mom was awake. We were just traipsing along and about halfway there, we realized that there was an old barbed wire fence that was blocking our path. We couldn't go over it, so we could either forget our plans or crawl, yes, freaking crawl underneath it.

So there we were, damn ninja crawling, sliding across the pine straw until we cleared the fence.

We were almost there.

We rounded the corner of the house and as soon as we approached the window, we noticed a light coming from the living room. Cade's mom was still up and watching TV in the room adjacent to his.

"Dammit, can anything else go wrong?", asked Shae, as she quietly tapped on the window.

She got the answer when as soon as she tapped, we heard "Yip, yip, yip yip!!", coming from underneath the house. Cade had mentioned that his dog had just had puppies and where does she decide to put them? Under the house, directly underneath his room.

I was able to tell that Cade's mom hadn't moved, so either she hadn't heard the pups, or wasn't concerned. We lived in the country, so dogs were constantly barking at critters outside.

Shan tapped again, but no one came to the window. She tapped a little bit louder, still no one. We couldn't see into his room, because the window was too high.

"Hey, boost me up!", Shan whispered. I thought about arguing, but I didn't see another option. I interlaced my fingers and stooped down to provide a ledge for her to put her foot and boost her up high enough to see.

"What the hell?", she said as she came back down.

Apparently, the excitement of our arrival was too much for the boys. So much that they had fallen asleep... curled up with their arms draped over one another. If only we had thought to bring a camera, at least the night wouldn't have been a complete waste of our time.

Just when we thought that the night couldn't get any worse, I wiped my hand that Shan had stepped into on my jeans to get the mud off. I then brushed that hand through my hair to get out all of the damn pine straw that had gotten there while playing G I Joe earlier. As my hand fell down near my face, I caught a whiff. That was definitely not mud.

Yep...Shan had stepped in dog shit, which transferred from her shoe to my hand, and then from my hand to my jeans AND my hair!

I was so pissed. I said "Let's go. We need to get some sleep so that we have the energy to kill Cade and Will tomorrow." Not that it would happen, because even though we quietly crawled back into Shan's room through the window, crawled into bed, and slept for what seemed like 10 minutes, we'd been busted.

When 6 a.m. rolled around, we were woken up by Shan's step-mom, who said "Since you girls went to bed so early on a Friday night and are so well rested, I decided that will do all the Spring cleaning today!"

After 12 hours of relentless cleaning of every nook and cranny, she informed us that next weekend, Shan would be coming to my house to do the same thing. Apparently, she had already spoken with my mom and we were both grounded. Somehow she knew. Naturally, she threw in one last jab because she's a smartass, "And before you eat supper Kassey, go take a shower, you smell like shit."

I'll never forget that night. We've never let Cade and Will forget it either.

***Names have been changed to protect the not so innocent.***

Teenage years
1

About the Creator

Kassondra O'Hara

Working mom who uses her curiosity to fuel the curiosities of others ~ Writes mostly history and true crime

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.