Confessions logo

The Decision

Clemson or Appalachian State

By Timothy KincaidPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Canva Pro

The decision a Division One college basketball recruit must make to where he or she will take their talents can determine their future on and off the court. 20 Universities recruited me to play. My high school team went 29–1 and won the North Carolina State 3A Championship. I averaged 22 points, 9 assists, and shot 59% from the field and 80% from the free throw line. I finished the season 1st Team Associated Press All-State. After careful consideration, my decision boiled down to two great Universities: Appalachian State & Clemson.

At first blush one might assume it would be a simple choice. Clemson played in the ACC, arguably the most competitive, glamorous, nationally known conference in the United States. However, recruiting is personal. App State had few things in their corner. Appalachian assistant coach Tony Searcy had been making himself known to me. We met while I was a fledgling prep star at the aptly named Prep Stars Basketball Camp. An elite camp headed by former Duke All American Dick Divizio. I can remember Tony cheering me on at one of the daily All-Star games. Coaches from around the nation came out to view up close, prep stars from the basketball crazy Tarheel state.

First up App State. Coach Jerry Valescourt came in his sweet Caddy to drive me from Small Town Friendly aka Rutherford County. We had an immediate connection, even though he was an Italian from New York City. Ironically, his wife hailed from Forest City, a town in Rutherford County.

I had a wonderful time talking about basketball and college life. Jerry had a plethora of experience on both fronts. I can remember entering Boone. It was the quintessential college town. The campus was everything I’d imagined, with beautiful architecture and grounds. Students going about their daily activities. The players lived in apartments instead of dorms. The gym was nice for a mid-major, as were the locker rooms.

The thing that attracted me to App State more than just the aesthetics was the Head Coach, Kevin Cantwell. Kevin was a 6’5” former App State player, with a youthful appearance and all around cool dude. He and Bobby Cremins, the coach at Georgia Tech, were teammates. That Kevin was a part of the “Ballers Club” endeared him to me. In addition, I was to be an integral part of his team’s plans. He planned to bring in a starting five of freshmen that would dominate the Southern Conference for the next four years. We would play several ACC schools and had trips planned to Florida, California, and the Bahamas.

The current players were awesome. I did my first beer funnel with the starting center at a frat party. We met with student advisors about which majors I wanted to pursue. Those were Communications and Business, where App State had award-winning professors in both fields of study. The final meeting had Coach Cantwell, Tony and Jerry all giving their last pitches. I was 90% sure I was going to be a Mountaineer but didn’t commit that day. I made promises to Clemson that we would make no decision until after my visit.

Next up Clemson University. Chris and Vincent, two former RS Central High legends, had both attended and played for the Tigers. I had visited Littlejohn Coliseum first as a 10-year-old baller and a couple times since to watch my heroes Chris and Vincent play. I was intimately familiar with the program. Clemson had also been recruiting me as a 10th grader under a previous regime headed by Bill Foster. However, he had resigned, and Coach Ellis’s staff took up the cause. I remember seeing Coach Gordy as I ran off the court after one of our thrilling high school games. He shouted. Great game!!

One major difference between the two programs immediately became apparent. App State sent a coach in a caddy. Clemson sent Coach Harris, another assistant, on the team jet. It would be my first flight and what a memorable one. I’m in the cockpit with the team pilot, a former US Vietnam fighter pilot. The view from my co-pilot seat was the most amazing site I’d ever witnessed. The pilot allowed me to take the reins. He instructed me to hold it steady, just like driving a car. He said. It wasn’t as easy as driving a car. It felt more like trying to hold up my Paw Paw’s old plow with all the vibrations. I’m sure few Americans can say they assisted piloting the plane on their first official flight. We are off to an auspicious start.

The visit to Clemson happened in the spring as opposed to the dead of winter at App State. A balmy 75 degrees without a cloud in the sky the entire weekend. The Chow Hall was something special, where only the football and basketball players had their meals. The appetizers of buffalo- wings and loaded potatoes, entrée London Broil, and would you believe a soft serve ice cream machine with chocolate and vanilla.

Littlejohn Coliseum, where the basketball team played, was like the Taj Mahal. It evoked so many memories. As a 10-year-old, coming to see her was awe-inspiring. Watching a football game “The Spring Game” which is an intrasquad scrimmage in Death Valley with some 60,000 fans. Finally, rubbing Howard’s Rock, the iconic symbol legendary coach Frank Howard brought from the original Death Valley. Our football warriors rub the rock before entering the field of play. It’s the most fascinating pre game entrance in all of college football.

I think (Can it get any better). Yes, answering my question. We exit the Training Table after a lunch fit for a modern day Gladiator. We walk down the sidewalk leading through the Girls only dorms. I see a sight that any red-blooded American Baller could only dream about. The lawns covered with blankets with Coeds as far as your eyes could see in bikinis, laying out sunbathing. It’s a surreal moment. Their movements seem to be in slow motion. Every shape, size and nationality of womanhood; laughing, lying, frolicking in the beautiful Clemson sun.

We cross the street to enter Calhoun Courts, the apartment complex where the basketball players live. The cobble stoned walkways and stunning landscapes contain even more beauties in lawn chairs and on blankets lining the walkways. Grayson, the starting point guard and my personal tour guide, knows them all. He introduces me to a bevy of sexy coeds that leave my head spinning.

The final nail in the App State coffin happened that night at Crazy Zacks, an on campus bar and dance club. I’m drinking draft beer, talking with a couple of my future mates, watching all the gorgeous babes when I excuse myself to use the restroom. I’m crossing the dance floor when this cute, sexy little dirty blonde stops me in the center of the floor. She turns and starts doing the Butt, a popular dance of the time in the late 80s. I’ve been going to clubs in STF since 9th grade. I made varsity my freshman year. My mom would allow me to go out after games with my teammates. Rimp’s and the Groovy Grove prepared me on how to handle myself in such situations.

She’s grinding her ample backside into my crotch area. I go for the ride. The dirty blonde speaks. Hey Kincaid. Hey Darlin. How do you know my name? I ask. Your homeboy Chris said you would be out this weekend with Gray. Chris is my Boo. He told me to take good care of you and to make your visit unforgettable.

We eventually make it back to my hotel suite after several pitchers of draft beer. Sleep wasn’t on the agenda. As we say our goodbyes the next morning. Sharon says. Come to Clemson Baby. I will wait for you, Tiger. Decision made. Your boy headed to Tigertown. Let’s Go!!!

School
Like

About the Creator

Timothy Kincaid

A freelance writer who offers ghostwriting ebooks, FaceBook posts, article & blog writing services. He works with B2B & B2C companies providing digital marketing content designed to drive traffic, increase conversion and SEO.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.