Confessions logo

THE DAY MY LIFE CHANGED FOREVER

NEW BEGINNINGS

By Alliah GarciaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
THE DAY MY LIFE CHANGED FOREVER
Photo by PAN XIAOZHEN on Unsplash

We were just getting off Soarin’ at California Adventure when Andre got a call from my cousin saying they were expecting us at Disneyland on Main Street. So we headed over, walking through a swarm of people, trying to find my cousin. I looked over to Andre and asked him where they were and he responded, “Just look for a tall, white guy. That’ll be my friend.” I started laughing, but I was still looking for my cousin. I found them and ran to my cousin because i hadn’t seen him in a couple of months. I hugged him and then his girlfriend Nori. Then I turned to see this tall, attractive guy with beautiful eyes and Andre introduced him as being his friend that he’d been playing Xbox with for the past 2 years. I shook his hand nervously because he was a complete stranger to me and then we were on our way. We went to Fantasyland first and went on Snow White. He and my cousin were talking about their experience the last time they got on the ride while we were waiting in line and I was just listening. The next ride we got on was Mr. Toad. I was a little nervous because it was a two person ride, so I didnt know if it was going to be awkward. Right as we were about to get on, he asked me if I wanted to “drive” and I told him he could drive. As soon we got on, he was making jokes and trying to “impress me ” with his driving skills. We laughed as we went through hell together and then the ride was over. We got off and went on a couple more rides, talking more and more as the day went on.

I joked about him not fitting into rides because he was so tall and I laughed at him in pain because his knees were being smashed against the back of seats. This kind of interaction was a majority of the day. However, throughout the day, while waiting in each line, I kept trying to get closer to him, but I didn’t want it to be obvious.

We then eventually went to California Adventure and that’s where things changed. We were on the little mermaid and as we were sitting in our clam shell, I felt like us being “forced” to sit so close together created this new tension between us that wasn’t there previously. I was wondering if he was developing any feelings for me, but I didn’t ask. Then we went on the next ride. We were getting snackish, so I went with Andre and Karissa to one of the shops and picked up an Oogie Boogie Rice Krispy. We were waiting to get on the Mater ride when I started offering my Rice Krispy to everyone. When I offered it to him, instead of tearing off a piece, he bit a piece out of my hand. I looked at him shocked because I didn’t realize that he was so comfortable with me. I laughed and then once we got on the ride, I tried starting a conversation with him. I just asked a couple of questions to get to know him, but after that, it was noticeable to everyone that we had hit it off.

We continued going on rides, talking more and more and as we heading to Indiana Jones which was our last ride of the night, the firework show, Fantasmic, was going off. I told him I had never seen it because everyone I go to Disneyland with always wants to beat the traffic rush. He said it was worth seeing. As we were maneuvering our way through the crowd, I was trying to catch moments from the show, but then I felt a tugging on my backpack. I turned around to see what was holding me back and he was there holding on because he didn’t want to get “lost.” I thought it was cute that he was so comfortable and kept walking.

The day ended, we finished our rides and shopping and headed back to the parking structure. We parked in opposite directions, so I hugged my cousin and his girlfriend goodbye. Then I had to tell him goodbye and I didn’t know how to approach him. I was going to go for a handshake, but he went for a hug. He had the most comforting hug. It made me so happy. I definitely went home with a smile on my face.

We had taken a bunch of pictures that day and I wanted to post them on my Instagram, but I was too exhausted. I waited until the following morning to post them and I realized I didn’t have him on Instagram, so I added him and tagged him in the pictures. He messaged me later on Instagram and everything changed after that. I haven’t stopped talking to him and I hopefully never will.

Dating

About the Creator

Alliah Garcia

A young adult, trying to navigate past trauma and the world. Writings are pure, honest, and from the heart.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alliah GarciaWritten by Alliah Garcia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.