Confessions logo

The Dance

A magical memoir

By Jorgelina ZeoliPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

“Jayzee, are you ready?” Kim asks.

“I’m ready,” I say.

“Quiet on the set!” he says, and the shoot begins.

~

I had intended to record only a few of my songs -- these miracle songs that had sprung out of my broken soul when I had least expected it.

“Just a few songs,” I had thought to myself, but now, in front of the camera, my stifled creativity -- in hiding for so long -- was bursting out in unimagined ways: crawling on the rough floor in a ninja outfit, dancing barefoot to my own music on a beautiful carpet, speaking my own script, wearing my lavender gown on an enchanting purple set … and singing … I was actually singing my own songs, my silent babies … my broken heart exposed, my wounded soul soaring in spirals of healing … my silent babies were silent no longer.

How did I ever make it to the set? I had steered clear of it many times, panic-stricken. “You could have your own TV show!” Walter had said. Me? Little Me in front of the camera? Sorry, buddy, not me.

Truthfully, why should I be surprised that I made it to the set? It certainly was not the first time the impossible had happened.

~

United States, 1979.

Alone in this country, away from friends and family, not knowing the language … How did I get here? How could this have happened?

Confusion … utter confusion …

I had left Argentina during the worst part of the military regime, when thousands of people were being kidnapped, tortured and killed by the government. I didn’t know then that my mind had been tortured, I didn’t know the chemistry of my brain had been altered due to childhood trauma and prolonged exposure to violence and psychosis in my family, I didn’t know then that I was a trauma survivor. I just didn’t know…

~

“If I break down in tears while I’m singing, just keep it rolling,” I tell the guys at the studio. And we tape the songs over and over again, for I’ve never played and sung from memory before and I keep making mistake after mistake after mistake.

Come to think of it, I’ve never designed a set before either, and do I need makeup? (For gosh sakes, Jay! of course you need makeup!) And what about my hair? And I need different outfits! And different sets! Colors! Colors! We need more colors! Oh my God!

God: yes?

Jay: I’m producing my own show!

God: yes, baby, you are producing your own show

~

Newly arrived from Argentina, there were so many things I didn’t know then. I was twenty-seven, yet I had remained a child inside due to neglect, and abandonment, and so much more … and I didn’t know … I didn’t know I was just a child … I just didn’t know …

Newly arrived from Argentina, living in an empty studio near the conservatory, I didn’t know it would be okay to buy a bed, or even just a mattress, so I slept on newspapers on the floor and became sick, for I didn’t know that the round gadget on the wall could have turned the heat on during the wintertime … I just didn’t know …

And when my luggage got lost and I was left with only one pair of high heels, I didn’t know I could get myself a pair of walking shoes … I just didn’t know … I didn’t know trauma had rendered me mentally deficient, I didn’t know my life would become a passionate quest to reclaim my mental faculties … I just didn’t know …

~

Brighton, Massachusetts, 1992.

My friend Carol drives me to work.

“Jay, you should get a car,” she says.

“Nope.”

“Why not?” she asks.

“I can’t drive, that’s why.”

“Jay, there are idiots driving on these streets, you can drive.”

“Nope, I can’t drive, you drive.”

~

-God! God!

-Jay! Jay! what’s the matter?

Jay: I’m getting my driver’s license!

God: Jay, baby, you get panic attacks just from walking around the block; are you sure you want to do this?

Jay: I said, I’m getting my license

And in 1995, at age forty-three, I got my driver’s license.

~

Wearing my red outfit, on the red set, my eyes swollen from crying while practicing at home, I sing “Tears,” evoking my healing journey from devastating losses.

“Jayzee! You didn’t cry!” the guys tell me in between takes. How I made it through the taping of my seven songs without shedding a tear, only God knows.

God: who? me?

~

I hated God. There was no God in my life. The very word made me sick.

“Talk to God, Jay,” my therapist suggested in 2002.

“I’m not talking to that guy,” I replied, “I’m giving him the silent treatment.”

I was so angry, so angry.

“It seems strange to me that you won’t talk to someone that is so important in your life,” my therapist said.

God was important in my life? I didn’t think so.

God: smart guy, your therapist, huh?

Jay: be quiet, I’m writing

God: all right, all right

Who would have known then that the voice popping up in my head in italics …

God: Mister Italics?

Jay: Mister Italics

… would pull me out of my suicidal impulses, leading me, years later, to Cambridge Reprographics, printer of my first and third books?

God: remind me, little one, what was our first title?

Jay: “GOD, YOU’RE DRIVING ME BANANAS!”

God: WHAT DID I DO NOW?

Jay: nothing, you knucklehead, that was our first title

God: good title, if you ask me

Jay: I’m always asking, in case you haven’t noticed

God: and I’m always responding, in case you haven’t noticed

Jay: touché

~

My life in the United States … After graduating from The New England Conservatory of Music in Boston, I wandered hopelessly from job to job, barely making a living, feeling lost, oh so lost …

~

- God! God!

-Jay! Jay! what’s the matter??

Jay: we are buying a house!

God: who’s buying a house?

Jay: you and I, you knucklehead

God: WE ARE?

Jay: yup

God: and how did that happen?

Jay: I have so many singing students, we’ve saved enough for the down payment

God: what about the mortgage?

Jay: what mortgage?

God: (God help us)

Jay: oh, yeah, the mortgage, what about it?

God: well, who’s going to pay for it?

Jay: you are

God: I AM?

Jay: yup

God: sorry Jay, can’t find my wallet

Jay: don’t give me that one now, I’m counting on you

God: you can count on me, baby

Jay: well, that’s good to know

~

And at age forty-six I bought a house in Malden, Massachusetts. Then a friend came to visit and I told him that, when I was in the shower, the bathtub was so slanted I had to hold on to the faucet for dear life, and the bathroom door refused with all its might to be shut …

God: quite a sight from the hallway

Jay: oh shush

... and my friend said: “The house is settling, Jorgelina, but the bathroom door is staying put.” Fair enough. Except that English being my second language, and knowing nothing (and I mean nothing) about houses, I misheard the word “settling.”

-God! God!

-Jay! Jay! what’s the matter?

Jay: the house is sinking! the house is sinking!

God: when the house is sinking, you hold on to me, baby

Jay: the bathroom door is staying put, though

God: it is?

Jay: yeah

God: glad to know I have backup

~

“Jayzee, are you ready?” Kim asks.

“I’m ready,” I say.

“Quiet on the set!” he says. And the music begins, three cameras following my feet while I dance and dance and dance, leaving it all behind … the panic, the fear, the tears, the heart-breaking memories … all there is now, is the dance …

God: Jay, baby, we are leaving the horror behind, aren’t we?

Jay: we are leaving the horror behind

God: who would have known, huh?

Jay: who would have known?

God: should we celebrate?

Jay: yeah, let’s celebrate

God: may I have this dance?

Jay: I’m all yours

God: same here, baby, same here

(And they danced the night away until they fell asleep in each other’s arms.)

The End

~

The Dance takes place on the background of the production of Jorgelina Zeoli's musical video Reach for the Stars! (Jayzee's Story) which gives glimpses of Jorgelina's victories as a trauma survivor.

If you liked this story, a tip would be greatly appreciated…

www.jorgelinazeoli.com

Vocal.Media Challenges: Fiction Awards

If you could ask for a miracle

Predator, Part Four

Predator, Part Three

Predator, Part Two

Predator, Part One

Jack and The Guys

 And the table went PSST!

I couldn't let her go, Journey through Alzheimer's

The Heartbreak, Journey through Alzheimer's 

Speak Truth

The Ordeal, Clergy sexual abuse

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Jorgelina Zeoli

Jorgelina Zeoli is a former recital organist and teaches singing and Tai Chi. Her memoirs, films and songs focus on personal growth and the healing of her inner child. She incorporates humor, poetry and art. She resides in the USA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.