Confessions logo

Something I Never Told You

I Hope You Never Forget

By Charming_Menace Published 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Something I Never Told You
Photo by Dylan Ferreira on Unsplash

Good morning mom...

May 8th is Mothers Day, I know for a fact today you will realize the date on the calender and instantly start to miss her but I have something to tell you...

Something I never really thought to explain or even knew how, but I hope this helps...

Im blessed and grateful to be able to celebrate this day with you & Im sorry I can't take that hollow feeling from you that this day brings but they say words can heal wounds no matter the depth or when they were given. Allowing time has only been half the battle for us, so I hope this brings you closer to the end..

Today’s the day you’ll text me and apologize many times about the life you believe you failed to give us. You’ll cry throughout the day over grandma no longer being here while repeating, “I really don’t have a mom anymore.” As gospel music plays between your tears. & just like every year, (and every chance that I have to text you) I’m here to say...

You gave us a great life. You raised us well, to be respectful. Taught us how to survive in a world where our skin isn’t favored by many. You’ve kept us safe by making us aware of the dangers the world holds for us. As our mother it was your job to raise us to a certain point, and once that point was reached it was up to us to decide which way we lead with your teachings.

I have to admit... I’m impressed.

You raised 4 warriors... 4 healers. You raised 4 kids that are to stubborn to give up. You raised 4 kids that speak up for the little guy and defend those who get taken advantage of. You’ve taught us how to be protectors...

To watch our enemies without forgetting that they come in pairs. You raised 1 Marine and 1 Sailor. You raised 2 Authors. 4 Bakers. 4 Comedians. Artists. 4 Inventors. 4 Health Care Pros and thank God we all know how to cook. You’ve raised 4 kids that learn by being taught once. You (and grandma) raised kids that know how to dance (when their not being silly).

How to feel music instead of just listening to it. Hell, we even know how to play instruments we never even took classes for. You raised 4 protectors of your name. (Because we be damned if someone ever got in your way). You raised minds that are limitless. That are constantly creating. (You also created our stubbornness, just so you know 😂).

Yeah, we hit a lot of tough times. We’ve struggled, hit rock bottom and more but, I wouldn’t wanna battle through any storm without you and the kids on my team. We’ve survived the worst of the worst. Why? Because you raised survivors.

For every challenge we have faced, I've always said "it could be worse" and thankfully, we have yet to see that but even if we did, even if our world started to fall apart around us, you've managed to prepare us in ways you've looked and labled you a failure.

But what you have yet to acknowledge, what you have yet to see beyond the bad we've faced and overcome is the one things that matters the most...

We don’t quit. So, from the bottom of my heart and thousands of miles away I hope you feel the love we have for you and what better way of expressing our gratitude and love for you than by telling you words unspoken.

Happy Mother’s Day.

parents
2

About the Creator

Charming_Menace

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.