Confessions logo

ONE YEAR AGO TODAY

Rush to Heaven

By Jill Claude HamiltonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Ever walk into a room and meet someone whom you immediately have a connection and are at ease with… it’s as if you’ve known one another all your life, but only just met. Your conversations are easy & you get one another’s sense of humor… you are on the same wavelength?

Well, when I was working in Jackson, Michigan, I spent a lot of time in the office by myself. So, I brought a radio into work & listened mostly to the Jackson AM station (970 I believe) & some days WJR. Then, one day, I tuned in & there was this guy… I couldn’t believe it! 😊 the things he was saying, I’d been saying “ALL MY LIFE!”… not necessarily an exaggeration & there were 20 million each week (probably way more, but that’s what Nielsen claims) who also tuned in each day & we had a daily conversation. Daily showing up for one another, celebrating one another, and consoling one another. It was my noon to 3pm destination when I was able to sit & work & have my Peeps there with me.

I even applied to work at 95.3 WBCK, Battle Creek, Michigan's talk station, because of my love of radio… especially “Talk Radio”. I did 2 stints at the radio station & selling “talk radio” was always my favorite because there is no more loyal audience than talk radio listeners, and no better dollars than talk radio listeners' spending power. If you wanted customers in your store, talk radio listeners were always a good demographic to whom to advertise. Of course, my enthusiasm was always a topic of conversation among the staff, you will have to ask Tim Collins if that was a good thing or not.

One year ago today, the world changed forever, never to be the same again. Rush went to Heaven. May the Lord bless his soul.

I miss Rush, and my 20 million friends, every day. There isn’t anyone who could take his place, nor will anyone try. It was a special show, and special people showed up to share their thoughts, comments, share their knowledge on a topic, or get Rush’s opinion on something that was happening at that time. We got perspective from “Mr. Snerdley”… the “Official Obama Criticizer”, sang along with Paul Shanklands parody’s, and Rush’s remarkable sense of humor kept us laughing & shaking our heads in agreement. We frequently revisited the lefts “Gorb-gasm”, The ”Femi-Nazi’s” was an oft topic of conversation, and everyone knows about the “low information voter” because of Rush. We had conversations about “Chuck-U Shumer”, “Little Dickie Gephart”, “Pencil-Neck”, “Cankles”, and the still infamous “Clinton Crime Family”. He knew democrats better than every square inch of his glorious naked body. He always took them on with “1/2 his brain tied behind his back, just to make it fair”

His friends cheered at each break when he parted for his “obscene profit time-out”. He was humble and knew his talent “was on loan from God”. He was “right 99.8% of the time”, Rush was Right! He wasn’t ever able to get through his “stack of stuff” each day, and he always signed off reminding us that he would be back with more the next day, only 21 hours away.

Rush introduced me to so many people who also shaped my thinking and reinforced that conservative values are the only values that work. Dr. Walter Williams, Dr. Thomas Sowell, Mark Steyn, and so many more. I learned so much from Rush, and his substitute teachers thru the EIB Institute, where there were no graduates because there was always more to learn.

We can never tune in again, but we can take our memories & lessons and continue to do the good work that The Ma-Ha Rushie taught us.

On this day, a year later, I still think about my 25 years of listening, while I know that we will not ever have Rush to tune into, I run into people, most much younger than me, that see my “EIB” tumbler & tell me they listened to Rush while they were growing up because their parents always had him on. He raised a lot of “Rush Babies”. So, his legacy continues.

Miss you Rush. Rest In Heaven my friend.

Workplace
Like

About the Creator

Jill Claude Hamilton

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.