Confessions logo

My Temp Job in Student Services.

You're not sick, Go back to class!!!

By stephanie borgesPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
My Temp Job in Student Services.
Photo by Adeolu Eletu on Unsplash

I'm just going to complain about the issues with my job as a School Student Service clerk. I am going to use swear words but I will not mention the name of the brats that annoy the living hell out of me.

By Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

I work at a school in California, I am not a teacher as I have stated, I help the nurse with students that show symptoms of COVID-19 or at least pretent to have symthoms, we are talking about coughing, headaches, and other shit. Now you would think these kids would try not to get sick,

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

because of what the Coronavirus does, but these fuckers try to get sick to be at home. I can't believe the stories these kids make up. They say their head hurts, act like they are coughing, you name it but after just sitting in the HMR (Health Monitoring room) They are suddenly cured they are laughing, talking, jumping around like puppies. I hate that and so do the parents, when I call them asking them to come pick up their kid. I get told the same thing.

By Icons8 Team on Unsplash

• My child has done this before.

• my child was perfectly fine this morning he/she is making it up.

• This is the (multiple) time, I pick them up but as soon as we get home, (student) is eating junk food, playing on their phone, and binge-watching TV.

• And that is to name a few.

I want to give some examples using three brats (kids) I will refer to them as Brat #1, Brat #2 and Brat #3. Because for legal reasons I don't want to get in trouble.

By Austin Pacheco on Unsplash

Brat #1 male in Kindergarden, knows that if he coughs he can go home because he has one of the high symptoms, He does this every Tuesday because Tuesday is the testing day. So he is brought in after the testing and I do the usual. Take his temp, it is normal, and I can see he is making himself cough. He is moving around in my office, I have to yell at him, while calling his mother. And shde says she will not pick him up. and says he is making it up. Unfucken believable.

Brat #2 Come in saying he has a headache, I do the usual routen check, Brat #2's mother knows me and tells me he is making it up, and she says she also has a headache.

And finally Brat #3 this girl comes in and asked if I had any coloring pages, I tell her no, only paper. She goes to sit down so she can color, I tell her she has to be sick to be in my office, she can't just come in like if it was a waiting room. Brat #3 says she has a stomach, I ask her if her teacher sent her to my office? She says yes, and keeps insisting to color. I tell her to get a note from her teacher or have her call me. she just walks out. This is the 5th time this bitch has done this.

By Kristijan Arsov on Unsplash

I can't believe these kids, but then again when I was in elementary school, I use to do this kind of shit too. I hated school from elementary to high school. I wasn't a bad kid, I was just picked on. I was a nerd. Big glasses, frizzy hair, and my voice (I really hated my voice, I sound like a boy.) Back in the day, you were able to make the thermometer say you had a fever in seconds because you could put it in your mouth. And of course, I was able to go home and be at peace.

Now a thermometer is in the form of a ray guy, (I feel like I am in Star Wars) just point and shoot at the kid and in a millisecond it reads. What the kids don't understand is if they are sent home just because they say they are sick and not actually sick is that the school and the teachers start to suffer. The more students are sent home, The more teachers will have issues teaching the materal to the students. because some students may not have access to the internet, this is due to the pandemic making jobs unavailable. And let's not forget the student that is visual learners. like myself, I know this would be an issue for me because I am a visual learner, audio is easy if it is a book.

I have been at this school since November and I already know the regulars. I try to be sweet with them even though I want to cuss at them for cussing at me for not sending them home. Thank God this job is Temp.

When you get mad at work or school, just sing this song to yourself. "I'm Gonna Whip Somebody's Ass!"

Workplace
Like

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.