Confessions logo

My Prom Story

Prom Season is around the corner. Here's My 2013 Prom Story. (Photos of my prom and my prom date are included in this story!!!)

By Gladys W. MuturiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Me(Gladys W. Muturi), 17, April 2013 in my beautiful blue prom dress

Prom Season is around the corner even though we are dealing with a public health pandemic. I want to share my prom season story with everyone how I thought it would be the worst night of my life to the best night of my life.

This is my Prom Story

I was a senior at Watkins Mill High School. Before Prom was around the corner, I was in an on and off relationship with my then-boyfriend Barry (Xavier's Dad) at the time we were dating and he was supposed to be my prom date. He never asked me or made a beautiful prom-posal just nothing but us saying "we are each other's prom date". Unfortunately, he had to "work" which I thoroughly don't believe. I think he didn't want to go to prom. Plus, he never asked me in a nice way or in a beautiful proposal way. It was just like mutual like we are just going to prom together. I didn't ask anybody because I didn't know who to ask. I guess at the time I was protecting my relationship with him.

This was supposed to be my prom dress

If you look below at this beautiful gray sparkly dress, this was supposed to be my dream prom dress. I found this on Pinterest while I was looking for prom dresses. It looked so gorgeous and silky. In my mind, I was like I am going to wear the hell out of the dress.

Unfortunately, he had to "work" which I thoroughly don't believe. Honestly, I think he didn't want to go and he doesn't know how to express it. Plus, he never asked me in a nice way or in a beautiful proposal way. It was just like mutual like we are going to prom together. So I had nobody. So I went by myself. The dress was hard to find. I wanted to wear a silver dress I saw online but they didn't have the dress I wanted. I tried searching through every store department to find the perfect dream prom dress. Found no luck!

JcPenney (Gaithersburg, MD)

Until I went to JCPenney at Gaithersburg (before the mall shut down JCPenney.) I went on the upper level where all the Juniors outfits and prom dresses. I found this beautiful blue dress honestly it wasn't my specialty but it was firm fitting. And I thought why not. So my mom purchased the dress. At the prom, I saw everyone including my friends were all well-dressed and have dates whether it was best friends as their dates or their boyfriends as their dates while I myself was a lone bird dressed in a beautiful blue dress with no limo or those prom wrist flower corsage. Just a heart bracelet and no make up on my face until I saw my good friend of mine Freud looking all dashingly handsome. We saw each other on the dance floor and hugged.

When I asked, "Where's your date?"

He said, "I don't have a date."

I was surprised that he didn't had a date. It was at that instant moment that we pretty much instantly became each other's date. We had danced the whole night away, had a lot of laughs, the DJ was playing banging ass music and it was lit. While we were slow dancing to FUN "We Are Young", I thought to myself I could've asked him to be my prom date.

After Prom

The prom was a success. After Prom was over, there was no after party. Me and my prom date Freud had a grand time (gosh I wish I would've kissed him that night). I wish my then-boyfriend could've experienced it with but who am I kidding. He would have been the WORST Prom date ever even if we did go together.

So that's my prom story.

The end.

Photos of my Prom

My Good side

Front

Instagram: @gladys_muturi95

Me and my mom

my Prom Ticket

Me, my brother and sister Joseph and Josephine at the prom

My friend Mary took this photo

Me and my promdate and friend Freud

This was after prom

Teenage years
Like

About the Creator

Gladys W. Muturi

Hello, My name is Gladys W. Muturi. I am an Actress, Writer, Filmmaker, Producer, and Mother of 1.

Instagram: @gladys_muturi95

Twitter: @gladys_muturi

Facebook: facebook.com/gladystheactress

YouTube: @gladys_muturi

patreon.com/gwmuturi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.