Confessions logo

My Dream Job?

I must have read this prompt wrong, you mean jobs, correct? Like who has one dream.

By Tasjanah Anderson Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

If we could rewind, my child self would tell you that being a veterinarian was my dream job. Even though I use to write fiction stories for fun at school and at home, I envisioned a more practical job. Fast foward to middle school I wanted to be a judge or a lawyer. As I entered high school, I figured being a nurse was a more practical thing for me. I even attended college classes early to become a Medical Assistant. Just to bring myself closer to the medical field. As I graduated and really started doing the work I found that I love helping people. No matter what it is, I love problem solving or being that person that anyone can come to. To lend a helping hand is my calling. I loved learning. The medical field is one where one never stops learning. On the other hand as I grew in age and knowledge I grew in creativity. I always loved photography, dancing, music, and poetry. But my mind wasn’t set on doing what I loved, just doing what paid bills and kept money in my bank account. I’m twenty three now I’ll be twenty four in 2022. I’m saddened to say, it took this long to figure out my dream. My dream job is to do all the above. Learn, dance, help others, and be creative. Iv picked up photography and writing the last few years in a more serious way. This is can be my job. My Day to day, creating. I work as a Medical Assistant in a health clinic, a phlebotomist at a plasma bank, and neither job really stuck with me or made me feel any brighter. The people I interacted with were really my favorite parts of the job. And or the things that I was learning on the job. Like venipuncture or using ultrasound machines and ekgs. Just comforting patients everyday was something I didn’t mind. Meeting new people and forming relationships are a good way to keep me in the moment. Disscusing anything that comes to mind really. We’re all people just experiencing life and to be apart of somebody’s day in a polity light always helped me feel like I was fulfilling a purpose. On the other hand before I was doing that, I was a cook at restaurants, like Red Lobster and Ruth Chris’s Steak House. I loved those jobs. Just the feeding people part. The rush of a fast paced working environment and being apart of a team. Those jobs showed me a different aspect to the work place. THEYRE HUST REGULARL PEOPLE. I lost that barrier between customer and sustainer service. I was both the provider and the consumer. People often forget that a business is not just the people who own the business and its offilates, But people. Just regular people who could be your neighbor or somebodies child. The work force is made up of US. I treat people how I want to be treated. Uniform or not, CEO or janitor. Respect deems respect. Now that I realize I am more than a worker. I realize that, everyday should be spent working for myself. Every second of the day should be spent on what I enjoy, what I need, what I dream of. I dream of dancing on big stages. I dream of arenas of people hearing my voice echo out of speakers. Weather it be, motivational speaking, poetry, and or my music; I dream of voicing my story. My dream job is to photograph beauty. Show others the way I see the world. The way that I see them. My dream jobs take on all the things I love to do and feel. To express myself creatively and help others do the same. I hate working for a wage because no amount of money is worth my precious time. So instead I’ll live out my dreams in reality. I am a photographer. I am a musician. I am a dancer. I am a poet.I am an editor. Because I am naturally, all these things. I love my jobs because they help me live life. They help me stay active and motivated. They don’t drain me of my energy but help me regain it. I love my jobs because it’ll take a lifetime to master all of them. My jobs impact the world because people can relate to me and I to them. I could tell someone else’s story, or my experiences could help someone else. I am a photographer because I can help others see the beauty in everything. As a writer I feel that words carry their own meanings and I have this special way of conveying my thoughts to readers. To listeners. I plan to impact the world someday. Maybe it’s today.

Workplace
Like

About the Creator

Tasjanah Anderson

Fireredd . Photographer/ Rapper / Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.