Confessions logo

Kratom

Saint or sinner

By Dixon Kiddo Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Kratom
Photo by Becca Lavin on Unsplash

I’ve been working with kratom since 2014, it was new and arrived right on time after the opioid crisis in the early 2000s. Kratom has landed itself in fertile soil for people who were struggling with withdrawals after this sweeping change.

In the beginning my work felt purposeful and at times it still does, even though I’ve distanced myself from all the hysteria and I am looking to move on. We really felt there is a purpose for every plant in nature. And surely there is, but it has to come with limits. A lot People who feel they need kratom have legitimate reasons, they come from all walks of life and feel they don’t want the herb to be demonized or taken away from circulation. After all they deserve a choice to divert from traditional routes if psychiatrists are expensive as well as the meds. Power is seemingly in your own hands when it comes to this alternative. But I can’t emphasize enough. You can create habits that will destroy you with too much of anything.

I’ve jumped off, keeping up with the noise it was making. The political involvement although I recognize as good in many ways, was also creating stress for people who needed kratom and especially for vendors who paid thousands in lawyers fees to keep it legal in many states.

I’ve had my own highs and lows on the herb. It started off high, I was no longer interested in medications and felt more spiritually connected again, it seemed to be the best thing for me. Until it wasn’t.. for me it was the stomach issues and hardening stool, low sex drive and watching my mother abuse to no end, her skin looks like an alligator and then there was psychosis for her that was terrifying. My mom always had addiction issues and can be a person of extremes in that sense. Lucky for me I can catch myself but doesn’t make it easier. Watching her struggle always had me with one eye open and recognizing my own patterns of addiction.

Hearing stories after young adults became users, broke our spirits. It wasn’t supposed to be so main stream and we worked hard to keep it that way. Now selling out of gas stations where the packaging was making it trendy and glamorous. These young people were some of the victims of opioids as well. And while I’m not here to tell you about the varying science of the plant or preach to anyone about how they need to get though the day totally sober and chugging 20 monster energy drinks a day instead. Or rub some CBD oil on your PTSD.

With kratom maybe it just depends on the will of the person involved like with most substances. We either have the time and support to come off of things and mend our wounds. Or we keep searching for the right thing to fill the void. Kratom was used to keep workers alert and pain free. Here, as a society that has 2 jobs and 6 side hustles, how could you tell anyone they don’t need a pick me up? Or their pain isn’t real.

I wouldn’t want to say anything about kratom that would deter someone who needs it or to make them feel bad if it truely helps them. Know your limits and live by them. If you have major addiction issues be cautious. This amazing plant does great things but also comes with a warning that I’ve witnessed first hand. The intention behind the timing after the opioid crisis was that it works for people as a conduit to another path If possible. But if taking kratom is your sweet spot than my work has not been in vein and I hear often that we helped people, and that so and so doesn’t get addicted and only takes as needed. Thank goodness for accountability when consuming anything.

Workplace
Like

About the Creator

Dixon Kiddo

I’m here Rekindling my love for writing. Living in Florida trying to avoid the heat by telling a few stories. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.