Confessions logo

In The Darkness Of The Night

Night

By Teressa RosallPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1
In The Darkness Of The Night
Photo by Jake Weirick on Unsplash

In the darkness of the night in my room for the night.

I am alone with my thoughts that are running wild in my mind.

So I pick up the pen and paper and begin to write what my thoughts are telling me.

My mind guides my hands across the page to write down these thoughts.

Using the light of the flashlight the process of writing begins.

In the darkness of my room, I am in the dark except for the light of the flashlight.

I hear sounds in the darkness of the night that I probably wouldn't notice in the daylight.

I can hear the sound of the fan in the room that I am in. Now I know why they use the sound of the fan as a white noise. It is a calming feeling that washes over my body.

The next sound that I hear is the sweet sound of the air conditioner starting up since it is close to the bedroom window. It hums away in the darkness of the night. The cool air is starting to take over the hot air in the room.

In the darkness of the night, I can see the light under my bedroom door. It is from the glow of the nightlight in the kitchen. Now I know that I am not alone in the darkness.

I can hear the sounds of a quiet house no one is talking not even the television. It starts to rest its bones with little crackles are creeks.

Humming away in the kitchen is the refrigerator. Tonight I heard the dumping at the ice marker in the quietness of the night. Also, I hear the water refilling into the ice marker waiting for another dump of ice. I wonder if I will be awake for the next batch.

Thump in the driveway the newspaper is here. I saw the bright lights of the car lights in the bathroom window. It was a quick flash I would liken it to lightning in a storm.

I am thinking to myself what sense I am using that makes these sounds so sharp to me. Ah duh, it must my ears. Is this what a person with no sight feels? Just as Helen Keller did.

My eyes are getting heavy as I write on this page. My eyelids are like little window shades that are slowly coming down to make me sleep.

I want to finish this before I sleep. It is harder and harder to keep my eyes open. I look over at the glow of the clock it is saying 4:45 a.m.

I continue to write and I know that in a few hours, a new day will begin.

What will the day be like for me and my family? I hope that there will be peace and calm in this house when it comes our way. It got to better than last week.

I am glad that I took the time to listen to the darkness. It has told me things that I would never know that happen in the darkness. The senses are on alert to hear things.

I will close this now because I can't fight the sandman.

So, I will end this and saying I hope that you get the chance to listen to the darkness of the night

So, I may say to you Good night, I wish you peace and calmness in the darkness of night. May you sleep and dream the best dreams that you can have.

A few hours the light will light my way to a day.

Once again, Good night.

Secrets
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • S. C. Almanzar9 months ago

    I love the white noise that fans provide, especially when I'm trying to sleep. I will say that sometimes the ice maker in the fridge scares me at night until I remember what it is!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.