Confessions logo

If only the goggles were still on.

V

By Valentine CaseyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
If only the goggles were still on.
Photo by Barbara Zandoval on Unsplash

Just like that the white carpet turned to red as the spill continued to drip down the coffee table. That wasn’t the only thing that turned red, luckily my face was the only one to change, but maybe he was too quick to get up to even share a new filter on his face. My rosed cheeks of blushing turned to tomato red as the embarrassment sunk in. Not only did I spill the Merlot wine, I broke the glass leaving a glisten as the candles’ flames sound their way to the shards of glass. He gathers the paper towels laughing as i’m hesitantly cleaning the mess with the napkins provided on the table.

“I knew you said you were a klutz, but damn.” He says.

“Wasted, I know, I haven’t even had a sip yet.” I say after continuously apologizing.

“No worries I’ll just pour you some more, I should have gotten the white.”

Secretly wishing he had, I smile as if either way it was fine. Perhaps my subconscious knocked it over because I prefer their chardonnay. I take a deep breath before picking up the wine glass, excited to try it because I still like to try anything new. The sweet but daring bite captured a feel for an adventures night, I could already tell. He gets back onto his feet and grabs the controller.

“How should we start?” He asks.

“Depends what you have” I say.

“Well, id say the horror ones, but I have a feeling i’ll have to guide you away from breaking things.”

“Ha, ha, very funny. I’ll take the hard mode thank you.”

“ohhh, right into it okay I like it.”

By Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

He helps me put on the googles and I continue to pick up the hand pieces and start the virtual horrors of walking down an old dark hall with flickering dim lights. I sway and tip toe threw the a room unaware of how many steps I have actually taken and where I now stood in the real room. I feel his presence behind me get closer, or maybe that was the anxiety, or simply the unknown of the game. I feel his hand on my left hip as he sways me in a new direction as if he knew where I was in the virtual world. I now am standing in front of a treasure chest of some kind and I can only imagine what is inside. Something is clearly going to pop out, so I turn around. He twists my hips again, leaving me closer to the treasure chest.

“Open it.” He says.

I slowly lower my hands trying to mimic the motion of opening a chest. As I hear the creeks in the headphones turned all the way up, I duck before I even see anything. Just as the lid is almost up, he lifts me and throws me on the couch as I squeal.

“Not Fair!” I say as we both laugh. I take off the googles and hand them his way, and he put them on the table next to the wine glasses and snacks.

“I don’t know about you, but I think it’s time to venture out into the real world and go see the meteor shower.” He says.

“But you haven’t gone yet,”

“Eh, I use it all the time.”

“Wow, I don’t even get to scare you.”

“Impossible”

“I guess one spill was enough scares for the night.”

“It’s okay I actually know how to clean so I can get it out.”

“Ohh, he’s clean, we love to hear it.”

“Shall we?”

“Sounds like the plan.” We both smile as we head to the car.

After driving around for at least 20 minutes we start to pass the pier where the Farris wheel stands tall and he pulls to a stop. I guess plans had changed, but I wasn’t too nervous and was intrigued by his new plan. If we weren’t going to the the top of the hill, I assumed we were going to the top of the wheel, which honestly was cute. We make our way to through the crowd. He leans into me with each step as if a magnet was bringing us together. I step farther away to avoid the awkward bumps, but every time he comes towards me even closer. A warm feeling filled my soul as he continuously talked about his families stories, sharing each detail. You could tell in his eyes he was describing it exactly as his eyes saw it that same day. I adored that with hesitation, lost by what he was trying to say, but admired by his passion in telling the story. We step closer to the front of the line and the conversion stops, creating an adrenaline pause for the moment of getting into the chair to lift us up.

“Ready?” He says.

“Yeee.” I say.

By John Jackson on Unsplash

We sit across from each other until he decides to switch to my side as we get closer to the sky. He leans in more, leaving our legs to touch. I didn’t cross my legs and his legs were closed in, creating parallel lines to mine. The weather felt as warm as the feeling his laugh gave me. The breeze gave me a moment to breath and calm down as he looked into my eyes as he spoke.

There was hesitation coming my way, a pull between knowing it was coming, but not knowing if I wanted it. I didn’t want it, but I know my eyes on his lips gave him another idea. I did want it, but because he wanted it made her not want it. A struggle. But the idea of a kiss was in the air. Patience is key they say, maybe another date.

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Valentine Casey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.