Confessions logo

If I had Won The 20,000 Challenge

Just A Dream

By Victor Robinson IIPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
If I had Won The 20,000 Challenge
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

Today is the day when Vocal announces their 20 winners 20,00o prize for 2021's Best short stories. I went to the list three times and i was bummed out and I was depressed and I didn't feel like writing anymore. I felt like writing on vocal was a waste of my time. I took a couple of Tylonel p.m.

Because i had a bad headache. So I went to sleep and I dreamed I woke up and decide to re read the list of finalist again and this time my name was on it. I was so happy and i told my family that i won 20 grand.

Three weeks later 20 grand depoisted in my bank account. I had decided to take a leave of absence from my job. I decided to call up a publisher to have my book published which cost 6,000. I decided to go visit this girl named Gail in Kentucky that i been taking to for months and i susprised her because i never had money to go out of time. I spend a week with her and took her to a movie and out to a fancy dinner and help her with her bills that she been struggled then I kiss her and I went back to Alabama which is where I am from.

I had spent 3,000 in Kentucky and I had 11 grand left so i had decided to pay 2 grand on my rent which 550 a month and put 2 grand on my light bill and wifi. I am feeling pretty good. My home is good for a while and decide to help my mom out with some her bills which i pitch in 1,500. which left me with 5,550 left. so i put 1,000 in my pocket and the rest in the bank to collect intrest.

I bought some new stuff for my 1 bedroom apartment. Gail was very happy I came to Kentucky to see her. I was the only man she met from online to have treated her with respect and didnt pressure her to have sex. Gail is waiting to have sex when she gets married. She has been through a lot of trauma in her life. I respect that about her.

I never knew I would be ever to see her especially with what I make at my job and since i dont know how to drive a car due to being nervous which is some of the reason why no woman from my hometown wanted to date me.

But with some of the women, I talk to online they don't care about me not knowing how to drive the only thing they care about is honesty and loyalty and not going to hurt them emotionally and physically. The publisher has published my book in book stores around the world. Three months later I recieved 35,000 dollars from my book sales and i decided to help my mom pay off her house and debt. I signed a book deal with my publisher to write 3 more books for them and i had already had 10 books written already i had submitted 3 of them.

I had quitted my job from Wal-Mart which was there for 15 years. I got an advance of 50,000 from my publisher for the books I had submitted. I had uprooted my life to Kentucky and ask Gail to marry me and she had an SSI due to a disabilty but when I marry her I would take care of her and I moved her to New York where all the famous writers are.

I decided to enroll myself in Film School and Gail want something to do because she didnt wanted to be a housewife so she enrolled in Culinary School. The Hollywood Studios wanted to turn one of my books into a motion picture and then they offer me 250,oo0 grand for my book rights and you know I said Fuck Yeah I will.

Three Years Later, I graduated Film School and i directed my first feature film Blade Vs The Punisher which was a story I wrote on Vocal Media. Gail also graduated Culinary school and then appeared on a season of Hell's Kitchen almost made it to the finals but She learned so much with working with Gordon Ramsay.

Me and Gail have been doing pretty well for ourselves in New York and this wouldnt been possible. If i hadn't won that challenge on Vocal Media. But then I wake up from the dream and realizes that I didnt win anything and I dream the wonderful things That could have been if I wrote more and read more from my competation i have to be better than the others and stronger. I have read from other creators and they are awesome also. I read their work and its intrested me and i couldnt stop reading.

All these creators are wonderful in their own way. I only been on here a month and i was expecting to win the first challenge. I was overzealous but Now I am focus on trying to enjoy my writing and hoping to win the next challenge that comes my way But the way things are now I dont believe I will ever meet Gail in real life due to my work and lack of money but I just hope the next person she meets treat her with respect as I would.

Thanks for reading please check out my other stories and I will check your out and Remember you are all awesome creators and thanks for reading

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Victor Robinson II

I am Victor Robinson II I am self publisher writer with Amazon. I enjoy writing books its relaxs my mind. I also work at wal mart been there 15 years hoping to survive as an author. I want to entertain the world with my awesome stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.