Confessions logo

I Wrote An Essay On Christopher Columbus

My Story on How I won my first essay contest in High School and if I have any regrets about winning an essay on Columbus.

By Gladys W. MuturiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 months ago 4 min read
1
Gladys W. Muturi (Me),16, my brother Joseph,11 at the time,and my mother Rosemary, Former Principal Scott Murphy, Deborah Prochnow

If you live in the Maryland area and you read the Gazette newspaper with the headline "Germantown Girl wins state essay winner" You would see on the front page a photo of this sixteen-year-old girl holding a certificate with her family, her then-principal, her school counselor, career center counselor and people from the DAR (Daughters of the American Revolution). That "Germantown Girl" in the picture in the Gazette was me. I was a high school junior writing a 1,200-word essay on Christopher Columbus and won the essay contest. After the win, I made the local news and made it on the front page. But here's the truth behind the whole contest that made the local Maryland news, what happened after I won, what did I do with the "prize money" and the HONEST TRUTH of the winning essay.

How it all started...

Writing has been a part of my whole life. I enjoyed writing stories about my life, based on true life events, adventures, fantasies, fairy tales, and campus events. When I have nothing to do, I sit in my room with a notebook and a pencil and write my stories or poems. I was in the 11th grade, I remember when they had a huge announcement about the Christopher Columbus essay contest. The school was looking for writers who could write a story about Christopher Columbus’s life. So, I thought to myself that I should enter the contest. First, I started to pre-write in my own words. Then, I did some research on Christopher Columbus's life. Finally, I typed my final draft and handed in my essay to the career center counselor. Four months later, I went to the counselor's office to talk to my counselor about my schedule(I don't know if I remember.) We started to have a good conversation until one of the staff said my mom is here and in the office waiting for me (I had an appointment after that's why). I was sent to the principal's office (believing that I was in trouble). The Principal welcomes me into the office I see everyone in the office. My mother, my brother who was 11 at the time, the counselors, and women from the DAR organization were all excited to see me, they applauded me when I entered the office I was confused about what was going on until the Principal said to me that I won the essay contest. I was shocked but excited at the same time. At the time, I had never won anything in my whole life, especially in essay contests. I was grateful to be recognized for writing the essay on Christopher Columbus. I shook hands with women from the DAR organization and they congratulated me. The media photographer took the photo which would later be published on Gazette, Patch.com, and the school's newspaper.

Invitation to the Luncheon

After I won, they invited me and my family to a Luncheon to celebrate.

Me at the Luncheon

At the Luncheon, which took place at the DC hotel, my family and I were all dressed to impress. The event was okay. Other winners who were at the Luncheon event. The food wasn't all that for a luncheon. My award was a pin and I was given a book. I made a short speech thanking everyone and my family attending the Luncheon. (picture seen above).

By Blaz Erzetic on Unsplash

Columbus a Lie?

I never knew that Columbus's history was a lie. In elementary school, I learned that Christopher Columbus was an explorer kinda like Lois and Clark except for Columbus's travels through a ship and that he helped discover. One year, since I graduated from high school, I read some interesting things about Christopher Columbus. First, I read that :

"Columbus Day represents a celebration of genocide and dispossession. "

Then:

"Columbus brought diseases to killing people. "

And:

"Columbus was looking for a shorter route to India. But he never got there. He landed first in what is now the Bahamas, and then went on to what is now Hispaniola, the island of the nations of the Dominican Republic and Haiti. "

Hmmm never knew that!!!

And all of the other stuff I have read and research that I knew about Christopher Columbus. I felt like everything I read on history books about Christopher Columbus was all a lie.

Here are Sources on Why Columbus Day shouldn't be celebrated:

Do I regret the essay?

There are a lot of things I regret but I never thought this history would be a lie. The only thing I wish I had known was what I put on the essay that gave me recognition. Honestly, I don't even remember what I put on the essay nor do I have the essay because I lost my USB drive that contains the winning essay and two incomplete manuscripts of my novel that I wanted to publish one day. Even if somebody finds it and exposes it to everybody whether it's former teachers from high school, my friends, or anyone who plans to blast me on the media just to let you know I never received the cash prizes. I made it to the finals but I lost the contest and never actually got the cash prize. Sorry!!!! No prize money!!!!!

The Gazette newspaper published on March 7, 2012 IG: @gladys_muturi95

The only thing that I am proud of is that I was recognized for my writing. Even though I never got the prize money I was hoping to use it to buy a laptop or possibly save it for a car. Hopefully, whoever reads this whether it's anyone from my former high school or anyone who is not a fan of Columbus Day I apologize and I'm truly embarrassed.

Oh well. It is what is. I can't change it. That's all I can say.

School
1

About the Creator

Gladys W. Muturi

Hello, My name is Gladys W. Muturi. I am an Actress, Writer, Filmmaker, Producer, and Mother of 1.

Instagram: @gladys_muturi95

Twitter: @gladys_muturi

Facebook: facebook.com/gladystheactress

YouTube: @gladys_muturi

patreon.com/gwmuturi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Artur Myakon'kiy9 months ago

    SameDayEssay https://us.samedayessay.com/ has simplified my academic life. Their essays are not just well-written; they also help me grasp complex topics better. It's like having a tutor and a writer rolled into one service.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.