Confessions logo

I quit my job...

I am exhausted!

By Rose Loren Geer-RobbinsPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - August 2022
76
I quit my job...
Photo by Documerica on Unsplash

It is week one of becoming a housewife / full-time writer and blogger / creator of a weekly podcast entitled The Real Housewives of America- A look into the lives of the women behind the President. 

I am overwhelmed. 

My stress about finding a job ended when we moved to Washington. As far as household bills are concerned, I have enough income to cover them. My husband could work, and the money would be for groceries and play. As a result, the burden of support was lifted from my shoulders, and I decided to run with it. 

In other words, I'm taking a leap of faith and creating a new world for myself. 

I find it exhausting. Creating dinner menus, cleaning the bathrooms, laundry, lawn work, vacuuming, taking the dogs for their daily walks or runs- the list never ends. When did I find time for all of this before? Of course, now that I am a housewife, the house needs to look and feel clean every day. 

I need an assistant to help me!

I have never really put much effort into my writing or my goal of becoming a published author. I just talked about it. This week I spent most of my time learning all the new and confusing ways that one effectively writes a novel, publishes worthwhile blogs, and starts a podcast. If YouTubers get paid by views, I just help fund a new home for a few of them. 

There are a couple of issues that I have run into.

First issue- If you are creating a brand-new podcast, should it be what you post on your website/blog? Or should the information be different? If it is the same, wouldn't that be boring? If I embark on different paths- that is a LOT of work and research each week. Of course, I am a housewife- so I have the time now. 

But do I?

I just made a weekly calendar as if I were still working full-time, and it seems the non-paying job I have created for myself is 60+ hours a week. 

I need to talk to management.

Second issue- what takes priority? The blog that earns me $0.02 an hour (roughly)? It's not a lot of money, but I enjoy my small community in the blogging world and hearing everyone's thoughts, problems, and celebrations. I also appreciate the support that I am starting to get in return. It took about a year and a half, but now I get a couple of 'Likes' and a few comments every once in a while. 

However, I could potentially get a lot more from my unfinished novel if I can figure out if Caroline dies in book 1 and is brought back to life in book 2. Or maybe she falls in love with Eidolon, and they live happily ever after in book 1, and there is no book 2? 

Then again, I could work on my podcast and get picked up by the History Channel as a host for a new program that will run for 15 seasons. This is a long shot- but I am sure it could happen.

Can I do all three? I think that I could- I just need to get in a flow.

Third issue- writing a novel. I started my book in November of 2021. I like it, but I recently discovered that I am just writing to write and not following a plan or structure. The book needs a structure, and now I am returning to square one to rework it. Not a big deal. I don't mind. HOWEVER, I was on one of my writing groups' forums, and someone mentioned that they wrote their book in 4 months, edited it in 1, and it is set to be published in October. 

Who let her on this page? I don't need that kind of negativity in my life right now. What did I say in response? 'Well done! That is awesome! I can't wait to read it!'. Because that is what writers do- we support each other as we slowly cry inside. There is no competition until it is time to be #1 on New York's Best Selling list. 

I already pre-ordered her book. 

As you can see, friends, my concept of 'Be Great at what you are Good at' is becoming a bit of a stressful moment in my life. I am bound to be successful, but the road to getting there is long and winding.  

I once heard that 40 is the new 20, and in my 20s, I had no clue what I was doing with my life. It seems like in my 40s I am just as confused. 

Quick question! Can I also get the body I had when I was in my 20s? Asking for a friend. 

The buzzer just sounded; it is time to move on to the rest of my day. I have to wash the bedding today. Did I mention that there are no days off when you are a housewife? Nope. It is seven days a week, every week, 365 days, for the rest of my life.

Now there is a pleasant thought for you!

But a final thought- go and Be Great at what you are Good at!

Workplace
76

About the Creator

Rose Loren Geer-Robbins

One does not simply become a famous writer! It takes many hours before the sun comes up and even more when the sun sets. I am never sure what world I am living in, the one that I am writing about or reality.

www.wannabehistorian.blog

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • J. Kelly Brito2 years ago

    I loved to read this! So many things I could identify with. On the matter of working from home and having to keep the house clean, kids fed, diner ready… all expectations of partners who work 9-5 (they tend to think that working from home is mostly chill). On novel writing, I started mine some 4+ years ago. Only when I had a structure and publishing plan in place, it’s become “real”. For everything I don’t have time to dedicate 100%, I publish on Kindle Vella 😁

  • Kendra Marya2 years ago

    Thanks for sharing your struggles and sentiments. I feel like I also talk more about becoming an author more than doing the work to actually be it. I've been off for a month and writing takes so much time and effort even when you have the time. Now I have to get a ft job again and I can't help but feel like my dreams are slipping through the cracks of my fingers. I'm subscribed and I'd love to join your writing group and support you!

  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    I'm a housewife and registered carer to the person I am married to. I am also Student, Writer and Author. I have a few books published, though I'm still working on my main book and I have been for around 5 years now. Life can get very busy, and I have to just squeeze fitness in like it is orange juice. I rarely get much time to myself, so the days I get extra time to read and write are treasured. These extra days are rare. My husband shares the housework, but he can only do the small things. Before this, he was a nurse doing long shifts, and I had much more time on my hands. It is hard work juggling everything at once on top of caring, but a golden rule is to always make sure you have time to yourself to do the things you want because you are important too.

  • N.J. Gallegos 2 years ago

    You go girl! Being a full time housewife is still a full time job and I respect the hell out of you for doing it.

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    I have three pages contribute to online and I am waiting for the teaching contracts to roll in again. Don't give up on this...and good luck!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.