Confessions logo

I never wanted a regular life

disjointed musings of a young woman

By FeyrePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - July 2022
34

Today I opened my Instagram feed, and I saw a post that read as follows

There is literally no rule that says you have to get married & start a family.

How I wish someone had told me this at 19.

I have a confession. I never wanted a regular life. I never wanted to be the domesticated housewife with no career aspirations, and crying children clinging to my leg. And yet here I am, in my late 20s, I am a mother and a wife, and only this year did I make the transition from being a stay-at home mom to working and pursuing a career. And these days I am drowning in regret for the life choices I made.

Your 20s is a time of self-discovery, where we develop our identity, where we find our place in this vast world. My 20s was a time of trying to make sense of my toxic marriage, and struggling with overwhelming task of motherhood. Only now in my late 20s I have started taking the time to discover myself, and be "selfish," because I truly could not take it anymore.

As a child and adolescent. I dreamed of stardom, of being an actress. I wanted to be an artist, a creator. I wanted to dance. Although I did well academically, academics never called to me. I was a dreamer, hypnotized by the glitz and glam of celebrity. I never wanted a life of white picket fences and children. In fact, I detested babysitting, and never wanted children of my own. And I knew I wanted to be my own boss.

But I thought I was broken, because all my friends loved children, they were not seduced by celebrity or stardom, they wanted to work the 9-5, get married and have a house in the suburbs. And my parents quickly made it clear that those dreams were unrealistic. They were practical people, my father was an MD and my mother was working hard at her 9-5 as a sonographer. Besides, dance and artistry were not in line with the Orthodox Jewish life. A life I secretly didn't want, but it was forced upon me.

My childhood was an unholy marriage of controlling parents, religious extremism, identity issues from being mixed race and religion, and coping with a severely angry and depressed single mother. Needless to say I was never given the time or space to truly "be myself." I felt like I always had to hide who I was, and often I hated who I was so deeply. I always felt like an outsider, being the only Asian in an all Jewish religious school, and with divorced parents on top of that. My interests were never encouraged, and my parents expected me to be a certain way. "Modest," straight A student," "respectful daughter," " Orthodox Jew." I left my parents house feeling utterly empty, with a deep abyss of self loathing. No one hated me more than I hated myself. And I was desperate for love and acceptance, for a man to sweep me off my feet.

And so at 19 when I met a man who was obsessed with me, who promised me a better life, I threw out all my dreams and aspirations, to be a wife. I soon discovered, the promise of a better life was empty, and now I was stuck in the position of constantly bolstering the fragile ego of a partner, with the needs of an endless blackhole. It was a relationship of toxic co-dependency, control, subtle manipulation, and it was all consuming. On top of that, I was now stuck in a religious community that I felt little connection to. And 9 years late I found myself with 2 kids.

I tried to write and journal, my way of coping with the confusion and darkness, but he felt threatened by my writing. He would read my journals and bully me for what I had written. My thoughts and my secrets exposed. a violation of my soul. I never had a moment to breath.

But now I have decided, I have had enough. I am leaving the marriage. I am no longer accepting societal and communal limitations. I am no longer painfully afraid of public opinion. I will create the life that I want.

To be honest, I am not really sure what the purpose of this article is. I began to write and it turned into a beast of its own. A journal entry or confession of sorts. But here I am now, dipping my toes into content creation. Embracing myself, expressing my thoughts. Breaking out of the prison of my mind, letting my soul free. It's cathartic to say the least.

If I could go back and give my 19 year old self advice it would be this: do not live your life by the rules of others. Make the rules yourself and be the lucid dreamer, in this dream called reality.

Secrets
34

About the Creator

Feyre

I guess this is my way of journaling. Eventually I hope to write fiction, but I think I need to fight my inner demons first.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Amystic2 years ago

    I can relate to this it is very accurate this is how society makes us feel and it is not right but it's beautiful to be you and express who you truly are and not be tied down by others' opinions or society itself. Thank you for sharing.

  • Viv H.2 years ago

    Thanks for sharing your story! I can totally relate to it! I find that being in a toxic relationship with a partner who is not willing or not capable of changing can be damaging in the long run. Life is too short! But I'd want my kids to have mom and dad in the picture raising them with love.

  • I came here to read some confessions and see if would give me strength to write my own. I can't tell you how much I can relate to this. Good luck to you, you are a very talented writer, thank you for sharing!

  • Bianca Wilson2 years ago

    It was something I sensed but was also confused about as to whether or not I was in a good stage at my current age. Like you said the 20s is the time that needs to be taken to figure yourself out. Best of luck to us all. May we realize and obtain our suited life.

  • Estera Lupu2 years ago

    I realate to that so much. I was also raised in a orthodox house with strict parent stuck in a loveless marriage. 7 years since I left my parents home and I'm still finding who I truly am and who I want to become. Good luck in your searches, good luck to everyone who finds themselves in this position. We should educate the young better so they don't get to live our trauma.

  • Stacey Mock2 years ago

    Oh I feel this! I am one who took the road less traveled- but I still get a lot of judgement for not following the "normal" path. When I see friends getting married and having babies- I just have this visceral sense that it is not for me. I have over 100 babies as a school teacher, and there is no way I could teach and also parent- NONE. Thank you for writing this with such honesty and sharing your story.

  • Stacey Vella2 years ago

    Excited for you and the next stage of your life! Time for your soul to be free! Good luck!

  • This was a great read! I love how you end the article because I, too, am still figuring my self out in my early 20’s and it’s so easy to be consumed by society’s beliefs and opinions on yourself, but realistically it’s your life. The common ways to live life isn’t always everyone’s path. I’m glad you’re doing what makes you happy. You go girl.

  • A.R2 years ago

    I loved reading this as its very relatable! Growing up in a religious and cultural background, the expectation was to marry and have children and if you didn't you were considered odd or the talk of the town. You can live the life you want and never stop dreaming :)

  • Carol Driscoll2 years ago

    good for you and good luck!!

  • Amir Taylor2 years ago

    I, too never wanted a regular life but here I am at 45 with four kids. Go be great, create and don't let anything or anyone stand in your way!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.