Confessions logo

I Confess My Name is not Really Vittoria Speranza

Why I started using a pen name

By J.M. TroppelloPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
I Confess My Name is not Really Vittoria Speranza
Photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

“An honest confession is good for the soul, but bad for the reputation.” – Thomas Dewar

I agree that confession is good for the soul. It felt good to start using a nom de plume. However, it feels even better to confess that I’m not who you think I am.

Let’s start at the beginning.

I’ve been writing for a long time. My foray into the writing world started when I wrote poetry and short stories in my bedroom as a high school junior. And I thought my writing was so great. However, looking back now my writing sucked.

But that’s all part of the journey, right?

I went to college. I got a BA in English with a concentration in creative writing. I had several jobs after that, none that dealt with actual creative writing.

In the ensuing years, I wrote three fiction novels. Yet, that did not pay the bills. No big surprise there.

After several years of being a part time copywriter while working full time, I finally quit my day job.

Copywriting work paid the bills, but it wasn't fulfilling my creative side. That’s when I found writing sites like Medium and Vocal. And they excited me to be able to freely write whatever I wanted. My creativity had free reign and I could get paid for it.

However, since I publish an online magazine and my real name is known professionally, I decided to use a pen name for some of my more creative work.

Victory and hope are two words that have resonated with me since last year. Now I’m not Italian but I’m married to one. I loved how victory and hope sound in Italian so voila—that’s my new pen name.

Releasing my inner tigress

Years ago, before I got married, my sister and I went on a double date with two guys from her office. We went to see a baseball game. On the drive there, my sister’s date turned back to look at us in the passenger seat and said, “You know, I think you girls are caged tigers waiting to break free.”

We were both innocent back then. I had looked at my sister and she stared back at me in shock. We couldn't believe he'd said that.

Through the years I’ve thought back on that statement. I even told my husband about it. He laughed and said, “I think he was right, about you of course not your sister.”

Writing with a pen name has felt like my inner tigress has broken free from the cage that I’ve put myself in. I’m free from limitations.

I don’t have to worry about anyone knowing who I actually am. I can say what I want to say and keep my professional reputation intact.

I am new to Vocal and I’m looking forward to expressing myself here. Writing with a pen name has helped me to grow as a writer in the following ways:

Vulnerability – I can be stripped down naked (not literally, of course). Nothing is holding me back from my true expression now.

Conversational – My writing has become more conversational in tone. Using the microphone feature on the Word app on my phone and tablet has definitely helped with this aspect of my writing.

Impact – My writing has made more of an impact on readers because of my vulnerability and conversational tone. Hearing from readers has impacted me in positive ways to keep going on this track in my writing journey.

Honestly, writing under a pen name has helped to improve my professional writing as well. I’ve learned how to trim the fat and get right to the point and engage the reader in a more conversational tone.

Stay true to yourself

Maybe you’re using your real name. You might be using a pen name. However, the most important takeaway that I hope you get from this article is to stay true to yourself and your inner voice. Don't let the critics get you down. Sure, you should listen to constructive criticism, but don’t allow negativity to sap your creative flow.

May you find your own victory and hope in your personal writing journey.

Secrets
1

About the Creator

J.M. Troppello

Founder of Mustard Seed Sentinel & Inspiration Realm | BA in Creative Writing | Freelancer with 20 years of experience | https://ko-fi.com/mustardseedsentinel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.