Confessions logo

How my addiction grew into what it is today

My personal story on how I got to where I am

By AndrewPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
How my addiction grew into what it is today
Photo by Michael Longmire on Unsplash

Get comfortable, because this story may go on for a while. So for most people, when they hit their first joint it's something that was offered to them. With me that is not the case, back in middle school when I was 13, I actually went and searched for drugs, nobody in my school used them, or even vaped back then (Not until I did), so it was a pretty hard thing to find. My reasoning was because of my depression that I had been struggling with since age 8. They tried every antidepressant in the book (That's still available) so don't say I never tried. I also spent 1 and a half years in rehab, and 6 months in hospitals practically begging for help with my problems. Anyway, after talking to almost everyone in school, seeing who is cool and who isn't, I finally made a friend whose father actually used to grow weed. I told him what to do, just snatch a few nugs and put it in a air tight water bottle (Unfortunately he was super dumb and didn't even dry it out first), even though it was drenched that didn’t stop me from trying to light up. Anyway, soon after that came a new friend, whose mom was a nurse at a retirement home. She was a pretty severe addict and would steal prescription painkillers from the poor folks, I got him to bring me in some oxycodone and turns out, opioids work better than weed. After all that everything's kind of fuzzy so I'm just gonna wing this. Once I hit high school that's when I was addicted to stimulants. It didn't matter if it was Adderall, crystal meth, or cocaine, as long as it was a stimulant I wanted it. My Ritalin use got so bad I was doing around half a damn gram of the stuff just to stay on my feet, and that would mean snorting a 500 milligram line. I weighed about 80-100 pounds depending on the week, and after a while started getting chest problems. I went to my doctors and he looked me dead in the eye and asked “How on earth are you fucking alive?!”He then continued on about how if I didn't stop using my heart would fail and implode on itself. I obviously didn't care one bit, at first I told myself damn I got to cut back, but in the midst of trying to get help, the fact everyone just kept putting labels on me, and being emotionally abusive made me change my mind. My mindset went from “I know I need help and I am gonna seek it” to “Fuck everyone, Fuck my Family, Fuck the World, Fuck my homies, Fuck my girl, Fuck Everything I'm gonna sit here with this prescription bottle and snort methylphenidate until I either die from heart failure, or run out of the drug.”. After a while my habit became so severe I would literally buy the entire local supply of that drug and use it before they could even get more, so I switched from pharmaceuticals to street drugs. Now I was spending 10-20 dollars on a 30 milligram pill of Adderall (Methamphetamine Salts), a GRAM (1000 milligrams) of crystal meth only costs 15-20 dollars, and it's a lot stronger as well. Take this for example, a HEAVY dose of Adderall to snort for a full-grown adult is 80mg+, whereas a HEAVY dose of crystal meth for a full grown adult is 50mg+. Also, you can smoke meth to make the high a whole lot stronger. Smoking Adderall is nasty as fuck because of all the fillers they add to pills, unless you decide to freebase the drug. Freebasing is a way of purifying something, and ridding all of the fillers. Anyway, that is the gist of how my addiction grew into what it is today. Learned something from my story? Show your appreciation by subscribing, or you could even send me a tip! Thank you so much for reading, and I hope that this has helped at least someone make the right decision; which would be…. STAY AWAY FROM DRUGS.

Secrets
1

About the Creator

Andrew

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.