Confessions logo

How losing 3 Bitcoin Gave me My Life Back

A tale of addiction, rock bottoming, healing, and helping others

By Lucien LecarmePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
How losing 3 Bitcoin Gave me My Life Back
Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

Wanting more in life almost killed me financially.

The art is to be happy and fulfilled with what you have.

I learned this the hard way. I lost 3 Bitcoins trading, now worth North of $120.000,-.

This is my story, my biggest life lesson, and what came out of it that can help others.

I have an addictive nature, and certain life events led me to like gambling. I like taking risks. There's an upside and downside to that. I manifested a lot of projects, got them all financed, and was able to become a real creator of my life by taking risks, by jumping into the deep, where others would be more careful or overthink things to death.

Meanwhile, I lost a lot of money since I always felt this burning lack most of my life in my core. Deep-felt isolation. I learned to see myself as a handicapped person, but not to dwell in that story.

It's true what Gabor Mate says about addiction: It's also a chemical process in the brain. A lack of early bonding can lead to a lack of this connection, and then artificial stimuli like XTC or MDMA make this connection to feel human for a short blissful moment. Or the adrenaline from gambling.

Gabor says never to judge addictive people. I hope you understand now why.

The addiction of our current timeframe is dopamine. Billions are glued to their screens for hours a day. Covid doubled the online time for most of us !! That's an addiction too, covering up the lack of meaningful real-world connections that big tech and big pharma are artificially mandating on humanity, to sell their product lines and to gather data to control us better using A.I.

That's how I see our current systemic crisis. I write about this on my Substack.

Back to my story.

My personal addiction came from a deep sense of feeling isolated, alone in the world. A lack of deeper meaningful connection. My mother died when I was 25. But there is even deeper trauma, leading back all the way to my birth.

Now I've learned my addiction came from an energetic leak, connected to this deeper trauma. The leak quite literally expressed itself in me losing money (= energy) all of the time and needing to work twice as hard to make ends meet, confirming my story of lack. It was quite the self-enforcing circle!

Still, I managed to heal the trauma. The direct reason was that I hit rock bottom.

Back in 2018, I saved money to buy one Bitcoin, for €3000. I saw it grow to €10.000, but my addiction made it lose it all with leverage trading. More importantly, I also lost 2 bitcoins of people that are very dear to me. This was even worse. I can hurt myself with my addiction, but hurting others was too much to bear. This is why I took up the courage to heal myself. I'd reached rock bottom.

The healing happened over the course of 3 years, in connection with others, in the heart IQ modality. Now I facilitate these kinds of circles and offer men's work in circles. Gathering in circles means a lot to me. I believe it will be a core part of our future ground-up build local societies.

I became a true believer in the revolution of money too, telling all my friends to buy Bitcoin already back in 2017. I see the disruptive revolution of blockchain tech and started to write about that in my Medium publication. This has always been more important than 'Getting rich Quick'. This sentiment is just sparking more addiction worldwide.

I believe addiction is the real pandemic.

Young people get free Covid money from their Governments, they sit at home numbed out, with a lack of guidance and direction to a purposeful future. Gaming, gambling, trading, and soon the Metaverse is their way out of reality, numbing out on chemical happiness just the same.

The gift in all of this, what I bring to the world now, is teaching people my own lesson. How to join the revolution of money, but instead of trading or gambling with Altcoins, to save it wisely with low risk. Taking the long haul.

No more wild dopamine rides for me on the volatile waves of Bitcoin.

Defi is made for this, and I discovered Pancakeswap as a fun way to slowly save some money day by day, saving with crypto. I decided to make an online course to teach how to start saving crypto, step by step while learning more about crypto and Defi.

It's the future of finance. A lot of education is still needed.

I am happy that I've been able to share my story, and that from my personal medicine I can bring value to the world, and affect the lives of people in a positive way. Fighting an addiction is one of the most difficult things. You need to embrace it first, feel the deeper wound, and realize that all healing comes from connection.

Thank you for your attention

Lucien Lecarme

Taboo
Like

About the Creator

Lucien Lecarme

I'm a writer, blogger and author of "The Wisdom Keeper", a heroes journey about the need to fall in love with earth again. I write about sensemaking, the revolution of money and self development

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.