Confessions logo

How Dare You Say That!

And other delights from my Medium comments…

By Susie KearleyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
(c) Susie Kearley

For the past decade, I’ve lived in a protected part of the publishing world, where I’ve been writing articles for magazines and never received an opinion from a reader, except from one old boy from Suffolk who loves my work. He emails me occasionally to tell me about his writing.

Occasionally, if I’ve made a factual error, it gets flagged to the magazine editor. For example, I said there were racoons at a children’s farm, but by the time my story went to print, the racoons had gone!

I wrote about a walk for a walking magazine, just before the council re-directed the footpath. After it went out, some kind person wrote in to tell the editor that the footpath didn’t exist anymore. Thanks mate.

Then there was a time that I thought Hadleigh Castle was in Hadleigh, Suffolk. Not so. It’s in Essex — the other side of Essex (miles away from Hadleigh).

Fortunately, I’m on the ball enough to know that Leeds Castle isn’t in Leeds (It’s in Kent, if you’re wondering). Then there was the time I got Great Yarmouth in Norfolk muddled up with Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight.

That kind of thing comes up in my print publishing career occasionally, and if I make a mistake, I obviously learn from it and try not to repeat it!

So yes, I’ve had feedback on occasional errors, along with the ramblings of an old man from Suffolk, but I’ve never really been the target of people’s opinions on my work until now.

Medium has been a wild experience!

I’ve got to admit, joining Medium, and finding I was suddenly getting people’s opinions on my stories, came as something of a shock! Not always in a good way.

People on Medium aren’t always flagging factual errors either. They’re giving opinions, not always agreeable ones, and not always nicely.

Although most people are lovely!

It’s been a learning curve. For the past decade, there’s been something quite nice about assuming my work has been well received. Editors keep commissioning. I keep writing. All is well.

So to hear that my positive thinking articles are toxic, and that my ideas are offensive, is enlightening. And if someone feels I’ve been harsh in an opinion piece, I’ll tone it down. Admittedly, I don’t get to write opinion pieces for the print press, so this is new to me.

The lady who said I need therapy may be right, of course.

The chap who said I was ‘entitled’ misunderstood me. I was just initiating a good discussion, and it worked.

The woman who said, “How Dare You!” didn’t read my comment properly and later apologised.

The chap who seems to think I’m a compulsive liar has been blocked.

Oh, and the person who specifically created an anonymous account, just to insult me has also been blocked, but in light of the comments, I have toned down the piece to which they objected.

Some of the comments have been really helpful!

Today, someone said the links on a story were directed to my stats, instead of the story. Thank you! I wish someone had told me that days ago!

When a couple of people encouraged me to chase up Vocal Media because my $50 bonus hadn’t appeared, I did and… I’ve Just Received a $50 Bonus From Vocal Media! Thank you!

I had great feedback on a headline from one editor, which has helped me improve: One Little Tweak And My Story Did Better Than Expected!

There’s been a lively discussion about… wait for it… full stops! Yes! Who knew this was such a hot topic!

I’ve had loads of support too and overall, the feedback has been supportive and lovely.

So… what shall we complain about today? Or perhaps we’ll be kind and helpful instead.

© Susie Kearley

Workplace
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.