Confessions logo

Horrible Bosses

Please let us work in Peace

By The Vibe Podcast Published 2 years ago 5 min read
1

Have you ever had a horrible boss?

What gives them the right?

I have never understood the notion of your title allowing you to disrespect an employee.

Are you aware this is slave mentality?

I have news for you.. slavery is over.

I have been the victim of bullying my whole life and it doesn’t stop at home, at school and even the workplace.

Have you noticed the condition of this country?

Folks don’t want to work and I don’t blame them. I blame horrible bosses.

I am not going to clock in to engage with someone who clearly has unhandled mental illness.

I am forever and a day proud of myself for applying our trademark to include workplace culture.

Newsflash, your title does not entitle you to disrespect anyone.

Sadly, this is not the case at the job.

My former Supervisor at Section 8 previously told me the reason he can disrespect me is because he is my supervisor.

Mr. Kelly threw me out of his office and threatened to write me up... he kicked me out in 2021 and I am still waiting to find out why.

See when you grow up being bullied, you learn to perfect your skill in avoiding trouble. I had an excellent review so I’m not sure why he kicked me out of his office and threatened me with a write up..

To then ok this behavior because he is my Supervisor?

Please be aware this is an abusive trait, not one person on this Earth has authority to disrespect you.

And don’t you ever forget it.

Thankfully, I no longer work in Cell Block 8.. but the bullying did not stop there.. I was outta work for three months last year and saw an opportunity at my very first property.

The good ol Hampton Inn & Suites Yonkers, I was part of the opening crew!

We had to train, take a test, clean and prepare for this grand opening in 2009.. there’s news footage on YouTube regarding this so as a writer and struggling artist, I thought it would be an amazing opportunity to close out the story of my life.

I thought that bowing out of the Hampton Inn & Suites Yonkers gracefully would be an awesome ending to my story.

Not with bullies at the workplace!

The General Manager with double standards.. yells at me for doing the very same thing he did.. so I upgraded a guest.. is this a reason to disrespect me?

Past 40.. no bullies allowed in my circle.. you give me sassy.. I’ll teach you manners in return.

I happen to know every single room type at that property as I opened this hotel.. and the General Manager gives a room away and yells at me and another colleague for doing the very same thing.. what happened to lead by example?

I don’t have time so I returned the Sass and what does the General Manager do??

He can’t fire me for sass and certain workplaces would rather have you quit so you cannot collect Unemployment..

So what do these horrible bosses do?

Horrible things like get you in trouble for no reason, address you on bullshit at the end of your shift.

So after I have labored for you eight hours, that’s when you want to remind me of how bad I am ???

I smell bull.....

In my case, everyone uses their cellphone at the desk but guess who had to sign a memo? Me.. everyone eats the hotel’s breakfast but guess who gets stopped.. me that’s who. I was even addressed in front of guests.

Where the General Manager fucked up was rather than firing me.. or dealing with me as I was only going to be there temporarily.. he offers me a position in Sales.

One would think great! Better hours!

Wrong.. I knew this was a set up because of the person who is the Director of Sales.

Because I am an Author and Podcaster reporting on the workplace culture of today..

I took the bait and what I have uncovered are lies.

We have income that’s not being distributed properly.. remember I opened that joint and have extensive training in NYC Hotel Management and Night Audit experience.

If you are not coding properly, there’s no way to tell where the money the hotel makes goes.. means false ADR (average daily rate)!

I uncovered and provided proof, nothing happened.

I also have witnesses.. the sales position that I was given has a history of folks quitting because they cannot tolerate the boss.

The woman was barefoot in our meeting room one morning and thinks to address me on a professional level like this? No.

Sadly, I also had to bow out because I couldn’t tolerate the bullying any longer.

I don’t get paid enough for a boss to not code documents properly, walk around barefoot and address me like she’s some sort of professional..

This is the workforce of America?

I’d rather suffer..

After a Murder and Suicide in my family, I can no longer tolerate any form of disrespect. I am happy to be a writer and report my findings.

I do this in the hopes of helping others one day.

I no longer believe in the workforce, there’s no way to work your way up the ladder anymore.

People cannot get over their title to give you a chance.

This is invest in yourself time!

I’ll be interviewing the witnesses I have gathered and this will be an ongoing topic on our show.

Sadly, this unprofessional behavior goes on too much at the workplace and we have to figure out a healthy balance.

As a survivor, what hurts me the most is that many people rely on their jobs to sustain their families and tolerate this abuse at the workplace.

We need to share the word, that your title does not entitle you to disrespect for any reason.

We need to strengthen the workplace in order to get folks to want to work more..

But who wants to under these conditions???

Call out all bad behaviors, you will not get in trouble. Speak up even if nothing gets done because when you leave.. they will know exactly why and that’s fire.

Fire them before they fire you!

But remember you can only catch these horrible bosses by being a good employee.

No cellphone, no online shopping, no gossip, no switching up because your boss is there.

Do your job and do it well so when they come for you.. shut it down.

Now that’s fire 🔥

Workplace
1

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.