Confessions logo

He Wasn’t the Pear I Thought Was a Gift From God

A love story.

By NapoleonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
He Wasn’t the Pear I Thought Was a Gift From God
Photo by Dan Smedley on Unsplash

It was the summer of years gone by. At the beginning of this story, there was love, but it got buried beneath all the other stuff along the way. He was my first real boyfriend.

He was the man I dream of, and he always has this infectious laugh that people always remember, and their eyes are always in awe when he speaks. I've never known anyone with such a great personality. People would leave their doors open for him and invite him in like he was family. He was indeed an all-around good guy.

We met on a cruise. It wasn't love at first sight, but he would always tell people I waved at him, a story that I can no longer remember.

It's been almost five years. We still get along. We are the real package.

When you are in love, you miss the signs. You will be the first to make excuses. And there are many, the verbal abuse that in the beginning are unrecognizable. They appear as jokes. What he finds funny may not necessarily be funny to me. However, they can be mean, and I would make excuses for his behavior.

Because we come from two different cultures.

Like most relationships, the romance fades, and eventually, the interest dwindles, the relationship dies.

But like many, I dream of a fairy tale ending.

He became cold, and the mean jokes have become more frequent. He wasn't the guy I first met, but I know people do change, and the change I am seeing is hurting me.

Betrayal

What happens next is the stuff you only hear from others. And when before you would question why people stay in a relationship when they are betrayed and lied to, I completely understood it when it happened.

He told me he is seeing someone else, and I never wanted to believe it. I always thought if he was going to do that, I will never find out.

I chose to let him go and told him that it could be his one chance at happiness. Likewise, I don't want to be the one causing him pain. Even if I am the one hurting, which never did he bother to ask, to him, I never really matters.

He flew all the way to Bangkok, only to find out that the one he loves already has a long-time partner.

She lied to him, in the same way he lied to me. She betrayed him.

After a few weeks, he calls me, asking not for forgiveness but a second chance.

I did, isn't that love has to be, not having to say you're sorry?

Nothing did change. He was becoming more abusive. It could be because it reminded him of the cold nights he would soon have to spend with me as soon as he saw my face.

One day, he asked us to go on a trip to the Caribbean, where the beaches remind me of home.

I always say yes to him.

I remember the ride. He is excellent at organizing things. He rented a red Cadillac; he said we were going for a picnic and should bring my camera with me.

I am a photographer, and he always mentions that his best photos are the ones I took of him.

I remember the car windows open, and the wind is touching my face. I have to lower my sunglasses, and I asked him to slow down,

I noticed a tree, all by itself, and I asked him what tree is that?

"A pear tree," he said.

I never saw one in my life, but it is one of my favorite fruit, and I enjoy a good piece of a fresh pear pie I once had in New Orleans.

I can only look at the pear tree in awe and said to myself, it is true what Homer said;

it is a gift from the gods.

And so is the man beside me right now.

I keep talking to myself while he was driving, that this vacation will be great for us, the beach in the Caribbean. This will make everything right and perfect.

When we got to the beach, he knows the place so well. I was afraid to ask him why.

It happened to be a nude beach.

And when he noticed that I have something to say,

You won't be the Ice queen, right?

I gave him a nervous smile as he laid the picnic basket

Soon after, he asked me to undress, and he also took his clothes.

He asked me to take photos of him in the nude. After he was happy about the photos, he offered me a glass of wine.

He said you need to relax.

He started kissing me, and the next thing I know, there was another man beside me. What happens next was unexpected. All along, this was planned. He wanted to share me with other men.

After the stranger left, he tells me that he was happy that I didn't turn ice-cold.

I went to the waters, all naked, washed, to clean, but there wasn't dirt on me, but shame, and I knew then that the man I loved wasn't a gift from the gods.

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Napoleon

Working to be a better storyteller everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.