Confessions logo

Hampton Inn & Suites

The opening crew

By The Vibe Podcast Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2

Let’s take a moment to forget about the madness of the world today and go back in time. The year was 2009 and I had just got out of the Stripclub world.

After spending several years in a dark environment, my beloved Ex convinces me to get out of the game and get a job.

To this day I do not know why he cared so much.. I was trying to get that money to support myself and my son.

Granted the Champagne Room was not the way to do so and I am grateful for the guy who pulled me out.

I would not have become the person that I am today otherwise and that’s a fact Jack.

Today I am Diana, the Mother, the Author, the Podcaster but most importantly I am Saved. Some years later I eventually got baptized and started my life over from scratch.. quite difficult to say the least but back in 2009.. I was walking with active PTSD and I was not aware of the trauma I was living with.

I come from a generation that ok’d absolutely everything from Abuse, Murder and Suicide.

All that ended with me Diana Costas the motherfucking Mark!

I’ve been on a Spiritual journey of healing naturally for over one year now and I could not be more proud of myself for never giving up.

Now I write on my life experiences in the hopes that folks learn from my mistakes and not go down the road I was living on for 39 years. This road leads to trauma and with a little girl at home now, I needed to step my game up and be the best example for her. I’m happy to report that I have done just that.

I am grateful for all of my life experiences good and bad. These experiences made me who I am today.

My boyfriend at the time was no longer OK with dating a Stripper who did additional things in the Champagne Room and I don’t blame him!

He actually saved me from a life that leads to diseases and death.. I’ve seen this first hand from my club days.

A stripper that I knew was murdered, another had AIDS and another would be smoking crack in the bathroom. Sure we are pretty but you do not know what really goes on in the Club. He’s a lifesaver for pulling me out.

At that time I couldn’t comprehend why he cared so much. But I gave this regular work life deal a shot.

In doing this I kept my dark past in the past and I went from ptsd to depression.

I’ve always been a fighter so although I felt guilty for my past I never stopped seeking improvement.

I began a job search and learned about a hotel in my hometown that was being prepared to be opened for the very first time and I was fortunate enough to be part of the opening crew!

I will never forget this experience! To sum it up to one word would be.. Awesome!

I’ve met some really amazing people and I have reconnected with some folks throughout the years.

This was my first serious job and on my first day I walked into an office and thought to myself.. yikes!

We had to train and take a test for this hotel to open.. we also had to clean and set up the rooms. This was a first for Yonkers, New York for many years and it was a big deal back in 2009. There’s news footage on YouTube on the hotel opening.

You can see myself and colleague, Manny also from my hometown on this video!

My first day at training was awkwardly hilarious.. I walk in and the Assistant General Manager says to me. “ Come in come in” and I’m like what the fuck have I gotten myself into.

I’m seeing other folks in this office training and I’m one of them. We trained for two weeks on Hilton’s ONQ System.. we took a test and the hotel successfully opened in June of 2009.

I have many wonderful and not so wonderful stories on this joint so stick around for more.

I will always appreciate this stepping stone in Hospitality. I worked the Front Desk, then Night Audit to then work at the Bar.

I later caught the bug to work in NYC but I’ll never forget my very first hotel. The good ol Hampton Inn & Suites Yonkers!

I cherish the memories, the man who convinced me to get a real job and the opening crew!

Sometimes, it is a must that you stop everything in order to appreciate everything. We live on the go here in New York and one can easily forget about their accomplishments. I consider being part of an opening crew a great accomplishment and I look forward to sharing more stories on this joint.

Thank you for joining me!

Secrets
2

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.