Confessions logo

Ethics in Business & Society

Berkeley College Edition

By The Vibe Podcast Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Ethics & economic progress are tightly intertwined. For business activity to occur, trust is essential. I am forever and a day proud of myself for taking notes! On 5/19/22 we will be celebrating our one year anniversary at The Vibe Podcast!

This company is based on truth and can tell you trust is absolutely essential for success. You can’t have trust without truth.

Adam Smith, classical economist considered economics a branch of ethics. His views on business was that activity would grind to a halt without trust, fair dealing & honest communication. Many of today’s economists still hold this view.

Can ethics be taught?

Absolutely, I encourage you to take classes. If you already own a business, I encourage you to hold trainings to improve the quality of your service or product. You also want to stay up to date with any trends, depending on your service.

Ethical awareness, training must be done periodically. Amazing benefits for decision making and improvement in leadership skills.

In my journey roaming this earth I can tell you that not many Managers can walk the talk. They simply cannot get over their titles.

The purpose of this blog is to help rid the workforce of ignorance. I have seen too much!

There are some basic values upon which everyone must agree. You want your business to succeed? Do you want happy employees? Well then take responsibility!

Corporate & social responsibility mandates that a company strive to provide a quality product or service to customers.

Before jumping into any business, educate yourself in the area. For me, it was of high importance that I educate myself in Podcasting. What I bring to the table really matters and I want to succeed not fail so I decided to study up on the business aspect of Podcasting. While some of my episodes are wild, I am no fool. I am quite proud of the product and can tell you that for Season 2... we are doing pretty good!

Providing quality entertainment, education and truth is of high importance for us. I wanted to ensure we yield in appropriate return on our investment and I suspect we are on the right track!

Thank to all who have taken some time to listen to our show! Over 2,000 downloads, simply amazing.

One day my wish is to have an office and I know I will need to have employees.. it’s been a one man band deal.. actually just me and my son. Can be quite overwhelming but we are in the beginning stages of awesomeness. I am happy to have Management & also non-management experience. Treating employees with respect and taking care the environment is a must for success.

Sadly I have witnessed horrendous behavior at the hands of Managers/ Supervisors.. we must do better. Bullying at the workplace is absolutely real and the level of unhandled mental illness is concerning.

Dear Karen’s of the world, how you treat others is very telling. I am happy to have included workplace culture in the Trademark!

Karen’s please use your moral intuition. A person might consider the following questions; what would your mother say if you acted that way? How would you feel if you saw your situation described in the newspaper? Does the situation smell bad? Would you use your behavior as a marketing tool? Very important questions to ask oneself. The quality of your service or products fail if you do not conduct yourself accordingly.

Two principles that can help when making an ethical decision are; the principle of consistency which is derived from the generalization.. “ what if everyone did it?Also, examine the consequences, if everyone who faced a similar decision made the same choice.

For me personally, it’s a must that I move in truth for my business to succeed. How you treat others is very telling if your business is to succeed or not.

I’m very happy to share my Berkeley College notes! Knowledge is indeed power!

Workplace
1

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.