Confessions logo

Edward Scissorhands Moment.

I'm not sure why, but it can be so fulfilling.

By Ari Asha LovePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I have never truly considered myself to be very conventional in the ways of hobbies, or anything at all for that matter. I remember as a kid I would eat waterbugs because peppa pig told me it would taste like chicken. That’s how unconventional I can be.

Not sure if they resemble chicken but I ate them long enough, so I guess I had to have liked them to a certain degree.

One of my favorite movies ever is 1990's Edward Scissorhands. I believe it to be a gem of its time; the costumes, the set design, the acting! It just works so well for me on many levels. It is truly beautiful and a masterpiece.

This might sound a bit insane to some, but a hobby of mine is to frighten people. I put blades on my hands ( it was an ordeal figuring out a way to make it comfortable btw ) and go around frightening people. Usually adolescents, because most of them can laugh it off and we often share childhood stories. A very therapeutic experience on both ends truthfully.

It makes me feel like I belong when I hear their distressed squawking followed by the strained laughter. Knowing that I might have shifted their brain chemistry even a little with the slight trauma ive caused.

I have a little sister, and she enjoys doing the same. I've told her often that it isn’t really an appropriate thing to do, and that I'm not really the best role model. But she doesn't care; she looks up to her big brother too much.

Our parents would throw such a fit when I get into costume. They never much understand why I do what I do but I know in my heart of hearts that I have a purpose here on earth. I have a mission with these scissorhands. And though it's only a hobby, I would love to commericalize it and profit from my passion someday. I would love to tell the world 'hey! it's okay to be a little different. people might not understand u but if u have the vision, go for it!'.

I've been told I'd be great for HallowScream at Busch Gardens. My favorite time of year isn't Halloween, in fact. I absolutely love dressing up in Winter. Christmas is an interesting time to see somebody like me. Especially when I dress in my own attire; my style is very bubblegum pop meets retro 90's, if you can imagine that with the 5-inch blades attached to my left hand.

Also Easter is fun. That's a beautiful holiday to dress up. It’s often a bit worrying to those I talk about it with, and I get the fear that I will get hurt by a traumatized person *a lot*.

I guess this is a valid point but I think I’m pretty good in terms of defense. If I ever get scared my life is in danger, I just remember that it would be a noble death indeed.

I only work with my left hand, as I like to have a free arm to signal friendliness and scratch itches that appear on my body during performance. I have nearly forgotten that they were there altogether before, and I almost had to take a trip to my local clinic. Yikes.

Anyways, this passion of mine!

It's such a cheap thrill, shout out to Sia! I get to excite the lives of unaware strangers, changing their lives ultimately for the better or worse. It's so fun, the blood pumping through your veins as they shriek and attempt to jump out of their skin.

It's never felt strange to me, like the way I've noticed other people perceived it to be. It always came natural to me. I enjoy doing what I do so much and I could truthfully do it for the rest of my life.

Thank you so much for your time and I hope you enjoyed my story. Have a wonderful day!

Secrets
1

About the Creator

Ari Asha Love

Been writing all my life but the question is whether or not I truly take it seriously.

You can find me on most social media platforms as afroqueergod :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.