Confessions logo

Don't Forget Your 2-Bits

The Ferryman's request

By Thomas R Dorsett JrPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Ferryman awaits your choices.... or your two-bits.

People all over the world have their own view on what type of belief someone should follow. Faith is a very touchy subject to many. I, myself, struggle with trying to find the right path for me.

One thing I hear a lot about is "The Ferryman" and his blessings. I wasn't sure what all that meant, until my father became ill. While he was in the Veterans Hospital, my father would say he did not do what the Ferryman asked. He said he must pay him to move on.

I wasn't sure what dad was talking about. I took it to be a sick man just venting and mumbling. Until, I myself got sick. I would dream during my sickest time about if whether or not I should use gold coins, two-bits, or silver to pay. I wasn't sure what any of this meant at the time.

Upon getting better, I decided to look and research the "Ferryman". What I discovered was intriguing to say the least. I realize it was just a belief or someone's personal view. Yet, it made some sense to me. I discovered that the blessings of the Ferryman are basically five things one must do to achieve inner peace and freedom.

The first blessing states, "upon your life shall be your breath and from it your soul shall color your path. Learn from what you are shown." I took this to mean learn from your mistakes and correct them, or you will make them all over again. This will help you stay true to your soul. Granted, the term soul is widely viewed in many ways. For this article, I will use it to mean inner peace and freedom.

While I was sick, I saw fear in others as well as myself. Then I discovered that blessing number two deals with fear. It states, "the blessing shall be your right and from it you shall discover truth, for all images of the mind are construed as either acceptance or fear." Therefore, in you mind you can either accept what things are, or be afraid what things will be. This can be construed as a strong focus into ones inner thoughts.

Something that the world today needs is to follow blessing number three. "The third blessing shall be the tears of loneliness and from this you shall understand that life is but a solitary journey. You must learn to love." If as a society, humanity could learn to love instead of forcing and feeling hatred, then maybe loneliness and depression can be conquered.

I never would have thought that "sleep" was more important towards life then you would think. Blessing number four explains that "the blessing shall be sleep, and from this you shall replenish your spirit and live the full life you have been given. Have no expectation lest you taint all that is around you and the path before you." In your sleep, you can dream of what is to come and of what was. It is up to you to determine the path that you want your destination to go.

Lastly, is your task, "you must learn to listen. If you can learn to listen, then all will speak to you and tell you knowledge. Knowledge that you speak and you shall find your way. If you can not listen, all that you will hear shall be forgotten." I believe this is the way the Ferryman feels you have to live to find inner peace.

When my father spoke of having to pay the Ferryman, I believe he meant that he did not do what the blessings asked of him. it is hard to talk about the after life and what people believe. There are so many valuable views around the world. All that I know is what I feel.

I pay the Ferryman each time I visit my father's resting place. I do this in hopes that he may lay and be at peace. I hope I can fulfill the blessings, so that I may find my inner peace. I wouldn't want anyone to pay my fair to the Ferryman. The meanings of the blessings are just one way to get inner peace. You may find guidance or help if you so choose to find that secret path.

So save your "Two-Bits", and keep an open mind towards the views of others. For if you do not, your two-bits may not be enough to help you find that inner peace. You maybe depending on someone like me to help guide you along the Ferryman's path. Don't chance inner peace when you can simple breath, look, love, sleep, and listen. Five simple and easy tasks that might just bring you to the desired goal of life.

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Thomas R Dorsett Jr

Writers have a unique way of putting the imagination into overdrive. I have read and re-read several different classics and wondered what it would be like to write one someday. I hope to achieve that goal by my golden years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.