Confessions logo

Depression Underneath

Invisible Pain

By Laura LannPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Depression Underneath
Photo by Fabrizio Conti on Unsplash

I feel like I’m bleeding from within,

And it’s seeping through my skin

Stretched over my rib and lung,

Mournfully my head is hung.

And I ache and gasp,

Breathe and try to clasp

Something other than the pain

That whispers down like slow rain.

Why do I hurt? Why I must ask.

In this cycle of endless task.

What’s wrong, what’s wrong?

So long, this song

Of echoing feelings unheard

Unseen, unfound, ushered

Away with the swept-out dust,

Scraped clean from metal rust.

I writhe till cleaned to rind

And twist and yank my bind.

Take blade, sharp and ready

With hand, aim her steady

To the hollow throat of skin

Slit from neck up to chin.

But composure sits outward

My reflection only inward

And so, I feel like fading light

A plant infected with blight.

But truly I am firmly rooted

In the eyes of all fair suited.

And underneath I fester and rot

Till pain will melt every lonely thought.

depression
Like

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.