Confessions logo

Counted Cross-Stitch Success

My way of out of Depression

By Merrie JacksonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

I think my depression started in elementary school when I was teased and bullied by the kids and in some ways by my own family, so there was no retreat or any place that I could hide from the abuse other than in my imagination and in crafts. But it didn't always work. I didn't consider hurting myself until I was an adult, but I did want to escape from the abuse often enough. I threw myself into writing stories and making things sometimes out of what others throw away. My Mom and her Mom taught me to do crafts. They focused on the big things like blankets, quilts and shawls, while I focused on the small things like bookmarks, dolls and their clothes, and animal toys. But, one thing I taught myself was counted cross-stitch. I got my first kit as a birthday gift and soon started looking for more kits, designs and materials for working the projects.

I learned that some designs are 'stamped' on the fabric at the factory to make finishing the project easier and faster and that some stamped designs are color coded on the fabric to help the person better, but I prefer unstamped fabric that I must count the stitches to make the design, hence the name 'counted cross-stitch'. The challenge of starting with a blank piece of cross-stitch fabric, called aida, and finishing with a colorful creation, there is nothing more fulfilling or exciting!

Through the process of learning the technique of counted cross-stitch I found that the higher the square count of the fabric the smaller the squares. Most kits have 14-count fabric in them, but some for beginners has 11-count which is larger and easier to see. There is also 18-count and 21-count, both are smaller than 14-count and much harder to see without a magnifier.

One year I made one round counted cross-stitch ornament with crocheted edges for each of my 11 older siblings. I made them early and included them in my holiday cards. I've also made other projects and given them for gifts. Soon my family were coming to me to make counted cross-stitch projects for them, some for themselves and some to give as gifts. Often they would ask how long it would take me to finish. I would say it depends on if I can use what materials (fabric and embroidery floss) I have on hand or if I must purchase them which will increase my price. When they need it is also important. Once started a medium piece of about 12L x 12w will take about two weeks, anything bigger will take up to a month. If they provide the materials, again it will take less time and I only charge for my labor.

One sister asked me to work a pattern she found in a cross-stitch magazine that was split into three panels. She asked if I can do it as one long picture? I said sure. So she bought the materials, I finished it within a month and she put it on her wall. Another sister asked me to do a kit of a huge flower arrangement, she wanted to give it as a gift to a friend. Again, I finished it within a month.

Over the years I continue to finish projects from books, magazines and from online as wall hangings, framed pictures or pillowcases/covers to sell at local fairs and online. I'm still trying to get the knicks out of the business of selling what I make, but the main reasons for working on counted cross-stitch projects are to keep busy and to battle Depression which makes it hard sometimes, but I will continue the fight!

Depression makes you lose interest in life and all of the many parts of it. There are some days all I do is sleep and use the bathroom. Others I do housework. And, sometimes, on an occasion I will work on my crafts. The problem is I start a lot of them but can't seem to finish. I can't tell you how many projects are partially made: soles of crochet slippers, but no tops; afghans squares made, but not connected, scarves half done, etc. I have plenty of supplies for hundreds of counted cross-stitch, crochet, sewing and drawing projects but just can't seem to get started or again to finish what I've started.

Another part of Depression is motivation! With no deadline to beat, I'm not really motivated to complete my craft items. Part of me wants to make a pile of items just in case I find out about a free or low fee craft fair nearby where I can set up and sell; or to sell online somehow. I've tried a few online sites, but I found out that there are a lot of people out there doing crafts and trying to sell them and my things seem to get lost in the shuffle so that I end up spending money I don't have to keep my accounts on these sites active with no sales coming in to replace it. So the vicious cycle of Depression rears its ugly head once again! And, once again I retreat.

Teenage years
1

About the Creator

Merrie Jackson

The youngest of 12 children, country girl from West Virginia, been writing since childhood, trying to get published. I'm a hefty brown woman with a quirky sense of humor - I hear things at right angles and often says whatever comes to mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.