Confessions logo

Big Reck

Band teacher

By Teressa RosallPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Big Reck
Photo by Caleb George on Unsplash

Dear Mr. Big Reck,

Hello there, I know that it has been a long time since we last spoke. Now in few week I will be flying back home to honor you at a memorial lunch.

If I could go back in timeI would have listened to your knowledge better. What teenager would listers a man that was taller than you were in high school.

I am amazed that you and your brother didn’t go crazy with all the students that you made them play music and march at that same time.

I wonder what you guys were thinking when we marched but it was life lessons that was woven into our playing and marching.

You taught have to math when how many steps we needed to take and angles, how to feel the music that we were playing

You always had a smile on your face that could brighten a room aka our moods with your humor.

To us you were like a brother, father, and a friend all rolled in one person.

You kept our lives in order. You made high school easy to deal with when we had no one to talk to. You knew where we were coming from because you had been in our shoes.

To handle all these trips, M&M and uniforms for all was amazing. Let’s not forget the big Orange and Black band trucks that you probably knew how place our instruments in the right order in those trucks in your sleep.

Just see one of those trucks in the school parking lot we knew that we were going some to perform and maybe bring home a trophy.

You would just like us sitting in the rain, windy and maybe snow and sleet. You can said the band was like the Post office. We played in type of weather just like the Post Office delivers.

Your door was also open to everyone and it seems that it was never closed to anyone.

You were reliving your childhood though at the high schooler that you taught and direction in the marching band.

The band room was the place to be. What was said in the band room stayed when the walls of the bandroom. Some of us would find one future spouses and have heartbreak also. You and your brother

made that band room of safe net. A net that we knew that if we falling it would catch us.

I was sad that day that you had passed away that was the day the music truly died.

I now live in Florida place that I visited as freshman in high school and I never knew that it would some day be my home in 2015.

Everymtime I think of Disney I think of you. Yeah, you would the kid trapped in big Reck body.

I wish that I could give you one last hug.

Now we are we are going to honor your life,teaching us what life was all about in a few weeks. We will united in of just knowing that you touch so many of our lives.

Now, I hope that you are looking down at us and enjoying what our lives have become because it was touch by a true angel.

I hope that you know how special you were to anyone who you smiled at.

I am glad you were my teacher, band director and someone that I could depend on for a smile and another box of M&M to sell.

Soon it will time for me to board an airplane to New Jersey. My freshman band trip was my first plane ride. I will be looking for the cloud that you will be sitting now.

School
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Nice one 😊📝❤️💯

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.