Confessions logo

Barn Party

Barn Party

By Tanea HillPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I saw it in my dreams.

The 75 year old barn was well lit.

My husband made several attempts to upgrade the old run down barn by sweeping and using a duster on the ground.

He wanted to minimize the amount of visible hay in the barn.

He wanted a Japanese tradition in a western style Barn. He felt it was achievable by placing oriental pillows on the ground in a circular motion.

He kept the beautiful farsighted looking Dame in the stable for half the day and the other half of day he released the horse.

Tonight me and my husband wanted to have tea time and try for our future.

The future and the addition that we both agreed on.

Before this event, I awoke from my bed and was alarmed by a steamy rose petal bath.

Hanging from a far was a beautiful silk, champagne colored,slip dress.

A gigantic oriental hair clip was waiting, with a Chanel towel set.

On a 14kt gold tray was a pregnancy test.

I want to carry the pregnancy test on the tray for good luck, my husband said!!

Now go take a bath!!

We may have a party tonight in the barn!!

I love the barn parties, I thought to myself.

Usually, the parties in the barn attracted a big crowd of up to 100 people who enjoyed drinking wines,beers, and liquors.

Old school music like Prince, Curtis Blow, Bruce Springsteen, Chaka Khan, and Michael Jackson rocked the barn.

Oh and I can't forget my favorite singer, Janet Jackson!!

Oh no I will never forget Janet Jackson and my favorite song "Control".

The parties were always multicultural at our barn parties in Michigan.

Off to the right of the barn were sports lovers who usually sat on our leather sectional. The sports lovers flipped channels on the flat screen, looking for sports, while drinking beers and shouting.

In the center of the barn was usually a card table with a nice table cloth.

The table was usually filled with faygo sodas, chips, nacho cheese dip, and other goodies.

Over to the left, card players partnered up for bill wiz, spades and dominos.

In the center of the barn, ballroom dancers and music lovers flocked.

Tonight would determine if we would be celebrating our future.

In my mind I wanted to please him.

For over a year we went to fertility visits and counseling.

I was reaching age and needed to conceive.

My husband was born into wealth and maintained his wealthy lifestyle throughout his whole life.

The only thing he was missing was offspring from me.

I dipped into the steamy tub and blew a kiss at the rose pedals.

I had my things packed just in case the results were negative.

I was not going to do this to him anymore I thought!!

I was not going to look his family in the eye at the barn party one more day, without the offspring. Tonight I will divorce if I can not produce the results.

We needed a son around here!!

We needed a daughter around here!!

Vacations on private jets meant nothing without the offspring.

I took a deep breath before getting out of the tub.

I dried my body off, and opened the pregnancy test and proceeded to take it.

Once finished I placed it back on the 14kt tray and gave it to my husband.

I will be waiting in the barn with the results my husband said.

Tonight if the test was negative I would disappear in the middle of the night and allow him to find offspring elsewhere.

I put on the beautiful champagne dress and pulled my hair up into a tight French roll and attached the hair clip.

Shortly after I proceeded to the barn.

My heart was pounding, my palms, sweaty.

I felt anxious and nervous.

My husband greeted me with a smile I had never seen in my life!!

He met me halfway!!

He grabbed my hand and proceeded to walk slowly.

I want you to relax and cut back on activities!!

Yes, because we have a son or a daughter on the way.

Oh we do? The pregnancy test was positive?

Oh great honey I am so happy!!

Yes the private doctor is waiting in the barn, he just wants to get some more urine to test and blood samples!!

The private doctor confirmed I was indeed two months pregnant that night.!!

Shortly after we opened the barn for the party, my husband announced to friends and family that we were expecting a new baby!!

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Tanea Hill

http

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.