Confessions logo

as my teenage years come to an end

but not heartbreak...

By Mariana ChajonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

A playlist I made a year and a half ago reflecting on past heartbreaks. Updating it this year for the challenge.

Romeo and Juliet-The Killers

I stuck the lyrics "you can fall for chains of silver, you can fall for chains of gold/You can fall for pretty strangers and the promises they hold" on my wall with single letter stickers when I was fourteen, thinking I was so ahead of myself and I would never ‘fall in love’ for the wrong reasons, that somehow, because of this magical song, I was immune to lies and heartbreak. It was the winter before my I had my first boyfriend. We broke up after a year and a half.

Four years and many heartbreaks later, I stuck the same lyrics on my art project.

Less and Less-Matt Maltese

Youtube recommended me the song “Less and Less” by Matt Maltese the day after I broke up with someone. I had been nauseous all day and I couldn’t eat, but, listening to the song over and over again, I, “settled in a simple sense”, because there was nothing I could do about it. They liked somebody else now. I had to move on. By the end of the day I was able to eat. Update: It's been three years since we broke up, and now we're friends again.

Saw you in a Dream-The Japanese House

It’s been a year since we broke up and I still miss him, I turned 17 and you didn’t wish me a happy birthday; there's no way you forgot. Update: You turned 22 this year and I haven't wished you a happy birthday in years. “I saw you in a dream, you came to me, it was the sweetest apparition, such a pretty vision”. Every time I look out a window I imagine you’re there, close enough for me to see your face, but far enough so that you can’t tell me you don’t love me anymore. But really, all I want is for you to tell me everything will be fine.

Old Flame-Arcade Fire

The first five seconds of the first song in the first album by Arcade Fire were enough that August night to get me crying. I was going to give you the cd but we split up before I had the chance to, so I opened it, tore the plastic wrap, and pressed play. “You knew in five minutes, but I knew in a sentence/so, why do we go through all of this again?”. You text me a week later to say you’re sorry, and I am so quick to forgive you. You’re lovely for a week or two more and then you start ignoring me again. Update: I haven't talked to you since the second time we broke up but I have gotten updates. Something about you remembering me nicely...I remember you like the worst heartbreak I've ever had.

Time-The Alan Parsons Project

The other day my mom opened the bathroom door and said “I remember when _______ fixed it”, to be honest, I had completely forgotten, I don’t even remember the door being faulty, and I don’t remember how you fixed it. Just as quick as she opened it I missed you again. I thought that phase was over, but I don’t know if it ever will be. Every time I look through the things you left me I end up sobbing on my bed, even if it has been years now. Update: last time I went through your things I didn't end up sobbing. I don’t know if I’ll ever see you again, if I’ll ever be able to apologize and tell you how much I missed you for so long, if I’ll ever meet your kids, “who knows when we shall meet again, but time keeps flowing, live a river”. There is a deeply maddening impossibility to forever that I always fail to realize, which makes endings so hard for me. It’s like every person I’ve been still exists and is floating in a river, a part of me is still fourteen, fifteen and in love with you, a part if me is still sixteen and trying to leave you, and a part of me is still seventeen and missing you.

Superposition-Young the Giant

I don’t even know how many times I put “Superposition” on my story hoping you’d listen to it and get the message, “I want you to want me”. April, May, June, July, August...

I visited my family in Guatemala in May and we were playing karaoke and I sang that song; it was so embarassing. I just wanted you to want me. Update: You've become one of my closest friends and I'm revolted at the thought of being anything more than friends.

Bags-Clairo

“Can’t you see me using everything to hold back?”, every time we hang out, it’s like there’s a time bomb inside my chest, but I never get the chance to let it all out because from the moment I sit in your car to the moment we say goodbye we don’t stop talking. Update: I learned from my mistakes. I always make the first move now.

Don’t Delete the Kisses-Wolf Alice

I’ve grown less confident in myself, and now I have trouble texting people. I end up ignoring everyone I’m interested in for hours, thinking about how to answer them without making them dislike me. Then I meet you, and it’s like I don’t even have to think. Talking to you is so effortless I don’t even notice we are, until a couple weeks later we’re sitting alone in my bedroom and I suddenly want to kiss you. I try to ignore it, I tell myself it will pass, that I can’t let myself date you. After three months of talking to you, I finally admit to myself that I like you and that, even though I don’t think I deserve you, I do deserve a chance at the Romeo and Juliet type of love I stuck on my wall years ago. Update: I don't think I ever loved you. I stopped liking you like, two months later. I don't know what I was projecting when I wrote this.

As my teenage years are starting to come to an end, so is the ‘heartbreak’ part of my life (at least I hope, dammit). Obviously, heartbreak is inevitable, but I’ve learned enough lessons to hold myself back and also let myself go. I can turn the page, close the box, or whatever this mess was, and move on to whatever follows next. Update: I have, indeed, been heartbroken many a times since I wrote this; foolish of me to have written this. But, alas, that is what being a teenager is all about.

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.