Confessions logo

Are you a Fish out of the Water? Become the Sushi of your life!

Your life is your only road to walk

By Sofia DuartePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
5
Are you a Fish out of the Water? Become the Sushi of your life!
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

Since little that, my education was all about living by our morals from a philosophic point of view. With that in mind, I always seem to be from another world. Even my first and last name’s letters are ET: as an alien to all social gatherings. Misfit is my middle name, I cannot tell enough times that I was ‘out of place’, but let’s try to find some funny moments about my life that I was out-of-place.

But first, let’s talk a little about my personality. I can’t describe myself as an introvert nor an extrovert, I am a quiet person that talks when it feels the need to do it. Sometimes I even talk too much, other times it is like the room stays dead. I am a contextual person, I want to observe and feel the room before speaking. Most times I don’t need to talk since I am a selective person. You can say that I am almost anti-social.

Today I am a person who knows that has meaning in life, most of the time, and what we have to ignore in order to stay sane. As a child and adolescent, I was a tom girl, with a lot of schoolmates that didn’t like me. I felt the need to lie as a child in school, to make my life more beautiful to others trying to fit in. I learned the bad way, with bullying and difficult moments when no one believed me.

“You don’t have a father anymore, so we don’t want to play with you.” That’s one of the words that engraved in my soul when I was eight years old. The girls were a group that never wanted me near. When they wanted to be good, or they were feeling sorry and invited me to spend time in their home. Since I was financially poor, I couldn’t live their life, so it was easy to dislike my company. I always felt that they didn’t know me, that they weren’t even interested in me as a friend. We were kids, most of them tend to be self-centered.

The boys were the best, we had insane ways of playing and some fights took place. We were always making fun of each other, fighting, running, and playing messy games. They always made fun of my face. I always got red spots on my face for exercising. When it was hot, my face looked like a traffic light, with two reddish cheeks. A little doll that looked very beautiful, but was judged for being different. I hated that, my adolescence was a nightmare. We were all stupid, growing old, and getting puberty to the extreme.

Me, myself, and I.

We do a lot of bad stuff when we are discovering those new traits, and I was no exception. I feel bad for the ones that I’ve hurt. I tend to believe that they felt bad about it too, the ones who had hurt me.

Being a person who does not have the same stuff that others have, to decide that we can’t go because we don’t have money to pay for anything. I was always from another level. I liked the culture, loved to learn. Most of them liked to play and to talk about the stuff that they had. I had nothing to talk about. I didn’t like to use make-up, I was a misfit and I didn’t mind.

We need to find our voice and understand that we are unique. It does not matter if you are alone, do you have yourself? All that matters is what you think about yourself. What you need to do and have to stay true to yourself. What can you do to become that dream that you have?

I only have one thing to tell you: life is a journey that you make alone. You need to feel and find your pace, grow your inner voice and become your best version. Having family and friends helps a lot, I am sure of it. I have some.

You don’t need to feel the pressure to fit. Even if you are a fish out of the water, you can always be perfect by becoming the sushi that you need to be alive and unique in life!

If you found my true story appealing, you can check more poetry or stories on my profile or in the table below.

Secrets
5

About the Creator

Sofia Duarte

Poetry, facts, and fiction. ✏️

A Portuguese writer with an ocean of content.

News @ sofiaduarte.com

Socials @ Instagram + Facebook + Twitter + LinkedIn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.