Confessions logo

A Challenge Accepted About Christmas

Christmas This or That Challenge, on Medium

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago β€’ 3 min read
Top Story - December 2022
20
A Challenge Accepted About Christmas
Photo by American Heritage Chocolate on Unsplash

And here is my response to the challenge:

Christmas Eve or Christmas Day?

It is Christmas Eve for me as the tree lights are much brighter and the kids are so excited to sometimes open just one gift!πŸŽ„

2. Santa or No Santa?

Santa. My mother was never a good Santa, but as the oldest child, I loved being Santa, and even when mom wouldn’t shop I enjoyed that part too! πŸ§‘πŸΎβ€πŸŽ„

3. Naughty or Nice? β€”

I am Nice, but I haven’t always been that way. Naughty is okay at certain times! πŸ˜‰

4. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate? β€”

This one has to be Hot Chocolate. I have never gotten into the egg nog. I always drank wine or vodka, and egg nog didn’t go with that when I drank! Now, alcohol is not for me!

By Szabo Viktor on Unsplash

5. Velvet or Fur? β€”

Fur! With the deep snow and cold, it would have to be fur. Fake fur preferably!

6. Red or White? β€”

Red! Definitely Red! My favorite color when younger and still my favorite lip color!

By Juliana Malta on Unsplash

7. Peppermint or Cinnamon? β€”

Cinnamon is my preference all year round. Reserve peppermint for those people that aren’t allergic to it!

8. Frosty or Rudolph? β€”

I always enjoyed watching Frosty the snowman and reading the book as a kid.β˜ƒοΈ

9. Mistletoe or Mommy Kissing Santa Claus? β€”

Mistletoe was fun as a teen! My dad died when I was 10, and I never saw mommy kissing Santa Claus ever again!

10. Real or Fake? β€”

I will always prefer real. However, the environmentalist in me is okay with my hubby’s choice of a fake tree. And best yet the lights are already on it and he puts it up each year!! Quite the deal!

11. Wrapped or Bagged? β€”

Presents from me are always bagged as an old person. That may be where the β€˜old bag’ came from! Very seldom wrapped unless the store does it!

12. Home for the Holidays or Christmas Abroad? β€”

HOME for the Holidays, unless we are on an anniversary trip as our anniversary is December 23, 2004. Even with that, we have always been home until Christmas Eve! I am an old broad, but don’t travel abroad.

13. Prancer or Dancer? β€”

I think I am more of a Dancer than a prancer and I don’t do that much anymore! I looked up Santa’s reindeer and this is what I found:

Dancer is completely extroverted, all kinds of dance.

Prancer is a bit vain, though affectionate and prancing.

14. Let It Snow or Mele Kalikimaka? β€”

Let it Snow. I have never heard of Mele Kalikimaka and I may look into it, and I may not!

15. Baubles or Garland? β€”

I prefer baubles and have no garland on my tree! Hubby hates it on a fake tree! He’s the boss. Remember he puts it up and takes it down every year!!

By Markus Spiske on Unsplash

16. Gas or Wood-Burning? β€”

Gas for sure as I am allergic to smoke! Damn it! Allergies are no fun and the older I get the more I have!! I love the fireplace we no longer use due to our allergies!

17. City or Rural? β€”

Rural life is great! No traffic! Slow going in the winter! Quiet! No accidents all around as city people forget how to drive in the winter! I don’t like the city stores filled with shoppers! Or how we would get plowed in every time we got our driveway plowed out! Or get towed in a snow emergency zone that we forgot about. Or the crabby people all around or the zombies that bump into you as they are zoned out! I do not miss the city!!

18. Turkey or Roast Beast? β€”

Turkey! No roast beast or beef for me, as I am allergic to beef. It comes from a tick bite and might wear off! Latest allergy from this year. Good thing my favorite is fish right now. Turkey is second, chicken comes in third!

19. Elf or The Grinch? β€”

The Grinch is more fun than the elf I think. He is scary-looking but soft-hearted, right? Or am I thinking of someone else?

By Gene Gallin on Unsplash

20. Cookies or Fudge

Fudge. Homemade fudge from the recipe on the Hersheys cocoa box of years past! Nothing better ever!!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

First published in Medium

Secrets
20

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved it!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!-πŸ’•πŸ’–πŸ˜Š

  • Martha Ballabout a year ago

    What a fun challenge! It's always nice to stop and reflect on holiday traditions in the midst of the busy season

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This was so fun to read & consider! Enjoyed learning about you - and congrats on your Top Story!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Loved this! Made me list some of my favorites too. Congratulations on a top story 🎊

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Omg I needed this beautiful piece thank you for sharing!! πŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’ž

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on the Top Story! This was a wonderful and very enjoyable read :)

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Supercute! Congrats on your TOP STORY! It is Well-deserved!! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    How fun!

  • Excellent post and congratulations on your top story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.