Confessions logo

16 Love Songs That Are Actually Kind of Creepy

We all have our favorite love songs, “our song” with our special someone, the one that reminds us of an ex, the one that we cried to during a breakup. And there are some classics that just make it to every single wedding and are unapologetically sweet. But with the good comes the bad. As you find yourself singing along, you may be surprised that some of these lyrics are pretty unsettling. Obsession, violence and toxic attachment are just a few themes that we found on this list, none of which should be romanticized.

By Ms. ThomasPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
16 Love Songs That Are Actually Kind of Creepy
Photo by Marcela Laskoski on Unsplash

The disturbing songs on this playlist are no exception. So take a closer listen to these chart-topping songs and ask yourself if there’s anything off about them. You may be surprised to find that some of your favorites made the list. Here are 16 instances where the song just got a little too creepy.

“Every Breath You Take” by The Police~ Every breath you take and every move you make, every bond you break, every step you take... I'll be watching you. Every single day and every word you say, every game you play, every night you stay, I'll be watching you. Oh, can't you see? You belong to me. Widely considered a popular wedding song, it's hard to read these lyrics without wondering how watching someone and having them belong to you equates to a successful marriage.

“Invisible” by Clay Aiken~ If I was invisible, then I could just watch you in your room. If I was invisible, I'd make you mine tonight.

Another one in the stalker category, Clay Aiken's first post-American Idol single peaked at #8 on the Billboard Adult Contemporary charts. Despite the upbeat pop song's catchy tune, the idea of being watched in our rooms is not that warm and cuddly.

“Lips of an Angel” by Hinder ~ Well, my girl's in the next room, sometimes I wish she was you. I guess we never really moved on. It's really good to hear your voice saying my name. It sounds so sweet coming from the lips of an angel. Hearing those words, it makes me weak. And I never wanna say goodbye. But, girl, you make it hard to be faithful, with the lips of an angel.

At first, this alternative track sounds like a romantic ballad, making it sound like just another love song. But if you listen closely, it's actually about wanting to cheat on your romantic partner, who is in the next room. The lips of an angel? They're on your ex-girlfriend, who is making it hard to be faithful. Not cool.

“Run for Your Life” by The Beatles ~ Well, I'd rather see you dead, little girl, than to be with another man. You better keep your head, little girl, or I won't know where I am. You better run for your life if you can, little girl. Hide your head in the sand, little girl. Catch you with another man, that's the end, little girl.

It's hard to say anything negative about The Beatles, but the obsessive claims in this love song can hardly be considered romantic. Possession and threats of murder, not romantic.

“Bleeding Love” by Leona Lewis ~ But I don't care what they say, I 'm in love with you. They try to pull me away, but they don't know the truth. My heart's crippled by the vein that I keep on closing. You cut me open and I keep bleeding, keep, keep bleeding love.

The song starts with Leona Lewis explaining that she had been in several bad relationships, leading into her current one. Despite feeling like she found the one, everyone around her is trying to break them up. Listen to your friends!

“Six Feet Under” by Billie Eilish ~ Our love is six feet under. I can't help but wonder if our grave was watered by the rain. Would roses bloom? Could roses bloom again? Retrace my lips, erase your touch. It's all too much for me. Blow away like smoke in air. How can you die carelessly?

Love in a graveyard? That's a new twist on a love story, but Billie Eilish managed to make creepy love incredibly catchy.

“Creep” by Radiohead~ When you were here before, couldn't look you in the eye. You're just like an angel. Your skin makes me cry. You float like a feather in a beautiful world. I wish I was special. You're so [expletive] special. But I 'm a creep. I 'm a weirdo. What the hell am I doin' here? I don't belong here.

With the word creep in the title, this song lives up to its hype. Something is just not quite right in this relationship and we're thinking the singer hit the nail right on the head... he's a weirdo.

“Animals” by Maroon 5~ Baby, I’m preying on you tonight. Hunt you down, eat you alive. Maybe you think that you can hide, I can smell your scent for miles.

This popular Maroon 5 song is catchy, but it's also showing a very dark, negative side to love. Violence is never OK. Let's leave the animalistic side to animals, not people.

“Blurred Lines” by Robin Thicke ~ I know you want it. You're a good girl (hey, hey). Can't let it get past me (oh yeah). You're far from plastic (alright). Talkin' 'bout getting blasted. I hate these blurred lines. I know you want it (hey).

Even Pharrell, who is featured on the song, spoke out saying that the song sends the wrong message in taking advantage of a woman. This song just sends the wrong message and you can't ignore the references to non-consensual sex.

“Father Figure” by George Michael ~ I will be your father figure, put your tiny hand in mine. I will be your preacher teacher, anything you have in mind. I will be your father figure, I have had enough of crime. I will be the one who loves you, 'til the end of time.

Daddy issues, much? The #1 George Michael hit sounds like a run of the mill love song, until you hear about “putting a tiny hand in mine.” That’s definitely setting off alarms, which only get worse when he sings “Sometimes love can be mistaken for a crime.”

“I’m on Fire” by Bruce Springsteen ~ Hey, little girl, is your daddy home? Did he go away and leave you all alone? I got a bad desire, oh, oh, oh, I 'm on fire.

Similar to “Father Figure,” this song captures the young girl/older man relationship. The Born in the U.S.A. album is great and it’s no surprise, this song was a hit. It’s catchy, but if you take the time to listen, the sexual undertones on this one are just too much.

“Dancing on My Own” by Robyn ~ I 'm in the corner, watching you kiss her, oh oh oh, I 'm right over here. Why can't you see me? Oh oh oh, I 'm giving it my all. But I 'm not the girl you're taking home. Ooh ooh ooh, I keep dancing on my own.

We all feel for Robyn — she got dumped. But she takes things to a bit of an obsessive level by following her ex-boyfriend around and watching him kiss someone else.

“Crash into Me” by Dave Matthews Band ~ Oh I watch you there, through the window. And I stare at you. You wear nothing but you wear it so well.

If you went to a wedding in the late ’90s, you definitely heard this DMB ballad on the playlist. Despite its sweet, flowy melody, this hit song is another one on the list that’s glorifying a weird stalker vibe.

“He Hit Me (It Felt Like a Kiss)” by The Crystals ~ Yes, he hit me and it felt like a kiss. He hit me and I knew I loved him. And then he took me in his arms with all the tenderness there is. And when he kissed me, he made me his.

The 1962 song was a flop, thanks to radio stations refusing to play it. Who can blame them? It's honestly a surprise this song was ever recorded, since it blatantly justified an abusive relationship.

“Living Room” by Tegan and Sara ~ My windows look into your bathroom. Well I spend the evening watching you get yourself clean. I wonder why it is that they left this bathroom so unclean.

Let's take this as a reminder to check on our curtains and blinds. We have a voyeur situation here. While many regarded the song as a joke, it's hard to dismiss the weird vibes about stalking your neighbor.

“Hello” by Lionel Richie ~ I've been alone with you inside my mind. And in my dreams, I've kissed your lips a thousand times. I sometimes see you pass outside my door. Hello, is it me you're looking for?

Widely regarded as one of Richie's best songs, part of the problem for Richie is the music video. The creepiness factor surged as Richie, a teacher, longed for his blind pottery student.

Teenage years
Like

About the Creator

Ms. Thomas

Always wanted to be a writer since I was 10 years old and now that I am 22 now, I can able to write still and make my dream come true.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.