Cleats logo

The Coaches Son

The Coaches Son

By Eddy NeamePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

My story begins as the son of a former AFL footballer, David Ratten. My name is Jackson Ratten. l was born at Frankston Hospital, Victoria. When l turned 6 years old, l started my first year of Primary School at Seaford Park. Over the years of my Primary school education, I started growing taller and stronger and by the time l graduated year 6, my height was 160 centimeters and a weight of 65 kilograms, at the age of 13, l started playing junior football, with the Seaford Junior Football Club and I got the number 12, After about 2 months the season started. Over the course of the season we won games I scored goals and by the end of the season, we won the flag, and l scored 14 goals and by the time l reached the age of 16, I would be scoring 25 goals a season and l also have my learners permit.

So, I am now at the age of 17, l am in Year 11 at Patterson River Secondary College with all my mates from the footy club and old school. Over the year I played many interleague club games and school football and by the age of 18, I graduated from year 12 and l got drafted in the 2018 draft to St Kilda. My dad who is coaching didn’t play me for the first month, just to make sure I was ready for the big time, but the first game he played me in round 5, I starred kicking 6 goals and we won the game, and then played the next month kicking 30 in total, eventually the finals came and then we finished in the top 8, and I kicked 60 goals and won the AFL Rising Star, as we didn’t finish in the top 4 we only get one shot at playing in the finals, we ended up playing the giants at Etihad and we won by 35 points. We made it to the prelim and however, lost to West Coast agonizingly by 10 points. After Christmas, we started pre-season training, we kicked it off with a 10k time trial, which I won in 25 mins. Finally, the start of the 2019 season came along. My dad the coach, was happy with how I have been progressed, so l was a lock in for the season. Eventually the half-way mark of the season came along and we were 6 games clear on top of the ladder.

By the end of the season we ended up as the minor premiers. In the Qualifying Finals we played Collingwood and won by 45 points and in the Prelims it is between Us and Collingwood and Richmond vs Hawthorn. Richmond defeated Hawthorn 91 to 69 and then we defeated Collingwood 109 to 50. The next week, as it is Grand Final week a few mates and l are preparing to go to the Brownlow, me, Jack Steven, Seb Ross and my dad and partners were going. I ended up finishing in the top 5 of the votes.

Finally, the day of the 2019 Grand Final arrived, we are playing Richmond. We ended up winning the game by 25 points. Over my 16 year career as an AFL footballer, I won 14 Brownlow Medals, 15 Premiership Medals, and 15 club best and fairest and 1 Rising Star. When my playing career started to end, I started to go into learning to become a coach. Two years after retiring as a player, l became an assistant coach to my father, and then when my dad retired as a coach, I took over the full-time coaching job at St Kilda. I am now 36 years of age, I have been married for 7 years and my wife and l have a 5 year old son. My son is now 18 years of age and he got drafted to St Kilda. I am now 55 years of age, I have coached for 19 seasons and over that time, we won 19 grand finals. When l retired from coaching at AFL level, I got inducted into the AFL Hall of Fame. My career as a player and coach was a wonderful experience.

football
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.