Cleats logo

"Reflections in the Dark: A Tale of Haunted Mirrors and Alternate Realities"

Facing the darkness within to save two worlds.

By Fathima Nazrin K.NPublished about a year ago 8 min read
1
"Sometimes the things we see in the mirror are more than just a reflection."

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was as if I was staring at a completely different person. The figure in the mirror was tall, with dark hair and eyes that seemed to be staring straight through me. It wasn't until I looked closer that I realized the figure was wearing clothes that I had never seen before.

I tried to shake off the feeling of unease and turn away from the mirror, but something compelled me to look back. When I did, the figure was still there, but it looked slightly different. Its eyes were no longer staring through me, but seemed to be looking directly at me.

I reached out to touch the glass, but my fingers met nothing but cold, hard surface. That's when I noticed that there was a faint, pulsing glow emanating from the mirror. It was like the mirror was alive, and the figure in the reflection was trying to communicate with me.

I don't know how long I stood there, transfixed by the mirror, but eventually I tore myself away and left the room. I tried to forget about the strange experience, but the memory of the figure in the mirror kept creeping back into my mind.

Over the next few days, I found myself drawn back to the mirror time and time again. Each time, the figure in the reflection seemed to be more solid, more real. And each time, the pulsing glow grew stronger.

It wasn't long before I began to notice other strange things happening around me. Objects in my house would move on their own, or disappear and reappear in different places. Strange whispers seemed to fill the air, though I could never make out what they were saying.

The worst was when I started seeing glimpses of the alternate reality through the mirror. At first, it was just brief flashes, like a flicker of movement in the corner of my eye. But soon, I was seeing entire scenes playing out in the reflection.

The alternate reality was a dark and twisted version of my own. The sky was always overcast, and the streets were empty and desolate. There were no signs of life, except for the occasional shadowy figure that seemed to be lurking in the background.

As the days went by, the lines between the two realities began to blur. I would catch glimpses of the alternate reality outside of the mirror, and sometimes, the figure in the reflection would seem to step out of the glass and into my world.

I tried to convince myself that it was all in my head, that I was just imagining things. But deep down, I knew that something was very wrong. The figure in the reflection was becoming more and more real, and the alternate reality was bleeding into my own with increasing frequency.

One night, I woke up to find myself standing in front of the mirror. I don't remember how I got there, but I knew that I had been drawn to the pulsing glow of the glass once again. This time, though, something was different.

The figure in the reflection was no longer just standing there, staring at me. It was moving, slowly and deliberately, as if it was trying to break through the glass. I could hear its voice, faint and muffled, but unmistakably real.

"Help me," it said. "I'm trapped."

I don't know what came over me, but I reached out and touched the glass again. This time, my fingers met with something soft and warm. It was like I had broken through a barrier, and the figure in the reflection was now standing right in front of me.

It was then that I realized that the figure was me, or at least, a version of me from the alternate reality. Its eyes were filled with fear and desperation, and I could feel its trembling hands on my shoulders.

"Please, you have to help me," it said again. "I'm trapped in this world, and I can't get back to my own."

I didn't know what to do. I was terrified, but at the same time, I felt a strange sense of connection to this other version of myself. We were both trapped in a world that wasn't our own, and we were both searching for a way out.

As we stood there in front of the mirror, I felt a strange energy building around us. It was like the very fabric of reality was shifting and warping, pulling us in different directions.

Then, without warning, the mirror shattered into a million pieces, and I was plunged into darkness.

When I opened my eyes, I was no longer in my own world. I was standing in the middle of a desolate wasteland, with nothing but darkness stretching out in every direction.

I looked around frantically, searching for any sign of the other version of myself. But there was nothing. I was completely alone.

That's when I heard the whispers again. They were louder now, more insistent.

"Welcome," they said. "Welcome to our world."

I realized then that the alternate reality wasn't just bleeding into my own world. It had completely consumed me, pulling me into its dark and twisted embrace.

I don't know how long I wandered through that darkness, searching for a way out. But eventually, I found a glimmer of light in the distance. It was faint, but it was enough to give me hope.

As I walked towards the light, I could feel the world around me shifting and warping. The whispers grew louder, and I could hear the sound of something chasing me in the darkness.

But I didn't stop. I kept moving towards the light, my heart pounding in my chest. And then, suddenly, I was through.

I stumbled out of the darkness and into a bright, sunny world. It was like a weight had been lifted from my shoulders. I was free.

But even as I basked in the warmth of the sun, I knew that the alternate reality was still out there, lurking just beyond the edge of my vision. And I knew that it would always be a part of me, no matter how far I ran.

As I looked back at the shattered remnants of the mirror, I realized that I had been given a gift, and a curse. The gift of seeing beyond the veil of reality, and the curse of never being able to forget what I had seen.

Months went by, and I tried my best to forget about the alternate reality. I went back to my normal life, trying to focus on work and my relationships. But the memories kept creeping back, like tendrils of darkness.

It wasn't long before I started seeing strange things in my own world. Shadows moving on their own, objects appearing and disappearing without explanation. I knew that it was the alternate reality bleeding through, and I knew that I couldn't ignore it anymore.

I started to research ways to close the gateway between the worlds. I read ancient texts and consulted with experts, but nothing seemed to work. The more I searched, the more I realized that the gateway was within me. I had opened it, and only I could close it.

One night, I sat in front of the shattered mirror and gazed at my reflection. I knew that the other version of myself was still out there, trapped in that dark and twisted world.

"I'm sorry," I whispered to the mirror. "I never meant to bring you here."

But even as I spoke, I could feel the world around me shifting and warping. The whispers grew louder, and the shadows deepened.

I closed my eyes and focused all my energy on the gateway within me. I knew that I had to close it, no matter the cost.

When I opened my eyes again, the world had changed. The shadows were gone, and the whispers had stopped. I looked around, disoriented, and saw that the shattered mirror had been made whole again.

But I knew that it was only a temporary fix. The alternate reality was still out there, waiting to consume me again.

I didn't know what the future held, but I knew that I couldn't face it alone. I needed to find others who had experienced the same thing, others who could help me close the gateway for good.

And so, I set out on a new journey, one that would take me across the world and through the darkest corners of reality. I didn't know what lay ahead, but I knew that I couldn't rest until the gateway was closed and the other version of myself was free.

As I walked away from the mirror, I knew that my life would never be the same. But I was ready to face whatever came next, knowing that I wasn't alone. The shadows may still follow me, and the whispers may still haunt me, but I was determined to find a way to close the gateway between the worlds once and for all.

movie review
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.