Cleats logo

Never Split the Difference: Negotiating as if Your Life Depended on It

Never Split the Difference: Negotiating as if Your Life Depended on It

By SajeethPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
Never Split the Difference: Negotiating as if Your Life Depended on It
Photo by Maria Thalassinou on Unsplash

This book blew my mind. It's a riveting read, full of instantly actionable advice - not just for high-stakes negotiations, but also for handling everyday conflicts at work and at home." -- Adam Grant, Wharton professor and bestselling author of ORIGINALS and GIVE AND TAKE "Emphasizes the importance of emotional intelligence without sacrificing deal-making power. From the pen of a former hostage negotiator - someone who couldn't take no for an answer - which makes it fascinating reading. But it's also eminently practical. In these pages, you will find the techniques for getting the deal you want." -- Daniel H. Pink, bestselling author of TO SELL IS HUMAN and DRIVE "Former FBI hostage negotiator Chris Voss has few equals when it comes to high-stakes negotiations. Whether for your business or your personal life, his techniques work." -- Joe Navarro, former FBI Special Agent and bestselling author of WHAT EVERY BODY IS SAYING "Filled with insights that apply to everyday negotiations." Business Insider "A master of persuasion." Forbes
About the Author
Chris Voss spent 24 years working for the FBI, culminating in him becoming the bureau's lead international hostage negotiator. In 2007 he left the organisation and, realising that the skills he had acquired were more widely applicable, began teaching negotiation skills at Georgetown University's McDonough School of Business. He has also taught courses at Harvard Law School and is the head of the Black Swan Group, a consulting firm that leads businesses through difficult negotiations. I am extremely disappointed with the quality of the book delivered. When i first received it, the book was dusty and dirty but i decided to not go through the hassle of retuning it. After I started reading the book, I got to page 166 only to realize there was no page 167 and I have a total of 17 pages missing from my book and I am completely annoyed that I am not able to finish reading my bookOne of the reviews i read about this book stated that "this book is such an eye opener"! I tried very hard to enjoy this book, and persevered as much as i could but the writing style is hard to connect with and i found the author to be quite egotistical whilst making outrageous claims backed up with "Trump-esque" back stories eg it was a very very bad situation... but i did something really really great... probably better than anyone has ever handled a situation like this before blah blah! There is nothing new in this book. I still have no idea how this book could have gotten such great reviews. Poor examples throughout, very boringly written and page after page became more and more frustrating. This is not an eye-opener! I struggled to keep my eyes open!!

I had high hopes for this book... waste of money. I've just thrown it into the binGreat book. The stories Chris tells helps me to retain the concepts he's putting across and those concepts really do seem to work.

A couple of weeks after starting the book I negotiated a vendor at work from a 'list price' of about £68,000 for some equipment down to about £22,000*, partly by applying techniques from this book. Given that I spent £4.45 on the book, I think it's paid for itself by now.

*Obviously, having read the book my final offer was not a rounded number. Read it yourself, and you'll see what I mean. Starts of well but after a while it gets repetitive and a little annoying. The approaches are valid and it makes you aware of conversations for sure. I have focussed on empathy and emotional intelligence and it was good to read some ideas to further this. The book may have been better for being shorter or not reusing some words over and over. I would recommend finding the cheat sheet widely shared online to support this book once you have finished

premier league
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.