Chapters logo

Women Who Stay, 12

The Motivations

By Suze KayPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
9

Chapter 1 Chapter 2 Chapter 3 Chapter 4 Chapter 5 Chapter 6 Chapter 7 Chapter 8 Chapter 9 Chapter 10 Chapter 11

________

A cloud crossed the sun and Janie shivered. She looked over her shoulder in the direction of the diner.

"What do you think Antonio needed?" I asked quickly. I wanted to keep her in the park. She shot me a withering glance.

"I'd hate to speculate. He's not here to defend himself." She was getting snippy. I wondered if her stomach was cramping too, or if she'd been smart enough to eat beforehand. But my hunger was secondary to my desire to continue our conversation. Janie had given me more meat in the last fifteen minutes than in our last three meetings combined.

I thought fast. Backtracked. "Of course not. I meant more regarding marriage, along the lines of the terms you had. He seemed motivated to give you a child, to keep you as his wife, far past his comfort level. "

"We married for a reason," she said. "We were quite compatible. Like me, he had a vision of the perfect life. The legacy of a child. A beautiful home and things to fill it. A spouse who was happy to simply coexist." She looked thoughtful. "I'll admit we had different motivations for those desires."

"Can you elaborate?"

"Not today." In response to my sigh, she tutted. "Haven't I given you enough to feast on?"

"Yes, we've been having a very productive conversation, but --"

"But what? The truth isn't enough? My story, independent of what my husband may or may not have done, isn't interesting enough for you?"

"Woah, woah. Back up. You think he didn't kill those men?"

"That's not even close to what I said. I am saying that the experience I lived through had far less intersection with his -- his misdeeds than you seem to want."

"Janie, we've been dancing around his crimes for days now."

"Can you blame me?" She turned to me with furious eyes. "I was humiliated. I lost everything. My house. My business. My husband. Even my children, after a fashion. And it had nothing to do with anything I'd done."

"May I speak plainly?"

"Oh, now you worry how I'll feel."

"I'm not here to make you feel better. I'm not here to absolve you. I'm also not here to blame you or to make you relive your humiliation. I'm here to get the truth. You think your lived experience didn't intersect with Antonio's crimes? You're wrong. You said it yourself two days ago -- 'He was always the same man.'

"You spent a third of your life with a very violent man. Just because he wasn't violent with you, just because you didn't watch him do it or know the specifics, doesn't mean it's not the truth. If you refuse to examine your story within the context of his actions, you only see half of what it means."

Her lip trembled. I dug in my purse for a tissue and handed it to her. "Janie, when I ask you questions about his motivations, or about the things he did, it's not so I can write some kind of 'gotcha' piece. It's because your answers tell me a lot about who you are, and who he was to you. When you compartmentalize the knowledge you had before and after his death like this, you kneecap me. You make me think you're lying. Do you understand what I'm saying?"

She nodded. "I see your point. I -- I'm sorry."

"It's ok. I know it's hard to talk about these things. I just want us to be on the same page. Friends again?"

She gave a wobbly laugh. "If you'd like."

________

Read on to Chapter 13

True CrimeFictionCliffhanger
9

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Belleabout a month ago

    I love the authenticity of the conversations... lovely writing

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Your insight into human emotion, motivation and the urge to shape our own stories is simply extraordinary. I am no neophyte, having extensively researched these subjects at the intersection of neuroscience and psychology but the depth of your storytelling blows my mind.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    I do wonder if Janie is a consummate actress...

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Ok, now I think I've assumed incorrectly...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.