Chapters logo

When I Saw Khana Kaaba

A journey of faith, dreams, and blessings

By Ameer BibiPublished about a month ago Updated 29 days ago 4 min read
26
Author standing in Masjid e Nabwi.

On a serene, moonlit night, I strolled along a road that had a deep meaning. This road held great significance, leading to the revered abode of Allah Almighty, situated nearby. I can’t forget that I landed there at 3:45 a.m. My heart was full of hopes and dreams on such a calm night.

It was then that I went to Saudi Arabia and fulfilled my lifelong desire to perform the Islamic pilgrimage known as Umrah (Dated 19–12–2016). As a kid, I never could have predicted the strong connection I would develop with this place. Only after returning from my trip to the United States did the true importance of this spiritual journey start to resonate with me.

I had travelled far and wide, explored different states, and witnessed diverse cultures, yet I hadn’t set foot in Allah’s home. It became a fervent prayer of mine that He would invite me to this holy place.

The author took the picture.

And, as fate would have it, the day finally arrived. We were setting out as a family—my mother-in-law, three kids, husband, and me—to visit this remarkable site.

The visit to the Kaaba, the House of Allah, is a unique and cherished experience. It signifies that your prayers have been heard and accepted. Especially the first wish you make when you lay eyes on this sacred place; it is believed that any sincere wish you express will swiftly be granted.

As I walked inside the mosque, I had just one thought. Upon seeing Allah’s distinguished home deep within my memory, I wanted to etch my first prayer. So, I closed my eyes and walked, oblivious to the surroundings, the paths, the stairs, and the corridors.

It was my first time here, but I did not fear tripping or bumping into someone. My only worry was that I might forget my prayer or let my mind wander during this sacred moment, which I knew might never come again in my lifetime.

As I walked, I asked my husband to hold my hand; my eyes closed, and my mind shut off. I didn’t want to think about where my children were or if any men were nearby—I was always cautious to avoid unwanted contact in crowded places.

My husband in Ahraam (a specific dress for offering Hajj and Umrah Dated 19–12–2016)

My husband guided me in the darkness, giving instructions like a guardian to a blind child. He told me to stroll, stop, be cautious of descending stairs, turn to the left, and be vigilant around a group of visitors. Then, he suddenly said, “Open your eyes.” I resisted, knowing that the Kaaba was still far away, and I wanted to behold it with fresh eyes, untouched by any prior sights or thoughts.

But my son, with excitement in his voice, shouted, “Mama! The Kaaba is there; please remember your prayers.” All eyes were on me. Later, my son confided, “When I opened my eyes, I couldn’t help but cry like a child who had scraped a knee. Although that child had sustained wounds and injuries earlier, seeing the mother had made the pain feel fresh again. My situation was like that of a child.

Mustafa (my younger son) in Ehraam.

I, too, cried when I opened my eyes. The enchantment of that place overcame me — the sight of the splendid black velvet building, standing there, more gorgeous, attractive, and magnificent than anything I had ever seen. Unconsciously, I whispered, “It’s even more beautiful than I saw in the books, on TV, or on the Internet.”

The beauty of the Kaaba was so transcendent that it couldn’t be fully captured in pictures. The soul and reality of the place couldn’t be conveyed through images. I prayed, cried, and tried to etch that scene into my eyes, mind, thoughts, and heart for the rest of my life.

Author standing in front of Khana kabba (19–12–2016)

You might wonder what I asked of Allah Almighty upon first seeing His Sacred House. I won’t keep it a secret, for my relationship with Him has always been open since I entered this world. I prayed to Him not to leave me alone in this world, to stay by my side when no one else would. I have faced many solitary moments, and this prayer has been answered. Seven years have passed since that sacred journey, and my faith and belief in His presence, support, and blessings have grown stronger.

This was the tale of my once-in-a-lifetime journey, which cannot be replicated but will forever remain in my heart. I hope everyone who reads this has all their heart’s dreams come true.

If you enjoy my story, I'd love to hear from you! 😊 Drop a comment sharing what you liked or what caught your interest. 💬 Your likes, shown as ❤️ hearts, keep me motivated to keep sharing my writing with you. If you feel like it, you can also give a small tip 💰, which goes towards helping students who struggle with education costs. 📚 I'm grateful for your support; part of this money goes to helping those students. 🙏 So, by joining in, you're supporting me and helping others get the education they deserve. 🌟

Stay safe, healthy, prosperous, and resilient, dear readers.

Praying for you

Ameer

Initially published by the author on Medium

Disclosure: It is the author's personal story with personal family pictures. No one is allowed to copy or use that content.

____________________________________________________

If you enjoy my story, I'd love to hear from you! 😊 Drop a comment sharing what you liked or what caught your interest. 💬 Your likes, shown as ❤️ hearts, keep me motivated to share my writing with you. If you feel like it, you can also give a small tip 💰, which goes towards helping students who struggle with education costs. 📚 I'm grateful for your support. 🙏 So, by joining in, you're supporting me and helping others get the education they deserve. 🌟

NonfictionTravelMemoirMagical Realism
26

About the Creator

Ameer Bibi

I love to read, write, and discuss life, health, fiction, and humour. If you write anything related to these topics, subscribe to me and share your story; I would love to read it and share my opinion. You can find me on Medium.

With Thanks

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • ishwar Kanzariya5 days ago

    I read your holy thoughts and pray when you were at Kaba. You have mentioned it with very very deep and holy feelings. At time I thought I am following you at Kaba and being so happy and holy. You have really a holy and pure heart to pray. I believe you are always with Allah. Allah guides you always to do good work for family and relatives

  • Guzel25 days ago

    Mashallah... Lucky to have this chance...

  • Farah Nazabout a month ago

    You are so lucky to visit this blessed place ❤

  • Ammad Alviabout a month ago

    Masha Allah

  • muniba shafiqabout a month ago

    may Allah give a strength to us visit this holy place. ameen

  • Imran Zahidabout a month ago

    Magical description of your emotions and caring family behaviours. May Allah bless all of us to get that sacred opportunity once in life at least. Thanks for sharing

  • Tauseef Khan Babarabout a month ago

    May Allah Almighty enable all of us to perform the Holy journey in our lives. Ameen.

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Beautifully told!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    So happy you were able to perform this Umrah. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. Also, your son is so adorable!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.