Chapters logo

Weapon IV

The saga continues. Check out all previous parts in Chapters.

By Mark GagnonPublished 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
4
Weapon IV
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

Momentarily stunned by Bill’s reluctant revelation, Alan just stared at his computer technician.

“I’ve never heard you speak about him or, for that matter, that you even had a brother.”

“We’ve never been close. About the only thing we share besides a mother is a love of all things tech. I haven’t seen him in several years. He is hard-core anti-government, so when I started working for the agency, he severed all contact. I didn’t care because I didn’t have to listen to him and his lunatic friends rant on about how the world governments were destroying the planet. Just before we stopped speaking, he mentioned they had formed an organization to stop all governments from doing any more harm.”

The three men stood silently, just staring at each other for several minutes before Jack asked the first question.

“Bill, do you have any way of communicating with Edward? Why not try contacting him via your mother or his dad?”

“My mother died two years ago and as far as I know, his father is even more anti-government than Edward is. It wouldn’t surprise me if he was the money behind the group. I just don’t understand why they would be attacking this embassy?” Alan joined the conversation. “It’s not just this embassy. My counterparts and I got attacked by these mechanical bugs at lunch today. We each thought it was the other guy’s country that was creating the sound weapon to drive their rival away. Every nation wants to have control of the lithium deposits. It makes perfect sense that an anti-government Save the Planet group would be at the bottom of this. I know you just saw this bug for the first time, Bill, but do you have any ideas about how they’re controlled, where they get their power from, and how far they can fly?”

“Damn, Alan, anything else you want to know, like maybe where is Jimmy Hoffa buried? Well, without taking one apart and studying it, the best I can guess is the drones are solar powered, can fly long distances, however that would be impractical, and may be controlled by radio signals piggybacked on GPS satellites.”

“Okay, Bill, Jack and I are impressed. I would think they would launch them from the edge of town and use the jungle as cover. Jack, see if Langley has any satellite surveillance of the area. This is probably a long shot, but if their signal is traveling via GPS, maybe we can trace it back to the source and jamb it? If you need any more bugs to study, I have a refrigerator full. While you guys are taking care of business, I’m going to call Sergei and fill him in on what we’ve discovered, and maybe head off World War III. I also want to see how Li Wei is doing.”

It was just as the three were about to go their separate ways, Bill’s phone rang. He lifted it to check the number and cancel the call when his pallor turned ashen and he shakily reached for the closest chair.

“Bill, are you okay?”

“This is impossible, Alan. It’s my mother’s number, and it’s been inactive since she died.”

“It's obvious someone knows the number would get your attention. Put it on speaker so we can all hear who it is.”

Bill did as Alan instructed, and the three curiously waited to hear who was on the other end of the phone.

“Hello brother, and hello to everyone else listening into this conversation. You should really conduct your meetings in the SKIF, so people like me can’t eavesdrop using someone’s phone.”

Alan motioned for the other two to remain silent.

“Would I be correct in assuming that the person I’m speaking with is Edward Hapsburg?”

“Yes, that’s me, Alan. I must say, you figured out my little toy bugs much faster than I thought anyone would. Unfortunately for you, there is nothing you can do to stop them for any length of time. Even if you eventually block my bugs, they’re only the first wave.”

“You sound very sure about the outcome, Edward. Maybe you can share with us exactly what it is you’re trying to accomplish?”

“Of course, Alan, I’d be happy to. Greedy governments and corporations have ravaged the planet for centuries. Now they want to do it again by scavenging every ounce of lithium from this part of the world with no regard for the environment. We will not let that happen. You have three days for your embassy, along with every other country’s embassy, to leave the country or be destroyed.”

“I don’t believe you have the weapons necessary to do that, Edward.”

“Oh, Alan, I was hoping you’d say that. If you look out your office window, I’m sure you can see the new mining company’s office building being built. Watch carefully!”

At first, there came a low scraping sound, which increased in volume and pitch. As the intensity increased, the targeted building quivered. People bolted from the structure as blood oozed from their ears. There was a massive rumbling sound, and the building collapsed onto itself.

“You have three days, gentlemen. I suggest you get busy.” The phone line went dead.

CliffhangerThrillerFiction
4

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Kathleen Warren3 months ago

    Well, not sure I’d want a brother like that, even if he just wanted to save the world. I look forward to your next installment, Mark.

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Happy that the mom is dead...it would hurt her knowing her sons are at odds with each other :( Bug drones and imploding buildings....stay tuned...don't mind if I do :)

  • Would it be bad if I'm on Edward's side? 😋😋😋 Also, this line here, “I don’t believe you have the weapons necessary to do that, Edmond.”, did you mean Edward? I enjoyed this part so much! Looking forward to the next chapter!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.