Chapters logo

War Baby

Chapter 2

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 9 months ago 8 min read
Like
War Baby
Photo by MJ Tangonan on Unsplash

The first year of Maria’s life was as simple as a baby could expect. Ann, Maria’s mother sat on a mat watching her little lady stagger around the new surroundings that come with their camping teepee. Seeing that the tent had been freshly set up, there was no fire lit inside so Maria was safe and sound to wander freely. Ann smiled as she watched the little one stagger around the open space. She had grown so big, and she thought about the passing year.

Last year, after giving birth to Maria, Ann’s nephew Tom visited to give her the bad news. She remembered the moment when he gave her the news that he had received his papers to go to the Korean War. In her mind’s eye, she replayed the scene in her mind and her stomach soured as a response to the sorrow she experienced over the year.

Leona, Ann’s best friend entered the teepee and said as she handed a little envelope to her, “I received a letter from Jimmy! My eyes are too old. I can’t see the writing on the paper. You know the letters they write are so small. Us old ones can’t see the tiny writing.”

“Leona, you, and I are the same age. We are not old.” The two ladies giggled as Ann began to unfold the letter.

“Dear momma,” Ann began to read out loud.

“The nights are long, and I am losing sleep because Tom’s snores can rattle anyone’s bones. We are doing well. I must admit I am scared at times, but Tom and I are here for each other. We experienced gunfire yesterday, so I am thankful I can write today. We are well enough and hope to be home soon. Your loving son, Jimmy.”

“Can you believe it has been a year since our boys have left?” whispered Leona.

“I know, I would rather know he was safe in Canada than to sit here waiting for some news or any news from our boys.” said Ann with a sigh.

The two women sat staring at the letter until a loud crash sounded in the corner. They jumped as the sudden sound and quickly searched for the baby. Little Maria wandered into the pans that Ann had brought for cooking and began to play with them. The two women watched her for a moment and began to giggle as they watched the little one play.

“Tonight, is her first birthday! I hope your family will come and join us in a feast tonight.” Ann said with a smile.

Leona smiled over to the child and poked her nose in the child’s direction, “We will be here with rings on my fingers and bells on my toes. Well, Joe will have bells on his ankles. Kinda the same.”

“Joe will be dancing in the arena before the hour is done. He hasn’t failed Tom. He plays the drum every night for Maria and I. He has kept his word.” Ann smiled at her friend.

“I made the corn soup you asked for. Did you get the frybread done?” said Leona as she sat down and gathered Maria in her arms.

“Barely got it done. Maria is a busy little lady. The other day, she helped herself out of the baby sling. I guess it is time to set her to sleep with her sister.” said Ann as she rushed to the basket of frybread in a basket.

“Tonight’s feast will be for you my little one.” Leona smiled up to Ann and handed her a little package wrapped up in linen, “I made something for tonight. I hope you don’t mind.”

Ann’s hands began to unwrap the package. In a matter of a minute, a little dress appeared through the material. A simple yellow dress with a little bit of fringe on the bottom began to show. Ann gave a little squeal of happiness and bound over to her friend and gave her a hug.

“Thank you! Maria will be so cute as she and I have our first dance. Now that she is walking, we can take her out to dance!” said Ann.

The two ladies changed Maria into her little dress and tied a pair of little moccasins to her feet. They settled back on the blankets and sat back to admire the little one showing off her new clothes. Maria waddled around the teepee and the ladies watched as they chatted with each other and began to dress as well.

“Last season I didn’t get to dance. I was hoping for a dance before Maria arrived, but she was in a hurry to come. I am glad she was Tom wouldn’t have met her. I really miss him. He could always make me laugh.” said Ann.

“No sorrow tonight my friend. It is what it is. The boys had to go, and you know it. They will protect each other. I have no doubt in that.” said Leona.

The silence was thick as the women continued to dress. They were grieving in silence, and they held their countenance to their own. Stoic expressions lay on the ladies’ faces as they began to set up the food for the celebration. In the distance, the men began to gather, and Ann and Leona could hear then greet each arriving family. The silence was broken as others began to gather at the teepee.

Joe, a fairly stout Native man, burst into the teepee, “Grandma Josephine is here this year! I am sorry dear, but I have another teepee to set up! It should go quickly, there are plenty of men to help. In no time, I will be back to help with the drum.”

The hot afternoon sun beat down on the men as they tied the supports of the teepee together. As they hoisted the structure to full height, the young and older men worked together to secure the structure to the ground. With grandma taken care of, Joe wandered back to the teepee.

“Come here my little sunflower.” he said as he lifted his daughter into his arms. “There is someone you must meet.”

Joe threw open the flap and exited the teepee leaving Leona and Ann to work on the feast. The sun’s rays hurt Maria’s eyes and she buried her face in her father’s shoulder. With swift feet Joe traveled to her grandmother’s tent to introduce the little lady to her elder. The grass swished against his shoes and Maria bounced in her father’s arms with every step he took. With a low stoop, Joe entered his mother’s teepee.

“Hello mother, I would like to introduce you to Maria.” said Joe.

Joe slid Maria in his arms to face his mother, “Mom, I would like to introduce you to Maria Maise Pactosh.”

An older lady, small in frame, turned to face her son and granddaughter, “Ah, I have heard so much about you Maria.”

Joe watched his mother shuffle across the floor and noticed how the years had not been good for her. Her steps were not as sturdy as he remembered. As she walked, her gait rocked back and forth as she struggled to walk. He smiled at his mother as she touched Maria with loving strokes to her dark hair. Joe’s eyes fixed on his mother’s hands, and he could see her skin was thinning and bruises darkened her skin. His eyes looked upon her with loving concern and when she noticed him looking, he quickly turned his eyes and held the baby out to his mother.

“Perhaps we should sit? She is getting heavy.” Inquired Joe.

With a nod, the two made their way to a pile of blankets and lowered themselves to the floor. The sun shone through the door and Nettie could see her granddaughter in its light. She smiled as her eyes met Maria’s dark eyes.

“Aanii, little one. I am your grandma. Oh, my goodness. You look like your aunt, Mildred.” She looked up to Joe, “If she didn’t come from Ann, I would swear she was Julia’s daughter.” she said with a chuckle.

With a lower chuckle Joe said, “All of our women look the same mom. I am sure you can see more likeness because you saw Mildred when she was a baby too.”

“Yes, but I can see you too. Ann may have her hands full if she has your attitude.” she shook her head remembering him as a little boy, “You were always on the run. I had to chase you all the time. My feet always hurt at the end of the day. Young lady, there is no need to be in a rush like your father.” She said with a slight giggle as she touched Maria’s nose.

“Mom, the ladies are so busy fixing the feast. The other kids are out in the woods picking berries and hunting for snakes. I have been asked to perform the snake dance. James is really good at finding the slithering brothers. Everything is falling into place and soon, it will be time to dance and eat. Do you need some rest before everything begins?” said Joe.

“I am tired. I probably should rest a bit. All this travel has been hard on these old bones.” she said with a wanning smile.

The familiar sounds of the drums began to sound. The men began to prepare their drums for the night’s event by laying them out in the hot sun to tighten in its rays. After an hour had passed, they would test their sound to see if they were dry and ready to sing in the evening. Joe looked over to his mother and he smiled as he watched her take in the pleasure the drum brings to the soul. With a quick goodbye he left his mother to rest in the comfort of the beat of the drum.

Historical Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.