Chapters logo

Interrogating Anderson

How Nightmare was made

By Lucy TorralbaPublished 12 days ago 3 min read
Like
Interrogating Anderson
Photo by THE 9TH Coworking on Unsplash

Seeing the fear in everyone's eyes, even Mat's and Ed's didn't come as a surprise. Knowing they all need some time to think without me around I said, "I'm going to have a talk with Anderson. If anyone wants to come you're more than welcome." Picking my clothes up I could hear everyone whispering behind me.

Staying in my shadowy form I slithered back to the main building. Nightmare spoke into my mind you did the right thing, they deserve to know. I know, still doesn't make it hurt any less to seeing that look in their eyes I replied. Do you mean everyone or just those two guys? Nightmare asked. Thinking the two guys before entering the room to see Anderson still in where I left her.

The same look was in her eyes as she looked at me. Removing the gag around her mouth I asked, "Where is Armstrong's boat taking him to?" She narrowed her eyes as her lips stayed motionless. I used Mat's commanding voice to pull the answer from her. "Where is Armstrong goin?" Her body shook as she mouth opened, "I don't know where that bastard is heading to." Seeing the truth in her eyes I pressed for more questions.

"Who has been funding this island?"

"We use codenames for the investors."

"What are they?"

"They change every time we meet."

"How powerful are these people?"

"It's not just people. Governments are tied to the research we've done here."

"Figures. What was the purpose for keeping us here?"

"Aside from confinement. We were all trying to figure out a way to use the abilities you have for war and the rich."

"War I get. Why the rich?"

"Non of you have aged much since that night. You also get powers from it. Who wouldn't want that?"

"You think I wanted to become a monster?"

"You should have died that night."

"I know your thoughts on me still being alive, Aunt Patty."

"If it wasn't for you wanting to be there your parents would still be alive."

"I'm not the one that attacked through the windshield."

"You are now, I saw what Nightmare did."

"Funny, you still don't know."

"Know what?"

"Do you know what Nightmare really is?"

"I've been studying that thing for a decade. I know it better than anyone else."

"Humph. I saw what you did through it's eyes, you don't know a thing about Nightmare."

"And you do?"

"I know that it's not just an alien from another dimension. It's everyone who died that night, my parents and unborn brother included."

"That can't be."

"Oh it is."

"You're lying!"

"I. Am. No. Liar."

"Take it back."

"No."

"I didn't hurt them."

"Yes you did."

"They've been dead since that night."

"What do you think happens to people who don't bond with Nightmare?"

"They die."

"Have you every found a shred of evidence that they were alive once Nightmare is sent back to it's cage?"

"No, it eats them whole."

"You're delusional."

"I'm a scientist!"

"A mad scientist."

"What happens to the bodies then?"

"To properly bond these things have to enter the host's body. Even then there's no guarantee that it'll be successful."

"What happens?"

"If the bonding is a failure the host dies to become part of those things. The others and I are the successful ones."

"Still why did it bond with you? We tried an immeasurable amount of time for it bond with someone. They all died."

"I know. The reason why I'm still alive is due to the fact I was the last one to be attacked that night."

"That doesn't explain why you lived instead."

"It split to enter through my eyes."

"What happened to the rest of it?"

"It entered my mother's womb."

"No."

"It bonded with my unborn brother."

"How?"

"It wanted to live."

Young AdultScience FictionHorrorFiction
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Torralba

Just a writer at heart trying to tell some stories of my own. Currently working on one main story, will update whenever I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.