Chapters logo

Transgenderism and Me

How moving has slightly helped me to be myself.

By Raphael FontenellePublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - September 2023
Transgenderism and Me
Photo by Lena Balk on Unsplash

Realizing that I'm trans man took longer then I thought. Before then, I identified as non-binary. Something that made me feel a little better. But, not too much. There was this strange feeling that I had underneath the vague sense of relief. I guess it had been dysphoria?

Possibly?

Either way, it was a powerful feeling that I ignored a lot. As, at the time, we were going through a lot. And my gender wasn't something that I could speculate on for too long. I had to move a lot. Get a better job after getting fired from one. And then I had to deal with all the stress from that new job. Which I felt I did a somewhat decent job at when I was there.

I still didn't see myself as myself.

At the time, I just felt like I was wearing a costume. Sort of? That what I was just wasn't me, yet. Still, things were in motion and I couldn't figure myself out right then. Not until we moved half-way across the country to another state entirely. From South Dakota to Maine. So, I set that aside and tried to focus on handling that move. Handling finding another job that I had to pay bills and such with. Which took quite a few months then I thought it was going to.

A lot more months if I were to be honest.

Then I spent a whole lot of time pretending to be a girl. Or rather, a feminine non-binary person. Which wasn't all that hard to do. I even wore make-up for about a year. That, was sort of fun for a while? Though it made me feel like a clown most days.

Also was a lot more expensive then I thought it would be.

So I spent a whole year paying for stuff that I rarely wore. A full face of it for work. Where a lot of folks made fun of me for wearing it. Like more then I anticipated I would. Soon as I was done with wearing make-up and felt comfortable with myself, folks acted odd. Acting like it was some huge deal that I stopped wearing make-up over that. So, no matter what. I didn't win. I felt less like myself and less like the man that I wanted to be. Getting chest binders took a lot of courage for me.

I was afraid that it would hurt me or that I'd fuck up my ribs. Now, I wear them to work without issue.

Feeling more like myself then I had ever felt in years. Along with a necklace that I had wanted to wear while in Maine. Not doing so not just because I was in the closet. But a lot of former my co-workers didn't really say anything good about trans people as a whole. Some of them getting so mad that a manager had to talk to them about it. Making me realize just how unsafe I was in that environment and that I could never come out there.

Oddly enough, I've come out to quite a few co-workers here in South Dakota. Someplace that I've never thought I would ever feel safe to do so.

Yet, at least five or four co-workers know that I'm a guy. Know that I'm a dude and have no issue with it. Which feels so strange considering that I'm living in the Midwest. Where being queer when I was younger was sort of not good for me. Mostly getting bullied by guys who treated me like trash. Some girls treated me like trash, too. And I have seen some of them in the past few months. Being seen by some strangers as a guy, too. A few people who have come into the place I work at have called me 'Sir'.

Sure, they 'correct' themselves but, it still makes me feel good.

I am happy. And hopefully I can afford more of a transition later. Getting hormones after seeing a Doctor. Which, I'm sort of excited and scared to do. But, at least I know that people will have my back. Not just my Mother. And not just strangers on the internet either.

Autobiography

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    I am so glad that you're happy now! Some humans can be very narrow minded, dumb and just not nice. Just ignore them. Be the you that you wanna be. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Oneg In The Arctic10 months ago

    I hear you. I see you. And I’m with you. One day no one will care about these rigid boxes we get put into. We’ll all just live and love authentically.

  • Test10 months ago

    This makes me so very sad but also pleased for you. I wish people weren't so fucking judgmental that you ever had to feel that you couldn't just be you but I am heartened to hear that you are making steps towards yourself and you have found a group of people who support you. Congratulations on top story but more than that congratulations on getting to this part in your journey and I hope that you find your happiness 🤍

  • A. Lenae10 months ago

    Congratulations! Finding the harmony of happiness and knowing yourself both are such huge accomplishments, and I admire your ability to move and rebuild and still know who you are/who you want to be. Thankful you are here, sharing your valuable voice, and that you're finding beauty and safety in connecting with people. Love this!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    You have overcome a lot of hurdles, with plenty more to jump over. The point of being proud regardless of what you have faced in life is very admirable. Congrats on your Top Story.

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    So glad you are here and thanks for sharing this with us!! Congratulations on your Top Story! 😁

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    I loved reading your perspective. Congratulations on your journey. I'm glad you feel safe enough to present socially in your correct gender 💖

Raphael FontenelleWritten by Raphael Fontenelle

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.